We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday 3rd to 10th oct 2013”
Review of Hotel do Cerro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel do Cerro
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great holiday 3rd to 10th oct 2013”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

just returned from a great weeks holiday staying at this hotel,as this was the first holiday since my partner had a stroke I was a bit wary but should not have worried could not fault anything about this hotel staff friendly and very helpful, food good,facility good we were all inclusive would return again if we get chance

Room Tip: room 108 private balcony, big bathroom,sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    300
    158
    68
    30
See reviews for
114
496
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A good hotel with good food, clean rooms with good maid service.Very polite staff and very good service at all meal times. Entertainment was good. Recommend a sea view which is very good to wake up to in the morning.Bus stop is outside the hotel and cheap to get about.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, it is worth the extra expence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolandBill552009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

On Arrival at the Hotel my friends were given the key to their rooms at approx 10am myself was rudely told I would have to wait until 3pm as people in my room had paid for extra hours.. Staff were rude all inclusive NOT. You have to pay 1 euro for kettle and 4 euro a day for fridge.1.40 euro for a fried egg the list goes on I agree with others the room was nice BUT at no point told there was a school next door so was woke everyday by cars pulling up and at 2-3am bins are emptied everyday. Resturant so cramped we ended up not eating meal as we had to keep standing up to let guest get through.

Room Tip: I was in room 203 very bad if you want a lie in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Room No. 417 (New Block) - 4th Floor/Away from lifts with Sea views including residential roof tops and car parking areas. - Reasonable accommodation - Comfortable twin beds - Air Con. Flat screen T.V with BBC1/ ITV1/CH4:
Pleasant Hotel staff - Good Restaurant - Nice food - Bar with outside terrace area with good views across the bay. Hotel design and location is unsuitable for people with any mobility problems.
The hotel has 3 different accommodation blocks situated in a residential area with a Primary school across the road from the original hotel and a Secondary school next to the new Hotel block/Pool and bar area so expect a certain amount of disturbance throughout your stay especially from stray dogs barking at various times of day and night/early hours etc.
The surrounding area outside of the hotel and around the resort I feel are a little shabby and require investment.
We stayed ''All Inclusive'' through ''First Choice Holidays'' and feel that there were too many restrictions for us with a strict timetable to adhere to. I think B&B or H/B would have suited us better but that is purely my own opinion.
I would definitely contact the hotel or travel agent before arriving and pay extra for a room on the 4th floor overlooking the pool area (PM-sun) or with sea views (AM-sun) and away from any lifts.
On the whole though this is a good hotel especially if you can find a good deal.

Room Tip: High Floor (4th) - Pool view away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Myself and 2 friends have just returned from a one week stay at this hotel. Cant complain about anything really (except the climb back up the hill after being down at the square/shopping etc.) The food, rooms, staff - everything was very good. Don't be put off with some of the reviews just GO and have a great time!!

Room Tip: We had a sea view but balcony was a bit small. pool view seemed to have a bigger balcony. we were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent 7 nights at the Do Cerro (19th – 26th September), and as it was our first holiday together, thought we would do it properly and do it all-inclusive – big mistake! But more on that later…

First of all, the hotel itself. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were very impressed. Reception staff were friendly, and after checking in, escorted us personally to our room, rather than the usual way of pointing in the general direction of where our room is. The room (number 19) was situated in a tiny block with around 5 other rooms, accessed by going through a little grassed courtyard, and up a little staircase. It seemed immaculately presented, and after opening the curtains onto the balcony, discovered a view to die for – pretty much uninterrupted sightlines of the sea – so glad we paid extra for a sea view and high-floor room!

The hotel is built into a hill, and as a result, it makes it one of the most unique hotels I’ve ever stayed out, with lots of little staircases, corridors, and even a tunnel that runs underneath the road – such a nice change from the usual big boring complexes. There is a decent-sized pool area for the amount of people in the hotel, and plentiful sun loungers, which all get the sun at different parts of the day. The only downside was the pool water was really cold!

Location-wise, it is about a five-minute walk from the beach, and 10 minutes from the main square in the Old Town, however most of this involves going up and down some, at times, steep hills and steps! There seemed to be a fair few stray cats and dogs wandering around the place, although many of these seemed to strangely disappear towards the end of our week…

Now to the all-inclusive ‘service’ offered by the hotel. As with many of the reviews on here, we were made to feel very much like second-class citizens compared to the people who were paying for things, which you really don’t expect! The two male bar staff at the pool bar were particularly rude, most of the time not even cracking a smile for me whilst ordering drinks, whilst paying guests seemed to be enjoying laughs and jokes with them! Despite stating in the First Choice brochure, all-inclusive guests weren’t allowed to use the snack bar in the hotel, instead, on our first day, we were told rather aggressively that we HAD to eat in the buffet room. The staff who operated the evening restaurant were also less than friendly, especially a more middle-aged woman who seemed to be running the place. However, she was replaced for 2 days by a small bald-headed man who was a massive improvement, and was the happiest and friendliest person we saw during our whole time at the Do Cerro.

The drinks selection offered to all-inclusive was really poor, with local beer, fizzy pop, cheap wine, or nasty local spirits available to us, however paying guests seemed to have a much larger selection. One example of this was during our evening meal, we asked simply for a bottle of mineral water for the table (as other people appeared to have) - instead what we received was two small glasses filled with what well could’ve been tap water. We were also refused a vodka and Coke with a meal because apparently they didn’t have any vodka – yeah right! Around half way through our stay, a small menu of drinks available to all-inclusive guests appeared on the pool bar, which made life a little easier, until one afternoon I had to argue with the barman to let me have a glass of fresh orange juice, which he seemed dead-set on refusing to me until I showed him that it was listed on his menu. He said something in Portuguese to his colleague, before eventually handing it over.

The food at the hotel is served in a buffet format, which was okay I guess. Breakfast was the same every day, with sausages, beans, strange-tasting bacon, boiled eggs, and very yellow scrambled eggs, plus a selection of fruits, cooked meats, breads, and cereals on offer. Lunch lacked choice, with usually a fish dish, a meat dish, pizza, really oily pasta, and salads to choose from, but if none of this was to your taste, there was always chips to fall back on. It was a similar story for the evening meal, although this did at least have a bit more choice, and there was always something to match my rather fussy taste. The desserts were always a selection of ice creams, and strange looking cakes, so we usually steered clear of them. One night we headed out into the Old Town for dessert after our meal, and came across an American Diner located on the square, which was delicious, and the best thing we ate all week – definitely recommend!

So, overall, the Do Cerro is a lovely little hotel, and would recommend, as you won’t ever find another hotel with as much character as this one, and the location was near-on perfect. It was just let down by the all-inclusive package and the treatment that came with it. So, yes, stay here, but just book as Bed & Breakfast, and you will have a much better time!

Room Tip: Room 19 which we had was lovely, as will the room next door (18), as both have excellent sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is the most unwelcoming hotel I have stayed in, saved all year to enjoy my holiday but staff were rude to all inclusive treated like we were scrounges but not half bored holiday makers, only thing nice was the room, do not book all inclusive then you will be ok.

Room Tip: Room 3 best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#31 of 154 in Albufeira
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Cerro

Property: Hotel do Cerro
Address: Rua Samora Barros, Albufeira 8200-178, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#35 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Cerro 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel do Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Cerro Albufeira
Estalagem Do Cerro Hotel Albufeira
Estalagem Cerro
Hotel Do Cerro Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing