We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful - needs some TLC.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #71 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful - needs some TLC.”
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Just got back from 7 nights at Hotel Auramar - heard a few reports of it being called Hotel 'Horrormar' - well we can see why in some respects. Firstly, we got there and we had booked all inclusive, the receptionist didn't even have any confirmation that we had booked ! So we were put in an awful musty room with no fridge, balcony full of ants and the back door didn't lock ! Beware of D118 ! We then changed rooms to D108, much better but not great, at least had a fridge and door locked, balcony view was the crazy golf course... The hotel itself needs updating (lots of dark depressing wood) but for the price we paid was reasonable. The All Inclusive was great, drinks day and night if you wished - we noticed a few people taking advantage - ie getting 4 drinks each at the bar therefore creating a long queue behind, you know who you are 'Paul's gang' !! Wouldn't like to go to this hotel in the summertime as we don't think we'd ever get served at the bar ! Entertainment was a man on keyboard,oh and one night a magic show... Staff are friendly enough. About a 15 minute walk to 'strip' area. Ate out at a lovely chinese restaurant at top of strip set back, called Golden Garden, thought we'd treat ourselves on our last night, it was definately worth it. The food in hotel was average, but ok for the price we paid. Lovely views from the pool area, including the sunset. Watch out when you walk to the Old Town along the beach, you have to time it right otherwise you end up in the sea like I did - ha ! Wasn't a pleasant experience either. The Old Town is lovely and we would probably stay there next time, it has more character. Also get the free courtesy bus from hotel otherwise its a long walk. All in all the Auramar is good for a cheap and cheerful holiday and great location. Would consider again for a bargain break !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    1,071
    735
    343
    273
See reviews for
586
1,398
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
W Yorks
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This was a last mjinute booking via Jet2 and w got a 5 night stay with transfers for just over £300 each so was a bargain considering that was all inclusive.
We did research the hotel via trip advisor before we booked an noticed that thre were some bad reviews.
First of all it has to be said we didn't pay a lot. The hotel is very dated inside and has a musty smell to it. The room was last fitted out nthe earliy 80's I would say and was therefoe very dated. The bathroom especialy needed urgent attention as the bath was pretty much worn out. With that said tere was free air con, it was kept very clean wih daly service and we had a nic balcony wih a sea view.
Te food was as we expected, a bit repetative but there was always something you liked and a choice in the evening of fish or two meat dishes. You could have wine, sangria or beer with the meal as part of the ll inclusive.
Breakfast was very good with the usual continental selection and sufficient to make yourself a british hot breakfast if you so desired. There was a good choice of cerials and fruit.
Lunches were at a snack bar by the pool and again the food was nice with a good selection.
The drinks were of course the local equivalents and smeties it was hard to decide what they were but there was as much as you wanted. The local beer was nice and the brandy was also very good.
Etertainment wise, well it was early season so there wasn't much on but there was music, kareoke etc.
The hotel is about 15 mins walk from "the strip" which is where all the bars and restaurants are. Beware as eating out seriously eats into yur wallet. The worst prices we found were 17.50 euros for a surf and turf burger, salad or chips was an extra 2.5 Euros !!!!!! Two Brandy and cokes was 12 Euros !!!!!
Best to head to the back streets to the little bars who also do food where you can get a main course fo about 8 Euros. Local beer as low as 1 Euro and a local brandy / coke about 3 Euros.
The nicest part of the area is the beach walk to the old town but you have to time this right as if the tide comes in you can not complete the walk. The old town is very niche and we thought this was the best place.
Woud we go again? No as we have been there and done that and with the Euro at 1.09 to the pound it's very expensive to eat out at a restaurant if you want to. I think he prices outside of the hotel and the exchange rate kill it. The hotel is OK for a shor break but desperately needs bringing up to date. The photos look nice but when yu get there you can see just how dated the place is.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pc2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We booked this hotel as part of a package, specifying to the travel agent that we wanted a basic three star hotel somewhere beside the sea. We were not disappointed. The hotel has a back door which exits right onto the cliffs and beaches of the Algarve! The room was clean and had a good balcony, with a lovely view. The food at the main eating area was a little bit plain, but you could eat as much as you wanted! The pool was cold but I'm sure if we had gone in summer it wouldn't have mattered. The staff at reception went out of their way to accomodate a problem I had with the airport company. I really came away from this holiday feeling like I had gotten a fantastic deal for the comparatively low price I had spent.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keefm2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

this is a lovely hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly, admitidly this is not a hotel for those with mobility problems as there are a lots of steps but my husband and i got around fine with 2yr old son and buggy and had a laugh doing so. the view at the rear of the hotel is gorgeous, looking out to sea. this is a nice quite hotel, no noise at night. the night time entertainment could do with a gee up as mostly guy on keyboard but even this raised a few titters as he kept dressing up in outfits that looked weather worn, ha ha. around the hotel you have the strip nearby, in summer would prob be hectic but we went in feb and was quite good. AVOID the english chippy on the top of hill by oura beach beach as big bloody rip off ,15 euros for fish and chips ha ha. food was good in hotel tho lunch is very repetetive

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank embarassed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I read on two different websites that this hotel has sauna, steam room and a gym. It has none of these so if these are high on your list of essential facilities DO NOT CHOSE this hotel. The indoor pool was also extremely small and over-run with children.
On a positive note it is located just steps away from a lovely sandy beach and they let me check in at 10:30 am instead of the stated 14:00 so I was grateful for that.
The breakfasts were very good, the lunch less so and unfortunately many of the guests definitely appeared on the greedy side. Long queues to buy a drink from the bar due to the "all inclusive" deals most of the guests seemed to have made. This also meant wines were served from large plastic vats and were poor quality. You could not buy other wines by the glass. A pain if travelling alone. No internet access unless you had your own laptop was also limiting. In summary this is a tired hotel which has definitely seen better days and I would not recommend to solo travellers or those looking for spa facilities but it was reasonably good value if you just need a base and want a beach holiday.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

I really liked it here. Its the biggest hotel Ive ever stayed in as we usually favour tiny little places, but I liked it anyway. It is a big 70s construction which is like its stuck in a time warp, but not in a bad way! Nothing has changed since its obvious heyday, but it is elegant and well looked after, and we found its 70s style quite endearing! It has a gorgeous private access beach, lovely hidden places to sit off, a huge pool and lovely garden area with sunbeds. We had a good week for weather and lots of people were tanning out there.
We stayed bed and breakfast but most guests were all inclusive (pointless with so many lovely restaurants around to try!) Anyway, we all had the all inclusive breakfast in the huge restaurant. The choice of a morning is massive. Bed and breakfast in our usual haunts is a coffee and a boiled egg...here we could eat till we popped and have something different everyday. I loved it! Staff all attentive. There was entertainment on everynight, really for the all inclusives I suppose. I wouldnt stay in especially for any of it though.
We hired a car at Faro airport and explored the Algarve and even drove to Spain!. A gorgeous fishing town called Isla Christina is just over the Spanish border less than an hour from Faro. Most of the food we ate was fabulous (with on exception which was due to lack of staff and a very low price!) The best meal came surprisingly from a place called Wild and Co, which advertises itself as an American grill, but is actually serving top quality Portuguese inspired steaks etc. I had a baked cod the likes of which Ive never tasted before, and the restaurant itself was very fancy. Another wonderful meal was had by the sea at Olhao, fish caught that day.
This is a pretty resort with lots to do if u get out of the hotel and find it. The beaches were all lovely. It has tempted me away from my usual choice of Greece, Id happily go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lissasviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

My husband and i stayed at the horramar for four weeks, had it not been for the people we met it would have the holiday from hell.When it rained you needed an umberella inside as well as outside. The staff with one or two exceptions were very rude and unhelpful. Our toilet cistern fell of the wall could not get reception t answer phone, so went down to tell them what had happened and receptionist couldnt understand what i was trying to tell her,wouldnt you think it would make sense to employ someone who could understand english.Food was very poor and always had to heat in microwave as was never very warm. several people had tummy upsets Entertainment was very poor Ive seen better entertainment at my grandsons school plays. My husband wanted to leave after 3days. Needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttytartcambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#128 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing