We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th wedding anniiversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #69 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“30th wedding anniiversary”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

hotel very good if your not old there is a lot of steps down to the pool the entertainment is not to good the staff are nice but the odd one or two could learn how to smile the thomas cook rep kelly is the best rep we have ever had she is a very good asset to the company we have been with thomas cook lots of times and will carry on all in all we had a good holiday at this hotel and would go again thanks to all the staff for a good holiday petter&christine ormerod england

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hindmanchersterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    1,075
    737
    343
    274
See reviews for
591
1,403
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 night stay at the Auramar on an All Inclusive basis - well advised!
The staff in the restaurant were 1st class, bringing our drinks very quickly & in a friendly fashion. We tried to thank them in Portuguese, whenever they cleared our plates away etc.
The lunches were served at the pool bar & extremely well organised with a good variety of hot & cold food.
We had a side sea view room - very dated but cleaned well everyday with fresh towels when required. You need your own toiletries & hairdrier, as they only supply soap.
The Hotel as a unique situation & the courtesy bus into the Old Town is very useful one way, as it is a lovely walk back along the beach, but beware of the tides & rough seas - lots of Life Guards!
The reception staff were all very helpful & when we were leaving offered to take our photo,as I was taking some photos of the interior of the Hotel Lobby. We checked out & could keep our wristbands, till we had our lunch,as we were not leaving till 3pm!
You also require your own towels for the indoor & outdoor pools.
I joined in the Aquagym class - all in German but great fun.
There are all nationalities there. The atmosphere is very friendly.
There are rather a lot of steps which require care but ramps too if required!
Finally it is very good value for a 3* Hotel, which could easily be a 4* with some refurbishment of the rooms!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Ok so we can’t be too harsh as this is only a 3 star establishment but that is made very clear on numerous occasions!

I stayed here with a friend all inclusive. The rooms were ok but the maids never seemed to clean. The beds were changed occasionally but most days we weren’t sure whether the maid had actually been or not.

Our room also overlooked a pool that we weren’t actually allowed to use – it seemed to be for German’s only.
Which leads me onto my main complaint – this hotel is not really geared for Brits. It was mainly populated by Germans with the “entertainment” such as it was all being in German. I did not expect to go and stay in Portugal and feel intimidated because I was British.

The staff weren’t particularly friendly at the hotel either. No one was rude – but they didn’t seem overly nice either – maybe because we were British.

The food in the restaurant was average – what you would expect for a 3 star hotel. But 2 weeks of the same thing was too much and we ended up eating out quite a lot.

There are lots of lovely areas in the Algarve but Albufeira is not the best. “The Strip” is suitably named because it was full of strip bars. The old market town was much more appealing but the taxi would cost about 10Euros for a round trip.

However, all the tour reps that we came into contact with on our excursions were lovely. They all went above and beyond to be helpful and provide you with lots of interesting details on your trip.

So to sum it all up; I’d say definitely go to the Algarve. The weather was amazing and we both came back with wicked tans.
However, don’t stay in Albufeira – Vilamoura would be much more my cup of tea if I go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2009

.. to be fair to the hotel, the rooms were clean, perhaps slightly dated, and the pool area was very picturesque. However the atmosphere of the place was diabolical. the receptionist was rude and unhelpful. the hotel was quiet, almost strangley quiet for what is meant to be peak holiday time. I may have my wires crossed but i do beleive that there was a selected pool area that was only occupied by germans! which the british guests, if any, were not allowed to visit. there was no chance of having any sort of a laugh or fun in the hotel, there are no games and the entertainment was poor... a man on an organ trying to sing in english? something i personally found strange was the fact that there was no music at all around the pool area or even come evening. you were lucky if you saw a smile on anyones face, including guests.i would recomend this hotel for people aged 60 plus! ... however there is a strip 5 minuets down the road which made our holiday ... visits Matts bar and have a go on the rodeo !

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Tyneside England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in March 09 on a half board basis. The hotel was in a lovely location uphill from the beach and set in lovely grounds. Albufiera Old Town was a 30 minute walk along the beach or 40/5 minutes along the main road. Bar street was only a 10minute stroll from our hotel along with the shopping area. There was a bus stop at the top of the street for buses into Albufeira old town. The walk there was pleasant although you do have to climb a steep bank on the way back (not so bad when going down on the way there). The hotel was a lovely clean friendly hotel and the food was varied and plentiful. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was large and airy and exceptionally clean. I would recommend this hotel for families, singles but not for those with walking difficulties if they prefer a beach location as the beach is down a steep hill. Wonderful views from the restaurant of the sea and beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wholelottaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a week from 3rd September.
We had a very early flight and got to the hotel at 9.30am. We were in our room by 11.30am, as they made a special effort to get it ready early.
The receptionist who greeted us was very friendly and spoke perfectly good English, as did all the reception staff. The rooms are very good with air conditioning, and were cleaned every day.
We were half board and the food was ok, but must admit did get a bit bored with it as it seemed to be the same sort of thing every day, so ended up eating out a couple of times as there are so many restaurants near by.
Excellent location, right next to the beach, bars and restaurants and took about 20 minutes to walk to the old town. If you don't fancy walking the hotel provided a free bus to take you instead.
In short, don't have a bad word to say about the hotel at all, good for 3*, and would be more than happy to go again as we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaznrobPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I have to admit i never really read reviews before this holiday and with peoples comments regarding this hotel we were slightly worried. However, i think these people are moaning for the sake of moaning as we had an amazing holiday. Yes the place has quite a few steps and it might be a bit awkward for the elderly but they have lifts available. I have a long standing ankle problem through footie and i didnt find it to taxing. Pool is great, definately gives you a wake up call when you get in, but in 30c weather its more than welcome. Nice 2 minute walk to the beach which were immaculate. Food was fantastic. Yes some people have moaned about chips on every menu but they dont force feed you!. Lasagnes, pastas, meat options, fish, vegetables, what more could you want. Reception staff were friendly and the only fault we had was with our non existant rep. Think she was on holiday to but to be honest its not as it we had any major issue. Lovely bar just outside the hotel complex. Drinks are a bit pricey but we wanted some quiet time together and it was a great place to chill out from the madness of evening entertainment lol. The Strip was ok and they are nice bars down there and we had a walk to the old town on a couple of occassions. Only 10 minute walk but they do supply a bus. Overall the holiday was amazing. Cant check in till 2pm and wasnt really aware of that and it is slightly annoying if you have been up 24+ hours. Good excuse for us to go the pub though. Top place, top people, definately going back but with the rest of the family so i can try one of the many golf courses with the girlfriends permission lol.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarniedeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#122 of 154 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing