We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Dromore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

This was our 2nd time staying at the hotel in August - September time; we got the most perfect view with our room overlooking the pool and beach. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly everyday and fresh towels given every 2-3days unless put them in shower/bath then they were changed when required. From staying at the hotel last year we were prepared for breakfast and knew to stick to the bread, ham, cheese, fruit and hot drinks. Being from UK we weren't keen on the milk for the cereal and the bacon (very fatty) and sausages (frankfurters) but it's possible to find something to eat - the juice is coridal but it's nice and refreshing, there are 2 hot drinks machines, the fruit is tinned but with the heat fresh fruit would go off very easily. We found the staff very friendly and they remembered us from last year; at an evening we would sit by the bar overlooking the sea and enjoy some of their amazing and very reasonably priced cocktails. We ate lunch in the hotel everyday which was reasonably priced however everything comes with chips - sandwich and chips, burger and chips, hot dog and chips, etc. the soup is delicious however!! we didn't eat in the hotel in the evening but were given a 20% off voucher to use had we wanted to. The hotel is in such a fantastic location with the old town square less than 5 minutes walk, there are 2 small supermarkets within 5 minutes walk also and the lift to the beach about 1 minute walk from the hotel entrance however we only went to the beach once because the pool is so fantastic!! we found that no matter what time we went to the pool that we were always able to get a lounger, it is perfect overlooking the beach and while the loungers closest to the poolside rooms become shaded in the afternoon it is nice of the break from the sun, there are also loungers further away from the rooms for sun worshipers. The reception and foyer of the hotel is very modern with marble floors and large sofa's, the staff at reception were also very helpful when required but it's important to remember that all staff do not speak very good English and if you are patient with them they are very helpful - we are afterall in their country!! One day during our visit we had rain and got a taxi to the shopping mall - this was a 10euro taxi drive away and was worth a visit it has a bowling alley and cinema along with a lot of well known shops. During our break we didn't use the spa but the price list was very reasonable and we went down to look in the spa and gym and these facilities were very well kept. The only downside that we found was the lack of fridges in the bedroom's this year - we had this facilitiy last year but when enquired this year we were told that they no longer provied fridges. All in all a fantastic hotel and I'm already planning my return next year!!

Room Tip: Sea view room is worth the extra money!! Land view rooms are overlooking the street and while the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    402
    156
    53
    34
See reviews for
110
666
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We managed to get away for a weekend in November and chose the Rocamar as we wanted to be near to the centre of Albufeira. When choosing to pay slightly more for a sea view room, we did not bargain on getting one of the most spectacular views of the Atlantic you could ask for.

Check in at the hotel was quick, friendly and efficient. Our modern & cosy room was on the 4th floor - with a decent sized balcony literally overlooking a promenade and one of the main beaches of Albufeira. We loved it. The only thing missing was a fridge, which, in Summer, I can imagine would make things difficult if you like your water chilled.

The pool area was not being used (although the pool was open if you were brave enough to tackle the cooler November temperatures).

Breakfast was quite busy and, for the size of hotel and number of guests, there did not seem to be enough space for everyone...especially with the over-sized chairs and tables. I would imagine in the warmer months, guests can use the outdoor terrace to eat which would make things better. In terms of the food on offer at breakfast, I would have to say it was decent quality, enough choice of hot or cold selections, and the coffee was delicious. No complaints from us.

The bar is well-stocked and reasonably priced - and very comfortable and relaxing.

The location of the Rocamar is ideal if you want to stroll into the old town - which is lovely - with plenty of choice for eating and drinking. The whole area is quite hilly, however, so be prepared to do some exercise.

Overall, we would definitely stay there again and hope to do so some time next year.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and pay extra for the sea view - it is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here as part of a party of 12 on a golfing trip

Good :
-pleasant location, easy 5 min walk from centre of the Old Town
-on the beach (down steps), with spectacular views from one side of the hotel (a bit rubbish from the other)
-nice (small) Spa facility
-nice bar area and outside patio (if warm enough)
-rooms are large, clean and quite well appointed (although TVs are old), bathrooms good and powerful showers
-very good out of season rates

Needs improving
-the buffet breakfast is laughably bad. Poor quality food (worst (wurst ??!) sausages and bacon I've ever tasted), badly cooked, constantly running out and limited choice (only fruit one day was tinned peaches or fresh oranges) for a buffet. Worst of all though is the restaurant staff service - grumpy, stressed and unhelpful. Closes everything down at 10am on the dot, aggressive with anyone who sits down at a table without 'permission'. This is not typical of the rest of the hotel staff who I found to be pleasant and helpful.

Did not try the evening buffet (lots of good restaurants in the Old Town) but this looked equally bad. Imagine there must have been a lot of people on cheap HB deals as it was busy though.

Basically, avoid the restaurant (or just have a quick breakfast) and you'll have a good stay here. It's a nice place and suited us well. Most of the clientele were older, although given time of year this is expected. Mostly couples.

Room Tip: get a sea view - it's spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dazzer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RocamarHotels, Director of Sales at Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback.
We have taken into consideration the points that you have pointed out that we need improving, and we are working on them in order to give a higher service, in both quality of food and staff training. I would not say that our breakfast buffet is laughably bad, as previous comments have reffered to our food being very tasty, but we are working to achieve everyday a higher standard. I am glad to see that the rest of the stay was enjoying, and i hope that you will consider us for a future stay.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a four day break in mid-October. The hotel is very clean, friendly and if you book a seaview room you'll be presented with a magnificent view over the splendid coastline and beautiful beaches. The breakfast was tasty, and the drinks were surprisingly inexpensive. The location though is superb, with the qaint old town being just few minutes away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return , maybe next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robbymac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We first checked into a room that had a view of a man's leg. That's right, we were given a room on the 3rd floor. The staff looked at us with a pained expression of, "we know, we know- we'll move you."

Not their fault that an entire batch of rooms in the hotel- strangely priced higher than the landview rooms- have windows that open directly onto the pool. I don't mean they are over the pool- I mean people's seats block your view of the outside, the pool deck cuts across your window and you can hear what they say like they are actually in your room even when they are speaking in conversational tones....um and they can hear you, too! If you are a couple....they would be able to hear you talking, brushing your teeth, and um, whatever else couples might do.

Once moved, we were really happy. We got a land view room which was light, airy and private. The staff were fine, efficient and friendly for the most part. The spa was great and free. The pool was lovely- best part about the place. The food was average- but not terrible. The town has better and cheaper places to eat with brewed coffee. And, there is a restaurant in town with free wifi, just saying.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NellandIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at the Rocamar in September 2011. It has a fantastic location overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We opted for Bed and Breakfast and while the breakfast was disappointing, the terrace lunch menu and evening dinner were great value for money. We spoke to lots of non-hotel guests eating there. However I do want to commend the hotel staff for their honesty and helpfulness. I left my MP3 player behind (I couldn't remember if it was the fitness room or the bedroom). I emailed the hotel a few days after I discovered it missing on my return home. Quite honestly I did not expect a reply. The hotel replied to me immediately saying that the player had been handed in by a staff member and they would return it to me immediately which they duly did. It has restored my faith in the goodness of people when you hear so many negative stories. Well done staff of Rocamar Hotel, Albufeira.

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for a sea view. However some rooms on the 3rd floor have a shared terrace so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at the Rocamar early October, the weather was beautiful, the staff were very welcoming, the hotel clean & modern, it was a perfect location, all in all we couldnt complain about this holiday. I would recommend a sea view room. We had Bed & Breakfast which had a good selection day to day, toast/rolls, bacon, eggs, fruit, yoghart, cereal etc etc. The rooms were cleaned daily and everything was always spotless, the spa there is lovely, you can use the steam room/sauna & jacuzzi & gym free of charge if your staying at the hotel, I had my nails painted & a head massage all for 18euros and it was lovely. The pool bar isnt open, and I know a few people who along with us thought it would of been better if it was, you have to go down to the ground floor bar where the drinks are not the cheapest, however that is the only thing I can pick at. The location is lovely, it's literally a few minutes walk in to the old town which is full of bars/restaurants, it's nice to take a walk out of the main square to see what's around, we went to Dom Carlos restaurant one evening which is just up the escalators and to the left & would highly recommend it. All in all we would stay here again at the Rocamar & in the old town without a doubt.

Room Tip: Sea View recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#45 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#60 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet no. 7, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal (Formerly Rocamar Hotels & Resorts)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Albufeira
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing