We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed April 11, 2007

This hotel must have the best setting on the Algarve. At my age I worried about the number of steps, but by day 3 my legs were used to it, and we found short cuts. If you are used to 3 star this hotel will not disappoint. 3 star hotel, 5 star location. We stayed for 2 weeks all inclusive and didn't want to leave. 3 star food and drinks but lots of variety and plenty of it. Large rooms, past their prime but beautifully clean, with sea views. I would not hesitate to stay there again.Multilingual reception staff were always helpful. The beach is wonderful and accessed by railed wooden steps, with resting places!! Plenty of sun beds with comfy matresses. Please don't be put of by some reviews, I really don't know what some people expect from 3 star.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the steps
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jennyLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    1,073
    736
    343
    273
See reviews for
588
1,401
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We spent 4 nights here on a half board basis and really enjoyed it. It's not perfect but then again it was excellent value at £150 for the two of us. There were a couple of niggles: reception area was pretty smoky and the hotel would benefit from a refurbish but you can't expect the Ritz for this sort of money.

However it was clean and we had clean towels every day and a change of bedding (on a 4 night stay) so no complaints.

The food was plentiful and an excellent range of food with soup, salad, a main course and sweets. and also a good selection at breakfast with hot and cold food available.

Staff were mainly pleasant: ceratinly the serving staff and the maid although the reception staff were brusque but not actually rude.

As everyone has said the location is superb although the directions to it by road were less than helpful but fortunately a helpful taxi driver put me right.

All in all great value for money either B&B or half board. I can't comment on the All-inclusive rate or the entertainment as I didn't indulge.

  • Liked — Food and overall cleanliness
  • Disliked — Reception area was very smoky
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kendgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2007

Just got back on monday 12the March, The hotel was nice, better than I thought it would be after reading some reviews. The rooms were very clean and were cleaned every day. We were there on a bed and breakfast basis.,the breakfast wasn't that good so we ate out on a few occasions. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and wasn't impressed! 15 euros each for as mush as you like but the food was basic, considering you can get a very nice meal on the strip cheaper. The hotel is in a great position with some gorgeous views, it could do with a bit of modernsing but only really the reception area and dinning room. Only a 5 min walk to the Strip which at this time of year was nice as it wasn't too busy. There are some gorgeous restuarants La Bamba had lovely food and friendly staff. There is a free bus every so often to the old Albufieira, which is worth a visit, or a "Train/Bus" for 1 euro from the strip. Watch out for people selling time share they are everywhere, we got caught on our first day! Also people asking you "if you smoke the Hash" Quite a few of them too!
Would definately go back to Albufeira again though and to The Auramara just for the views alone!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank adw526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2007

I went there in dec.2006 with my husband and doughter and expected somthing more. when we got there I saw very old hotel with terrible staff (especially reception staff). room was dirty and very cold. at first we got room with no sea view althought we payid extra money for that. I had to argued about that and finaly we got better room. bathroom cold cold and cold without hot water. the hotel gained 3stars and I really do not know for what!!! DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank dedelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

just got back from this hotel 18 feb 07.
its was nothing out of this world but you could cope.we was AL
food was always hot and there was always a meat or fish dish lots of pasta,salad and good old chips.day time snacks was burger,pasta,salad and chips.
the bar open 10.30 am till 11pm
(but people still moan that it was not long enough) staff was very plesents. the only wish i would have is that the entertainment could be longer at night

  • Liked — close to the strip (night life)
  • Disliked — enterinment
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

Have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Auramar, and have very little positive comments to write of my stay here. The rooms were cold and tired, and in need of decoration and cleaning. There was no real heating apart from an air conditioning unit in the bedroom which did finally heat the bedroom but made a lot of noise, the rest of the apartment was freezing. the shower was broken and did not fix to the wall,and for a few minutes upon switching it on ran brown water. The breakfast , although pleantiful, did not acutally include much that was edible. We did not spend much time in the hotels communual areas but they looked old and in need of decoration.
The hotel did however have a good location, the grounds seemed beautifully kept (shame they couldnt extend this to the interior!) and the view was amazing. Maybe during the summer the hotel would seem more welcoming but in the winter it just seemed depressing and I would not stay here again - there are pleanty more hotels in the area in a similar price range which are good.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuzzyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Just back from Auramar having spent Xmas and New Year there.
As others have said hotel location is good being on the beach
front with easy access to the old town. Rooms are spacious
enough and clean , but then we come to the kitchen !
In the two weeks that we were there we had our evening meal in
the hotel only three times the food was so bad! It was cold ,
bland ,mostly swimming in oil ,mainly inedible. The so called
Gala Meal at Christmas was an absolute disgrace. The staff
could not cope with the numbers sitting down to the meal.Firstly
we were presented with a soggy prawn cocktail then green pea
soup!( always a Xmas delight) ,one and a half hours later the main course arrived. I didn,t eat it as ididn,t know what it was supposed to be.By this time we decided to leave along with others.The restaurant manager was informed by many guests
of their opinion of this shambles but his reply was to say that he did not cook or serve the food ( nuff said about his attitude )
This hotel is extremely lucky to have three stars ,but it could be
good if the got in a restaurant manager who could do his job
and employed chefs who could actually cook! If you do decide
to stay at this hotel only do so on a bed and breakfast basis.
Stay away from HB and AI as there are lots of good places to
eat 10 to 15 mins. away.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Tips/Secrets — only go BandB
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank marketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#127 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing