We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not very good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

First the staff, well they are so rude, never smile. The food not to good , yes there was a sickness bug while i was there and yes my husband and i got, can`t say it was the food because we never ate the same, would like to say that if people used the tongs that are there and cover the food up with the lids after they have taken what they want there might not be any sickness, some people were just picking food up with there fingers and eaten it while looking to see what they wanted to eat. and they were english. the hotel room they gave us had a kitchen which we did`nt want because we were all inclusive so they changed are room for us. at the weekends there are hen &stag parties can get a little loud but know problems,entertainment was rubbish,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    1,036
    715
    335
    260
See reviews for
562
1,350
72
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband and I decided to go for a last minute winter break to the Algarve so looked for a hotel that still offered most of the facilities during the closed season but didnt cost the earth. The Auramar fitted the bill.
You get exactly what you paid for with this hotel. It is rather dated in decor (as per some of the other reviews) and we did have 3 days rain which meant that several of the glass walk ways leaked. THere was evidence that they were decorating but this mainly comprised of painting the outside of the building. Other than that the hotel was great.
We were on a B&B basis which was fine for us as it offered a very basic english and continental each morning and we could get a coffee, but from what other residents advised the choices were rather limited for FB or All inclusive. You could upgrade if you wanted but there was a fantastic english bar/pub just down the road that did full range of english pub grub, breakfasts, bar snacks etc
The location for us was fantastic as it was a 15-20min walk along the beach to the old town (when the tide was out) but it is in an elevated position overlooking the bay with several flights of stairs down to the beach. We love walking so this was fine but I wouldnt recommend this hotel to the infirm or anyone walking problems.
We were lucky enough to get room which had a side view of the sea, but the view itself was spectacular.
Overall this is a great cheap hotel for the out of season period but I should imagine that it will get very busy during peak seasons when it will be run as a typical all inclusive resort. I would return to this hotel, but only in the out of season period.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I and our friends went for a 4 day break to the Auramar we booked cheap flights with JET2.COM only 59 euro’s per person return from Leeds.We googled a cheap Airport transfer BOOKALBUFEIRATRANSFERS COM only 58 euro return for 4 of us with a bottle of wine included free. They were waiting for us at the Airport with our name on a plaque like in movies.Auramar itself was ok not great old an a bit shabby but for 35 euro’s per night all inclusive for 2 people cant really complain. And the location was fantastic on the beach an near the bars and restaurant. The weather was fantastic for November really warm. Actually came home with a suntan.
Although the hotel wasn’t great we had a great time for a short budget break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudioguerreirok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

After our recent stay at this hotel we advise other travellers to stay away.The receptionists were extremely rude, our room and beds were in desperate need of updating, and the food diabolical. We returned home 2 weeks early following a outbreak of sickness and diarrhea.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

This hotel and it's staff are best to avoid unless you want to be rudely treated and suffer the worst virus causing sickness and diarrhea. On arrival I realised that this "3/4 star2 hotel was not even worth a single star. The reception staff were rude and unhelpful. The communal corridor areas were dated and dirty. The room was dirty. The bath and shower areas were covered in mould and the telephone did not work. There were no tea and coffee making facilities. Substantial deposits were required by the hotel for even the most basic of amenities (eg hair dryer, room key and even air conditioning controls). The management were unwilling to address any of these issues and indeed there was a culture of ignoring any guests requests for help.
Now comes the worst part. This hotel has an horrendous problem with food hygiene resulting in a severe problem with s and d. For example we were on an all inclusive package and requested a packed lunch for one particular lunch. When we came to collect we found the food had been sitting there since the previous evening without refrigeration and the sandwiches were congealed. No apology was made for this and it was as if it was normal practice. Need I say more?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suefromstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby, england
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

We wanted to go away for a few days and chose the Auramar hotel. We read the reviews on here and were abit worried but as we are not too fussy and wanted somewhere cheap we decided to go! The staff were very welcoming and friendly, a porter showed us to our room who was very polite and friendly with a great sense of humour!
We requested a double room but this was two beds pushed together, not ideal but was still nice as i either got snuggles with my partner or i made him go on hsi side giving me lots of room! best fo both!!! :)
The food was lovely, we only had breakfast in the hotel but they offered continental breakfast, cereals, fry up and fruit! We didn't spend much time in the hotel but thatw as because we liek to go to different places. We did spend late evenings in our rooms where we had a few drinks sat on the balcony with a great view!!! The other night we watched TV...we could only find 1 english channel but it had good programmes on!
Our last day there we played pool in the day room which was very relaxing.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants around the area aswell as a strip club!!! We didn't go in there (I wanted to out of curiosity but i did not want to pay loads of money! We saw two guys coming out fo there saying they had spent over £100!!!crazy).
The food was not as cheap as we expected but was still good value. there is a pub/restaurant to the left of the hotel which is brilliant and great value! I highly recomned The Royal restuarant which i would say is about 15 minute walk away but it does THE BEST INDIAN FOOD EVER!!!! We love indian food in England but this place just did everything better and more fresh! The korma was sooo lvoely and creamy!!mmmm (my mouth is watering just thinking about it) ofcourse this isn't the cheapest place for food but it is a similiar price as restuarants in England. We paid 60 euros for a starter main extra suides n 2 drinks each. (with a tip..and we also got complimentary whiskeys/shots after). We also went on 2 tours ran by FOLLOW ME TOURS! which we very informative, interesting and fun! We wnt to Loules market (but unfortunately the gypsy market was not on due to windy weather which was unfortunate) but the farmer's market there was great. We also went to Sagres. The tours were very cheap indeed! It is unfortunate if you are the first pick up though as you have a longer journey picking everyone else up and you will be the last ones off also but for less than 15 euros each you definitely can't complain!!! Albufeira is a lovely tourist resort and makes a greta holiday. the weather could have been better as it was only warm the first day we were there but all in all we had a great time and it was the relaxation we needed!! I definitely recomend going out of Albufeira though to see the true Portugal!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harmonyrosex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

The only good things about this hotel were the location and outside and the view from the balcony. Once you walk through the doors the funny smell hits you. Reception staff were unwelcoming and abrupt. The room was dated , bedding etc threadbare, the bathroom wasn't clean and the bath was missing a good portion of enamel. The food was bland, repetitive and to be avoided unless you wanted to be struck down with s and d like we were at the end of our first week. The total number of ill people was in the late twenties. People were complaining of cockroaches and someone mentioned rats. We did see a Rentokil van parked beneath our balcony for several hours. Fortunately our holiday wasn't spoiled because we had good weather, there were some good restaurants and coffee shops , especially in the old town and we met some nice people. Would I recommend this hotel NOT ON YOUR LIFE.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmother39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#130 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varandas de Albufeira
Varandas de Albufeira
#144 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing