We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at the Auramar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Auramar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

Party of six (50's + 20's). All inclusive, flight by Easyjet.
Superb location, overlooking beach. Excellent pool & food. Always at least four choices for lunch and dinner.
Took out the speedy-booking on Easyjet for a cost of £5pp, well worth it as we were loaded first and obtained exit-row seats.
Downsides are the number of steps from the rooms to the restaurant (don't go if you have difficulty climbing steps, not very good disabled access).

Our main grumble was the practice of "reserving" pool-side loungers (would love to blame the Germans, but it was mostly the Brits who were doing it). I hate doing it, but if you didn't join in, you didn't get a sun-bed. Some right on the pool-side weren't used until late afternoon. The hotel management should enforce their own requests not to place towels on the loungers.

Overall, if you get up early and reserve your sun-bed you will have a geat time here.

  • Liked — Food and location
  • Disliked — Number of steps and towels on sun-beds
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geoff1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    1,061
    726
    342
    264
See reviews for
578
1,375
74
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

We (4 girls) stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in mid July. We had 2 rooms in block B, 1 room was nice but the bath in the second room could have done with a good clean. The room was pretty standard although we didnt really want luxury as we didnt intend to spend much time there, we only needed a base and a comfortable bed in which to sleep - that's what we got. We spoke to other guests who werent very happy with there rooms, but they were staying there for 2 weeks so I guess they spent a lot more time in the room than we did.
The reception staff werent very helpful as they didnt give much advice on which activities and trip we could go on. The bar and restuarant staff however were VERY friendly and pleasant! A friend of mine left her purse in the resturant and the waiter came running out to return it to her. The restuarant was very clean and the service and food were great. We were on an all inclusive deal and were extrememly happy with the food.
The inside and outside pools were very clean although the outside pool was a little busy as expected. The views from the pool and restuarant were great.
The hotel is located right by the beach - literally a few steps away.
I would def recommend this hotel.
The nightlife is excellent - the location of the hotel is perfect for this. The hotel is near the beach and only about 5-10 mins from the nightlife!
If you decide to visit then ENJOY!!

  • Liked — the location of the beach and the nightlife
  • Disliked — the reception staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UK_travellersKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

My partner and l have just returned after a 10 day holiday from the auramar. we booked the holiday through 'going places' which cost us £550 each for 10 days 'all inclusive'.
The location of the hotel was excellent as it was set on a cliff right next to the beach giving us great views. access to the beach was down quite a few steep steps just outside the pool area. the strip was only a 5-10 min walk and was very lively at night (beware of some locals trying to sell 'hash'). there was lots of good bars + restaurants to choose from. we spent most nights on 'the strip' although we were all inclusive because we found the entertainment in the hotel very boring and the food was nice but very repetative.
The rooms was very basic but always kept clean by the cleaners who came everyday. our balcony did have a nice view of the sea if you looked around the tree outside our room.
we found that some of the staff were rude but the majority of the rest were fine if you spoke to them.
the pool was very clean + quite big + deep enough to swim.

overall we both really enjoyed our holiday and would return to this hotel if we ever wanted to go back to portugal

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — entertainment and some food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gailwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

Went to the Auramar in April for my wedding anniversary , OH DEAR !, . After going to a Rui in Gran Caneria all inclusive for my honeymoon i thought it would be a good idea to do it again but somewhere else . The difference was unbelieveable . First off the hotel is so dated , the room was clean and generally ok but the noise from the corridor was very bad every noise was amplified , so like it or not you were up by 8 o"clock everyday . The bar staff were good when you got to know them a bit the rest looked really unhappy in their jobs . Before i mention the food i would like to say the location was excellent but because it was early in the year the weather wasn"t great . Now to the worst bit of the holiday THE FOOD , . The first night was great then that was it , most of it was tin food i would say , repetative and vile . We went out to eat a few times . My wife even found a piece of metal scourer in her food one night ! . I would say stay there , if nothing else is available , but dont eat there. Overall this experiance has put me off Portugal for good .

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Looy750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

I have just come back from a week stay at the Auramar hotel, which me and my friend stayed at on half board.
The hotel was clean but the main entrance smelt a bit of smoke because you could smoke in there, which i didn't think was very inviting.
The room that we stayed in was very clean and large with nice views of the sea and pool, the maids cleaned it every day and it was allways tidy by the time we came back by 12.
There was 4 pools in total including the indoor, the childeren poo,l the main pool and the pool that was for Germans.
The main pool was large but it would have been better if we could have gone in to the German pool since they could use ours.
The Strip was only 5-10 mins away walking which had a good slection of bars restarants and shops for most people.
The strip got very bissy at night and i would not have wanted to take any childern there at night because of the amount of people.
The food at breakfast was good there was a nice choice and everything was clean and tidy.
Our main meal at dinner was ok, there wasn't a grate choice of food but what was there was very nice.
The staff there helped but didn't seam like they wanted to, we ordered a taxi from the reseption and they didn't point out what number we needed on the taxi roof so we had to go in and ask again.
Over all what we payed for the week, we got our moneys worth. I have stayed in a lot nicer hotels but then we where paying £500 + insted of £300 that we payed for this trip.
If i was going back to the Algarve i would possibly go back here because of the location and the nice pools and the fact that the beach was right next to the hotel.

  • Liked — The pool.
  • Disliked — The fact that you could smoke and you could smell it when you went in.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanneb_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

We stayed here for 2 weeks, last week in June to 1st in July. The rooms are basic but you can live with it due to the weather and location. Walk along the beach to the Old Town in 20mins and 10 from the strip. Sounds great and the location is. The food was good with a wide selection to suit most tastes. Now to the staff....In the restaurant the staff were fine if a little slow setting tables and taking your drink order, the cleaners were nice and for the most part tried to stay out of you way but when I'm on holidays I like to sleep past 9a.m. and not have to worry about someone waking me to clean the room. The pool was nice and the staff in the pool bar were standoffish at the start but did warm up, unlike the staff in the lobby bar!!! Here we found ignorant, pompus arrogant people, with one exception an eastern european, although he had his moments. The lobby staff were just ok, but had a problem holding on to what they call a key (fob). One piece of advice, unless you're mainland european or like to be abused, ignored and made to feel small don't go!!!!!!! Although I did get a great suntan.

  • Liked — The closeness to the beach
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank makbDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

We booked at this three star hotel as a last minute deal both of us needing some much needed R and R back in March. The hotel was booked before we read any reviews here, we pondered on the possibilty of a room in the infamous D block but thought how bad can it be.

We flew out in the early hours of the morning and arrived weary at the airport to find we had no transfer which had been booked, so we took a relaxed view and got a taxi. We arrived an hour later at the hotel to find that they had no knowledge of our booking (not their fault). Staff surly and unhelpful? I think not, they were wonderful, we all made lots of phone calls and they sent us down to the pool to relax while they sorted everything out. Half an hour later we recieved a call saying everything was sorted out and that we were to have a free drink. We were in the infamous D block, which they apologised for and offered us an alternative room if one came up. Ok it was not the newest of rooms, it was not the brightest, it was however on the ground floor, had a balconey and we could see the sea from it. We also had two hot plates which suited my partner as he likes to be able to make himself a cup of tea. In the end we opted to stay in D Block.

The pool and cafe areas are immaculate as was the dining area. We were on Bed and breakfast for which there was plenty of choice everyday. In the evennings we went to a little cafe bar outside the main entrance to the hotel, The Agua Viva, lovely meals, Portuguese rather than English, and very friendly staff.

A walk along the beach brings you into the old town of Albufiera which we liked though I would warn any English visitors to avoid the time share sellers who hook you in with scratch cards, tell you you have won and then insist very strongly that you get in a car to go up to the main office to collect your prize, we found them very rude when we refused and found out towards the end of the holiday they are trained not to take 'no' as an answer, the best method of dealing with them is to ignore them entirely and just not say a word. We found some lovely places to eat which offered more traditional Portuguese food as opposed to egg and chips.

For a cheap, early season holiday we both enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location, close to the beach and not too far to the old town.
  • Disliked — The room needed an over haul, but that said the bed was comfortable. I don't go on holiday to spend the whole time in my room!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah_Gadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#128 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#61 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing