We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #41 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Would just like to thank everyone at the Rocamar for a wonderful time. We stayed in the hotel for our honeymoon from the 6th August till the 12th having fantastic sea views , the pool was right next door to our room with great views of the beach. The staff where friendly and welcoming and the food was top class . Plus a 5 minute walk into the square and 2 minutes to the beach. Anyone wanting a nice friendly quite evening drink go to Tunes a 2 minute walk away.

Thanks again

Will be back for sure

Bob+Sarah

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobCooperLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hi Bob and Sarah

Thak you very much for your kind review, as I told you before we are expecting back soon.

Wish you all the best in your new life.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    422
    175
    57
    40
See reviews for
116
712
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel had a superb location with views overlooking the bay and just a short stroll to the numerous restaurants and bars.

The room was on the small side but was clean and functional and the air conditioning was effective.

We didn't eat in the evening at the hotel as there was so much choice nearby but the breakfast buffet was good. The staff in the hotel were friendly and efficient.

The infinity pool was small but in a spectacular location - if you intend to spend the day there, you will need to put your beach towels out before breakfast - not something I am proud of but needs must.

I would strongly recommend recommend a restaurant called Castillo de mar, this is on the road to the harbour on the right hand side about 10 mins walk from the hotel. The location is spectacular with views of the harbour and the ambience and food excellent (try the Iberian pork)

When we were there we booked a days catamaran trip through our Thomson rep. The boat was overcrowded and we had an appalling experience. We raised a formal complaint with Thomson who 6 weeks later have still not responded (despite reminders). This was obviously not the hotels fault- but I am unlikely to book another holiday with Thomson again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 5th floor with a seaa view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Gareth

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us, hope you came back soon, and that time no sea boat ride ..... ;)

P.S.
Do you Know that the name of Albufeira was previously given by the Arabs.... "al-Buhera" means Castle of the Sea= Castelo do Mar (that´s the name of the restaurant where you were...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have just returned from the hotel roca mar everything about the hotel was spot on,rooms were fantastic beautiful sea view without having to ask.The old town and some of the beat resturants were only a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank julie_siddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Julie

I hope you'll visit again, it was with great pleasure that we received you, and we expect to receive again

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Although we normally stay in 4 star hotels, as we knew the location of the Rocamar we decided to book even though it was only a 3 star. Its a brilliant location and the terrace outside of the restaurant meant we could eat outside for breakfast and dinner. Very relaxing in the evening with a bottle of wine just people watching on the terrace ! The restaurant and bar staff were very helpful and friendly and even made up a 'brekky box' for us as we had to leave for the airport before the official breakfast time. The beach and town are only a few minutes walk away. The food was very good for a 3 star the only difference being with a 4 star you would expect to get a bigger variety especially at the evening meal, but we had a lovely holiday and would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Must have - a room with a sea view - we were on floor 5 so it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jandmhoneywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Madam

Thank you for your review and kind words, it´s a pleasure to have guest like youself.

I hope you keep your promiss soon and visit us again, preferable this year ;)

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It was our first trip to Portugal and will not be our last! The hotel staff were amazing always friendly and keen to help! Our cleaning lady who worked on the fourth floor was brilliant providing a very high standard of service and was always ready to smile and say hello! The location is perfect, with the option of staying close to the hotel if we wanted peace to relax or a 5min walk away was the bustling old town. We stayed for 10 days only returning on Friday 3rd and have booked for next year already! The hotel runs like a well oiled machine and the waiters were efficient and friendly and happy to help The breakfast buffet had something for everyone and we were not disappointed! Our only issue was that we did not have sea view however this was not the fault of the hotel but of our tour operator who never offered the option. We can't wait to return and would recommend the hotel to anyone it is fantastic!!! Anyone who says negative things must have stayed in a different hotel from us!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view preferably on the fourth or fifth floor! However all the rooms are big with lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amandabrannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo A, Director of Sales at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Amanda

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure for us the time that you stayed.

I hope to see you soon (your husband also) as you are a very nice couple, thank you so much to make our life easier.

See You Soon
;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks from July 10th I am in a good position to give a constructive review. Firstly the location cannot be faulted and the beach coupled with the choice of restaurants within the town, all makes for a good location. However in terms of the hotel there are several issues, first and foremost the hospitality staff need to do some customer relations training, it is a very male dominated hotel, with 1 female only tucked away at the 24 hour reception, which left arrogant men running the bar and dining room. Each morning a nasty little man barked at us for our room number, and refused to open the outer doors until 9am, much to the disappointment of those wishing to take breakfast outside, plus there was a lot of arguing between the staff in front of the patrons along with the most terrible music blaring out first thing in the morning. The hotel management would do well to appoint some of those lovely ladies who clean the rooms to "meet and greet". The rooms were cleaned each day which is a positive, however there was no fridge in the room which is considered a basic amenity! I would not return to this hotel or recommend it to others, as i object to any form of rudeness never mind chauvinistic rudeness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dieseldot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoabreurodrigues, Director of Sales at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Sir

I will respond to your review with topics

We have 30 people on staff and 14 are ladies.
I think that is not a correct term to address a person as "nasty little man".
In Portugal those who barks are the dogs and not people
In our language (portuguese) although it seems that we are discussing but it´s just the way it sounds you knew if you knew our culture
Doors are close because it´s a matter of safety, and we take very seriously the safety of our clients.

To finish even when we think we have the reason on our side we should be polight and educated, at least it´s what I think.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have just arrived home from a 7night stay at The Rocamar hotel and I can honestly say it was the perfect place to spend our honeymoon.

We arrived at the hotel at midnight following a 3 hour delay and because we had missed out on tea, 2 freshly prepared salads were waiting for us accompanied by champagne on ice. The room itself was very clean, modern & our room (230) overlooked the beach. The only downside to our room was that the building next to the balcony was under rennovation which could not be helped.

Food:
We went half board and the food was great, especially the salads & meats. However, we did eat out 4 out of 7 nights because the food around the old town was brilliant and very cheap away from the main square.

Pool:
Excellent and very clean. I would say that if you have children who are into diving and splashing around then it wouldn't suit them as it only small & shallow but it fits in perfectly with the hotels appeal.

Surrounding area:
The beach is literally on the doorstep of the hotel & is easily accessible via a ramp and a lift. The main square is about 3-4 minutes walk where you'll find loads of shops, restaurants, bars & clubs most with some sort of entertainment at night. You will also be entertained by the locals who put on a different show on the square ranging from singing to break dancing! I don't think you'd need to but if you did fancy going to the newer part of Albufeira then it will cost around €5 in a taxi.
Villa Moura:
It cost us €20 in a taxi, each way which does sound steep but is well worth it as the setting is awesome and the restaurants/bars are classy & reasonably priced.

All in all, we will definitely be going back to The Rocamar mainly thanks to the location, friendliness of all the staff, style of the hotel & it's relaxing atmosphere.

Gareth & Louise
Manchester

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wrays5thMay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo A, Director of Sales at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Gareth and Louise


I hope this the beginning of your life together (marriage), be blessed.

I hope you visit us many more times in the future, and can remember how special it was your honeymoon in Rocamar.

Thank you for joining us in Albufeira and the Rocamar

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
378 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing