We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day break”
Review of Hotel Sol e Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sol e Mar
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed November 23, 2011

First time at this hotel, we are couple aged 69/67.
The location is absolutely fantastic, never had a better location.all rooms face the sea with balcony. fantastic waking up to blue sea & clean golden beach.
The rooms are a good size, kept very clean, fridge, safe, hairdryer (obtained from reception),
TV with 4 english channels, good size beds, reasonable bathroom
.
The decor of the hotel is a trifle dated but not unpleasant at all.Nice large & comfortable Lounge with bar & entertainment. The staff were very friendly & pleasant

We were B&B,breakfast was adequate. no need for half board as when you walk out the door of the hotel you are in the Old Town with very numerous bars, shops & restaurants
.
We did not bother with the strip as wandering about the small streets of the Old Town was a delight.
We found a restaurant offering the following as an example
Bread & butter& Pate
Soup
Choice from a selection of 10 quite decent mains (all with Rice,Chips & vegetables)
Pudding
Coffee
Half a bottle of reasonable wine or beer

all for less than 10 euro

excellent value, this was only one of many offering this sort of choice.

We also experienced some fine dining at very reasonable prices.

The only minor negative - no tea/coffee making facilities

We will have no hesitation in returning

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cooly690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

Having looked at the reviews on here before booking my week at sol e mar I felt I wanted to write my own, myself and my husband spent a week here and returned a few days ago, I hope my review will help you decide if sol e mar is the right place for you.
First, the location, agree with all other reviews, the location is fsntastic, all rooms come with a sea view that you will find hard to beat, and the hotel is located in the old town which is beautiful, for the view and location we could not fault it.
Secondly the rooms, we were on our honeymoon and found ourselves in pushes together single beds, no rooms have anything different, the room was as basic as a room could be, we walked in to find it very uninviting and cold, we ignored the reviews about the decor thinking it doesn't matter if it's a bit outdated as its only a room, but with white walks that need a paint, very old fashioned bathroom with the enamel chipped of the toilet and bath, we were disappointed. The only good thing was the fridge in the room, and as I say the view, we wished we had of taken notice of the other comments about this. Cannot fault the cleanliness of the hotel though, maid every day and towels changed, sheets changed mid week and the overall hotel was spotless, so for that cannot fault.
The staff are lovely here, very helpful, our car was clamped ( no parking at all at the hotel) and the receptionist helped us and called them. The twin waiters couldn't do enough and were very sweet.
The last comment I will make will be on the food, we went half board, if you like a cooked breakfast avoid avoid avoid!! Tinned hot dogs, chips, egg that looked as though it had been chewed and spat out, was not impressed and ended up eating toast and jam every day.
The evening meal was ok, just ok. Very average, cold sometimes.
There are good points about this hotel and bad points, it depends on what you want. it's classed as a 4* hotel but it's more of a 3. Certificates on the wall from 1989!!
Would I return?! Probably not, I would certainly look around Before choosing sol e mar again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Williamses111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We have just come back from a weeks holiday at the Hotel Sol E Mar. This was our first visit to Portugal. We were lucky as we had good weather for most of the week. The hotel was very clean in all areas and comfortable. Bedrooms were a good size, although they did not have a hair dryer and the tv only has 1 english channel. Maid service was excellent, beds were made and clean towels every day. A large bathroom with shower over bath and plenty of hot water. We found the beds extremely hard. Breakfast was a hot/ cold buffet style, with cereals, fruit juice, tinned fruit and some hot items which differed from day to day. Not keen on chips for breakfast, which did appear on a couple of days. Toast and bread rolls and pieces of fruit were also available. Dinner on an evening was a buffet style. We felt the food was ok, but nothing special. The hotel had an indoor pool which we did not use. Free Wi-fi was available in the main lounge area, but not in the bedrooms. The position of the hotel was very good, all rooms have balconys overlooking the ocean. Lovely listening to the waves crashing onto the beach below. The main entrance was directly into the old town, very handy. Interesting old streets to wander through. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly throughout our weeks stay.
We would probably not go in the height of season as Albufeira would get very busy. November was a perfect time for our visit as quite a lot of things were still open, but without the hustle and bustle of a busy season.
Would we go back again, yes.

Room Tip: Reception is on floor 5, along with Dining rooms and lounge. Cafe and beach are on floor 0. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuZeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We returned to the Sol e Mar for the second time, everything was just as good as our experience last year. The Hotel was still at the exeptionally high standard, the rooms were large, airy ,everything worked, the view was unparalled in my travelling experience (all the rooms are sea facing no extra charge) Cleanliness in all areas was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast if anything had improved since last year,I cannot comment on the dinner as we were there on a B&B basis. The position of the hotel is so convenient for the beach and the old town( see my restaurant reveiws from those in the Old town of Albufeira.)
We will certainly be returning to this place of peace and tranquility amongst the hussle and bussle of the Old Town, thank you Hotel Sol e Mar.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TCROldCOlwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Just returned from a four night stay (6th Nov - 10 Nov) at this hotel and found the location to be just perfect, right on the beach and in the middle of the old town. All the rooms, bar area and dinning room have lovely sea views. All the public areas are clean and tidy and all the staff friendly and helpful. Although I booked a single room I was allocated a double room (room 406) and it was very clean and spacious with air con and a fridge and the best part was having the balcony door open at night and falling asleep to the sound of the sea.
Breakfast was not bad apart from the fried eggs (the chef must have started cooking them the night before !)

Despite being November and out of season there were plenty of eating and drinking places around the Old Town and still a few shops open.

The weather started off very good, a day and a half of warm sunshine and then the last couple of days mainly grey cloud and rain showers.

Room Tip: 4th floor room you can hear the music from the bar but this stops at midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
UK
1717
Reviewed November 10, 2011

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Just arrived back following a four night stay at the Sol e Mar. Would agree with most comments along the lines of 'shabby chic' with regard to decor and some facilities. The hotel is trading on faded glories, judging by the dates of the various awards to be seen on the wall in the bar area. However we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We stayed on a B&B basis because we like to enjoy local restaurants in the evening. We found the breakfast fare to be adequate and quite varied. Fresh fruit was available most mornings. Although I love a full English breakfast when away, I quite happily filled up with what was available - even though the fried eggs would have bounced as high as the ceiling! Coffee from a machine was ok, although the machine is quite noisy. I guess staffing levels would not permit a more personal service in the mornings. This is not meant to be a negative. All staff we came across were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The rooms were spacious and good quality towels were changed daily. Yes the steel emalled bath was chipped in places - due no doubt to careless previous holidaymakers - but the water was never less than piping hot.

The rooms were larger than expected. I agree with the point about single beds. There should be something to hold them fast together if that's what customers require. Having said that, I recognize the difficulties for the chambermaids in handling such a beast when making the beds.
The hotel surprised us with a bottle of wine on ice on the occasion of my wife's birthday - an unexpected and lovely gesture.

The sea-facing rooms are superbly positioned. My wife insisted on sleeping with the balcony doors open, so that we could fall asleep and awaken to the sound of Atlantic waves crashing onto the beach.

The acid test is would we go back to the Sol e Mar?
The answer is yes we certainly would
DAW

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol e Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol e Mar

Address: Rua Jose Bernardino de Sousa 12, Albufeira 8200-146, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $43 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol e Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of Albufeira, the 4-star Sol e Mar Resort features 2 restaurants, 2 bars and a heated indoor pool. The Sol e Mar rooms benefit from private balconies with sea views, as well as a TV with satellite channels. Every room has a refrigerator and an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. Sunrise Restaurant serves lavish buffet meals accompanies by sea views; Sunset Restaurant offers a la carte regional and international cuisine. There is also a cocktail bar, an ice cream parlour and live evening entertainment. Hotel Sol e Mar is just 3 minutes' walk from Albufeira's Archaeological Museum. Bicycles can be rented from the hotel - perfect for exploring the old town and picturesque clifftops. Free Wi-Fi is available in its public areas. Faro International Airport is 30 minutes' drive from Hotel Sol e Mar. On-site car hire is available. Free public parking is available within 400 metres from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sol e Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol e Mar Hotel
Hotel Sol e Mar Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing