We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was pleasantly surprised...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We booked at this three star hotel as a last minute deal both of us needing some much needed R and R back in March. The hotel was booked before we read any reviews here, we pondered on the possibilty of a room in the infamous D block but thought how bad can it be.

We flew out in the early hours of the morning and arrived weary at the airport to find we had no transfer which had been booked, so we took a relaxed view and got a taxi. We arrived an hour later at the hotel to find that they had no knowledge of our booking (not their fault). Staff surly and unhelpful? I think not, they were wonderful, we all made lots of phone calls and they sent us down to the pool to relax while they sorted everything out. Half an hour later we recieved a call saying everything was sorted out and that we were to have a free drink. We were in the infamous D block, which they apologised for and offered us an alternative room if one came up. Ok it was not the newest of rooms, it was not the brightest, it was however on the ground floor, had a balconey and we could see the sea from it. We also had two hot plates which suited my partner as he likes to be able to make himself a cup of tea. In the end we opted to stay in D Block.

The pool and cafe areas are immaculate as was the dining area. We were on Bed and breakfast for which there was plenty of choice everyday. In the evennings we went to a little cafe bar outside the main entrance to the hotel, The Agua Viva, lovely meals, Portuguese rather than English, and very friendly staff.

A walk along the beach brings you into the old town of Albufiera which we liked though I would warn any English visitors to avoid the time share sellers who hook you in with scratch cards, tell you you have won and then insist very strongly that you get in a car to go up to the main office to collect your prize, we found them very rude when we refused and found out towards the end of the holiday they are trained not to take 'no' as an answer, the best method of dealing with them is to ignore them entirely and just not say a word. We found some lovely places to eat which offered more traditional Portuguese food as opposed to egg and chips.

For a cheap, early season holiday we both enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Sarah_Gadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,926)
There are newer reviews for Auramar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,474 - 2,480 of 2,926 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2007

Very nice hotel, great position close to the strip for bars and restaraunts and 3 very clean sandy beaches. The old town is only a 25 min walk along the beach or a 5 min taxi ride. The new Marina is about 50 mins walk but nice to stop and enjoy a cold beer and people watch.

The People may appear rude but they arnt at all, its just there way, they adore children and will stop to make them smile.

The Portoline bar on the strip is extremely good and Nico and is wife are very friendly, stop there and watch life go by.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Albuferia-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

This was a last minute booking forced on us by family commitments, so we were a little worried by some of the comments about this hotel. The hotel building & grounds are nice enough, with an attractive (but deep) swimming pool, with a kids' pool nearby. There is a large grass sunbathing area on the one side - we found it fairly easy to get a sun bed around breakfast time without the annoying business of 'reserving' them with towels at the break of dawn, although there are a limited number of umbrellas. Behind this area is the 2nd main pool which is in an fenced off area marked out for 'Holiday club' members only (i.e. Timeshare). We were all-inclusive, which meant wearing a blue wrist band (Holiday club members wore a green/yellow band). The hotel lifts are small; barely big enough to hold 2 people with their cases. The room key is a magnetic disc (which works quite well). The room was clean enough, although the bath had seen better days. We also found one ceiling light
not working, no water pressure in sink taps, only one chair on the balcony and the clothes dryer missing. However, all but one fault was rectified within 24 hours (we never did get the clothes dryer, which should be on the balcony).

The hotel is in a good location, with nightlife and beaches not far away, but isolated enough not to have excessive noise outside. The famous 'Strip' is only a 10 minute walk away (walk straight across the road out of the hotel, follow it past the Kiss disco, turn right at the end, then left at the next roundabout and you're at the beginning of the Strip). The hotel offer a free mini-bus service into Albufeira town 3 times a day, although the catching the final bus at 4pm will leave you having to make your own way back, lthough there is a local bus service plus the Tourist train (which only stops at the top end of the Strip though).

There are 3 beaches within walking distance - you can either walk down the paths/roads either side of the hotel, or clamber across the cliff paths at the back of the hotel. The latter route is more scenic - you need to go through the gate just above the kids' pool. Be aware that you need a code to get back in this way (ask your rep, or at reception - without giving away too much it's very easy to remember). To the right, when facing the sea, is the beginning of the huge main beach for Albufeira, which leads all the way into town. In the other direction, is the small Praia De Avieros beach. If you go straight onwards across more rocks (around a 15 minute journey), you will eventually reach the larger Praia Da Oura beach.

The hotel's greatest let-down is the food - one half of the restaurant is given over to a fruit/salad bar, with the same choice (inc cheese & ham) every day. The other half offers a same cooked breakfast in the morning, except for swapping over between scrambled egg and bacon every other day (making it impossible to have both together). In the evening, this half always offers burgers (covered in onions, whether you want them or not), chips, soup, and a choice of a meat or fish dish, plus vegetables. Desserts consist of scoops of ice cream (same 3 flavours each time), mousse, jelly, fruit (always apples or bananas) plus the same Portuguese cakes each time (creme carmamel, some dry tasting flans, and a sickly cream cake). There are machines offering hot drinks and fruit juice in the morning, but you are at the mercy of the inconsistent waiter service for drinks at dinner.

The 'snack' bar near the pool always offers yesterdays' dinner & soup (misspelt as 'soap'!), plus the same salad/burgers/chips/ham & cheese combination. Desserts are limited to scoops of ice cream (with 5 flavours this time) and the occasional apple. What I'd term as snacks (e.g. nuts/crisps/ice lollies) are not included in the all-inclusive package. However, you can get unlimited soft drinks (coke and some fruit-flavoured drinks that only vaguely resemble fruit juice) and beer, plus a small choice of local spirits.

In the evening, you can get most of these same drinks free from the bar, plus the cocktail of the day (which only once was on their normal cocktail menu); otherwise you need to pay for for the reminder. There is a notice advising all-inclusive clients they can only get one drink at a time, but we found many people were able to get up to 4 drinks at once.

Another annoyance is the amount of smoking in public areas - the only non-smoking area we found was the main restaurant. As non-smokers, this made evenings in the hotel very uncomfortable, and we eventually starting going out to the Strip most nights. Because of this, we only saw one night of the hotel's entertainment - a parrot show. No different from most I'd seen before, but delayed whilst the man running it insisted on bringing the parrots around for photographs with guests (surely this could have been done after the show?). We caught a brief glimpse of a laughable attempt at bingo (which for reason seemed to be in fancy dress!), plus some rather tame (& repetitive) folk dancing on another night. The daytime activities are aimed at kids and adults, usually some kick-boxing style aerobics and water polo. There is also volleyball, but this takes place in a unsheltered court around the other side of the hotel rather than in the pool.

All in all, an average hotel, that is no better than its' 3 star status. It worked out at around 6 pounds extra per day for all-inclusive over half-board, so it was worth it for a week-long break, mainly due to us being by the pool most days, although having to endure the same food for 2 weeks would have been too much to take!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

My friend and I went on holiday in June 2007 to this resort as we were looking for a fairly relaxed holiday, along with the Sunshine! We found the staff to be very abnoxious and by no means helpful!

Our room was very basic and by no means of a 4 star rating! The bath looked about 30 years old and was all stained and worn away. The cleaner's interpretation of cleaning the bathroom was squirting cleaning products down the loo and flushing the toilet. Yes, we did have clean towels everyday but there wasnt a day that went by where either a towel, face cloth or bath mat was missing!!

When we arrived alot of people were complaining about the food and granted there wasnt much variety but there was always something to cater for everyone. The pool bar was mainly the same everyday, but if people are that bothered about food then all-inclusive perhaps isnt the best option for them!

Speaking of all-inclusive, this is a bit of a con to be honest, as the alcohol on this option was very limited, i think there was only beer, wine, soft drinks, vodka, tea and coffee.

As you can see from my title, if you are not German then you wont fit in...the reason i put this is because no matter who we spoke to they just looked at us as if we were from another planet (very rude). I was standing in a queue at the bar (be prepared to stand there for a long time, they are very slow to serve you) and a man decided to shout and bawl in German at me because i was wearing a "blue" all inclusive band and he was wearing a yellow, therefore he thought he was quite within his rights to jump infront of me - needless to say the barman told him to get to the back of the queue....as if they are not satisfied enough that they have their own pool and room in the evening!!!

We had to check out by 11am on our last day and asked if we could keep our room on for an extra 5 euros per hour (which was fine) however we were told we can only ask to keep it on that day, so when we asked we were told NO!!! without even looking for us, apparantely, they were having a lot of people arriving that day - think we seen 5!!! The showers we were told we could use were outside right next to the pool bar and the gentleman's toilets....the shower screens were see through!! Not ideal at all, so we sneaked into the Gym and used their showers!

To sum up i wouldnt recommend this holiday to anyone, as the entertainment at night was appauling, no music playing whilst you are waiting for the cabaret to come on...the cabaret was anything from a parrot show, magic show or karaoke!

Doesnt seem the ideal place to occupy kids, but that may be coz we didnt go in peak season!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank R2ch3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

The location is great, the resort is good, the hotel is "tired" but quite comfortable the food is bland and the restaurant staff hostile,but, compared to the rest of the hotel staff they are acceptable, we saw at least 2 of them smile!!
The remainder of the staff were surley, rude and totaly unhelpfull.
although we may add not just to the Brits. but to all guests, in fact we made many contacts from all nations as the full topic of shared conversations seemed to be the lack of service from the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

great place, food fantastic with lots of choice and variety, pools clean views amazing would defo go back

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YorkshireJudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

the wife and a few friends have just been to this hotel and was bitterley disappointed with the attitude of the majority of the staff and the food was very basic.ie burgers chips sausage and the such like.they went all inclusive,but would have been better of going b and b and just eat out .the rooms were basic but clean. the beach was down a steep walk way .overall with the attitude of the staff and the food they came back disapointed.at nearly 400 pounds for 4 nights it was not good value. flying with monarch is no joke either.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jami43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#122 of 154 in Albufeira
2,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $33 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing