We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hotel would go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

we love Portugal so we thought we would try the auramar hotel for 1 week and we was
very happy when we got there. there was so much to do like a nice 20 min along the beach to the old town and 10 min to the new town. there was plenty of sun beds for every one which was good. there was no problem with the food there was plenty to choose from.
the rooms was clean and tidy every day with clean towels plus if you can get a sea view.
the only problem for us was you could not get a drink at the hotel until 5 or 6pm on the night you have to go down alot of steps to the pool area which was a pain.
i would recommend this hotel to family's and couples

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank step1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    1,061
    726
    342
    264
See reviews for
578
1,375
74
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

I loved my stay at this hotel, it was brilliant. I had previously read a lot of bad reviews which made me think it was going to be terrible. But, I was wrong. The food obviously not 5 star standard as it's a 3 star hotel not 5, but I thought there was a large variety which changed each day. Yes, there were chips with everything but if you don't want them you don't have to eat them do you!! All the staff were very polite and helpful, it's just difficult to those non english-speaking ones. This hotel is in a fantastic location, 5 minutes from all the nightlife and 15 along the beach to the old town. We found so much to do as there are many trips that you can go on, i believe these can be booked through the hotel but as we went with Thomas Cook we booked our trips through them. Loved every minute of my holiday and would go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annawilliams75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed at the auramar hotel for 5 days, bed and breakfast. We arrived at 10 am and were given one of our rooms early ( 12 o clock) when our check in was at 3. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were basic but clean and spacious. The rooms were cleaned and fresh towels left evey day of our stay. Breakfast was ok with lots of fresh fruit, cereals and a choice of hot food. The views from the hotel were stunning and the swimming pools were clean.The outdoor pool was a little to cold and deep for my 3 children and 3 neices but they loved the indoor and were in there every chance they got. The free coach into the old town was very easy and convienient for all the shops, resturants and the beach. I cant complain about anything with this hotel. It was cheap, Clean and me and my family had a great holiday. I would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vicky81080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Have just returned from the Auramar. Here are some points to those interested.

Good Points: Views from the resort are fabulous.
Location very good, 10 min walk up streets to the strip, and a beautiful walk along the beach to the old town in about 20min, depending on the tide. You can also get a taxi to/from for about €5.

Unfortunately thats where the good points end.

Bad Points: We paid for a sea view but when arrived, we were allocated a side sea view which was obstructed by a very large tree. The balcony off the room looked like it was about to fall off any second and the same went for the walls, plater falling off, walls cracked etc, overall not very safe feeling!
As far as the cleaning of our room, we were there for 10 days and our room was not cleaned once. The lady would knock the door and hand us clean towels and that was it.
Food was not great at all. We went all inclusive as we have done so for many years, hence opting for the option of handiness. The breakfast was stomach turning. Scrambled eggs that were orange/brown in colour. Looked like it had been cooked the day before. Other than that there was toast etc which we had to be forced to eat for our stay. I agree with the previous reveiw whereby if anything runs out, milk etc, you have to chase the staff around to assist you. The lunch was the best meal they put out, I thought. They would have something different everyday, roasted chicken, turkey duck, burgers, chips etc. Alot of choice, the only thing being is that they say that this is available to you till 5.30pm when i you go in for food at 3.30pm, they have cleared all the food away. Dinner was disgusting, same as breakfast, food looked stale. We ended up eating out for dinner for most of our stay. Drinks, local beer, cheap vodka, wine nd cocktails inc, but BE ADVISED, all inclusive stops at 11pm, so after that you are being ripped off paying for anything!
Staff=some are friendly, some are not, depends on what mood they are in!
Safe in the room, you do not get your money back for this and have to pay €12.50 for the week goes up after that!
Taxis=If they taxi was booked from the phone, they will charge an additional €0.80 even before you sit in the car. At the start of the week, the reception staff used to ring for a taxi no problem, then half way through the week, when we asked them to book a taxi for us they put their hand out and asked for 50c for ringing. I asked as to why this was, and they said it was always like that even though it was not. So thats, €1.30 for taxi b4 u go anywhere, bit of a rip off!!
We paid for a taxi from Faro to the hotel for €50, but when we later looked into it, there are much cheaper ways of going about this, book through the companies that do the day tours, transfers etc. We learnt that you can actually get a return for €50 through them!
There is a smell in the lobby, but ya can put up with that! When we were there, they were painting the place and got new lobby chairs etc, so it looked like they were trying to make somewhat of an effort!
There was entertainment on every evening, which was good some nights. Good for kids also!

Overall, would not stay again, purely because the service and quality was not even up to 3 star. For what we got, it was expensive. Now this is just my opinion others may love the resort!!

Enjoy your hols!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ND2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

If your after a cheap last minute break (week at most) then this hotel is ideal. we got a really good deal, hotel was very cheap so we werent expecting the ritz. A lot of people on this site complain when they pay for 3 star and they dont get a 5 star hotel and service! get real people! In most cases you get what you pay for. In our case we wanted a cheap getaway hotel which we got. The hotels in a great location, 10 mins from the new town and about 30 mins walk from the old town. Theres a path that leads straight from the hotel to the beach as well which is ideal. The rooms are a little dated but clean. We got a nice sea view as requested. We did flood the bathroom half-way through our trip as we had water coming up through a drain in the floor when we got a shower. we told reception and it was sorted out the same day. We just got bed and breakfast because theres so many nice places to eat in the new and old town that we wouldnt wana be restricted to eating in the hotel every evening. The breakfasts we had at the hotel were fine, cereals and cooked breakfasts etc. Albufeira's a great town....great for young and old. I didnt see any trouble there, its perfect for couples especially in the old town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toxtethscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
At home
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

The hotel is in a good location, set between the Old Town and The Strip. It's set in lovely gardens and has superb sea views, thanks to it's cliff top location. There are some lovely, clean beaches a 5 minute walk, down a steep hill with plenty of sun longers and brollies for 10 euros a day with snack bars on the beach, just be aware, it is quite a walk back up to the hotel, so if hills aren't your thing, I'd avoid it. We found some nice places to eat for snacks close to the hotel and if you want something more than a sandwich, there are some good restaurants in the Old town, which you can walk to along the beach, or if you didn't fancy the walk, there's a little train you can catch either way. When you get off the train at the Old Town, there are 2 escalators to get you down to the town.

Now for the hotel itself, there is a strange smell in the reception area, couldn't work out what it was or where it came from, but unless you spend your holiday in the reception, it shouldn't prove to be a problem! Now the hotel kind of goes downhill a bit I'm afraid, but this is how we saw it and hopefully, I've given a good, honest account of things. First off, the dining experience starting with breakfast, we went half board and bearing in mind it is a 3 star hotel, we felt let down a bit by it, bearing in mind the hotel has 280 rooms, there was only 2 toast machines and only 2 hot drinks machines for the entire hotel, so be prepared to queue, you'll soon learn the best way to get hot food and a hot drink at the same time, but they could really do with more equipment. There was plenty of choice of food to be had, hot and cold, but they did run out a couple of times and the staff were very good at playing hide and seek and there was a bit of a wait to get more food bought out, but there was the usual fayre to be had, you could even have chips for breakfast if you want. Evening meals again, were just O.K. Plenty of choice, meat and fish, rice and chips (just for a change) and loads of salad. The desserts were good and fresh fruit available as well, there's no need to come away hungry. The couple of gripes we had about the evening meals was a lack off staff, which meant if you wanted a drink, you again, had to go and look for someone, (I did say they were good at hide and seek) and out of the 7 nights we stayed there, for 4 of them, we ate the entire meal without 1 dirty dish being removed from the table, not good, even for a 3 star and rest assured, I'm no snob, I just expect a bit of quality service when I go on holiday, not to be eating my food surrounded by dirty dishes and depending on what time you went down for dinner, you sometimes had to clear a table and lay it yourself before you could start your meal, again, not good, even for a 3 star.

Now for my main moan and yes, it's worth moaning about. The pool itself is very good indeed, cleaned every morning and there are loads of beds and brollies to be had any time of the day, but what really isn't good, is the fact that there a some cats, with kittens roaming the grassy area where the majority of the sun beds are, who seem to think that if it's grass, it means it's their litter tray and boy, do they know how to use it, which means you're constantly looking where you tread to dodge all the cat poo!!!! If they want the cats there, fine, just clean all the cat poo up. Not very hygenic bearing in mind, not everybody puts anything on their feet to go for a swim, but they soon learnt after they'd found something soft on the grass!!!!!! Then there was the stag parties, maybe we dropped on to a bad bunch, but if that is the kind of people they want to stay there, fine, just don't complain when couples and families don't return there. The group we encountered for the first weekend we got there, were I have to say, the loudest, rudest, drunken, intimidating, foul mouthed, drunken English men I've come across. Rest assured, I'm far from a prude, but when the pool area is full of women and children, it's just not acceptable and nobody from the hotel did anything about it. I know they were there for a fun and booze filled weekend, but it wasn't a good place to be. Makes you proud to be British!!!!!

Like I said earlier, all I can do is write a review as honestly as we saw it, to some people, these things may not have been a problem, unfortunately to us, they were, which is a shame, because it wouldn't take a lot to make this a very good place to stay and to come back to, but as I'm sure you've worked out, we wouldn't return or recommend it to anybody, whether I liked them or not!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

returned today after 4 nights at the Auramar, i was in a group of blokes (in 40's) there were a few groups (both sexes) there was one younger stag do but there was nothing to be concerned about. The reception was fine (the smell didn't show up) we weren't all inclusive and the service at their AI bar did look rather slow. The rooms were big and cleaned every day the furniture and TV.s were old but I didn't go to Portugaul to watch tv in the room. The walk along the beach to the old town is really nice and if you did go at high tide (which was around 1pm) you only have to climb a small hill to avoid having to go in the sea. The old town was buzzing at night and has some fab places to tea.
If you want a clean nice hotel that doesn't cost a packet this is as good as any. Taxi back from old town (at 4 am) less than 5 euros

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#128 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#61 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing