We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i really enjoyed the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #67 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i really enjoyed the hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2008

after reading such bad reviews i was dreading it,there was no need,there were good & bad points 1st the good,the food was really nice but kept repeating,the room was cleaned everyday,beds made everyday,they had staff to entertain kids day & night, entertainment every night,the sea view from our room was spectacular some of the staff friendly & a 2min walk to the beach,theres a tennis court,table tennis,crazy golf & a shop which was handy.Now the bad not many faults,the steps were hard work especially when you got a pushchair its not suitable for people with young children,or walking diffuilties,or disabled,some nights the entertainment was rubbish,& some of the staff were pig ignorant especially the skinny woman with short black hair behind the desk she has issues,but apart from there you couldnt fault it,id go again,oh the pool freezing cold but their is a indoor pool.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the steps
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank madmandylincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    1,093
    741
    349
    275
See reviews for
601
1,421
78
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Ok so it is a 3 star hotel,but surely they can do better than this.We stayed here for 10 days.The food was dreadful and the rooms,well where do I begin.Our sheets were not changed for the whole of our stay.The whole place wants a good lick of paint and complete refurbishment.(I thought they had done this!!) I used the phone in reception area to phone home, it cost me nearly £12-00 for 4 mins, what a rip off. Take my advice don't stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank welshlady47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Rooms gloomy, bars terrible, food was really bad. Nice location though.

Stayed June 2003
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenRowbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Firstly if youve booked this hotel - take no notice of the negative reviews on here - go and enjoy it! We were worried about some of the previous reviews but we were not let down by the hotel. Yes the internal bar and reception area could do with a bit of a make over, nothing a fresh lick of paint and an update of new furniture wouldnt solve! Apart from that we were happy with our lot. We had a huge end room with 2 baloconies and a sea view, fridge, air con, sky tv, clean towels and room cleaned everyday - what more could we want for our 2 week stay! You do afterall only sleep in your room, your out most of the day and you know what money youve paid and how many stars your getting. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We were b&b, there was a wide range of food for breakfast (better than previous hotels weve stayed in). There are alot of steps to the pool area and again to the beach and to your room, we had about 100 steps in total but it kept us fit! There are some ramps and flat areas to accomodate for people who are not so able bodied. There is a very well equipped shop in the hotel, selling everything from food, milk, water and chocolate to souveniers and gifts, it was very much like a local shop. We enjoyed the pool area, there are plenty of sun loungers (but you have to get down there early as the towel brigade must set their alarms for 7am to complete their sun lounger claiming mission!!!!) The hotel is great for kids, with aracade machines outside the indoor pool, table tennis, etc. We only attended the hotels evening entertainment once, we didnt bother again. If you are an all inclusive, happy to sit at the same bar with the same free drinks and very cheap entertainment every night then you will be in your element! For us though the rest of what the hotel had to offer was quite adaquate for our needs. The walk to the beach is about 10 mins down a sandy hill and some wooden steps. You are then onto a very secluded beach area which was lovely. You can walk across all the beaches to the old town (as long as the sea is not in, which can turn out to be of an adventure!!!) The walk to the strip is about 10-15 mins. A taxi to the strip costs 4 euros. The strip is a long road where all the bars and restaurants are. The atmosphere is fantastic for both young and old. You can catch a small bus from the strip (look like a small train) to the Old Town for 4 euros return, 2 euros single. They run every 10 mins and the service is excellent. Best restaurants and bars on the Strip; The Chilli, The Kilt and Kelt, El Rancho and Windsurf. We were disappointed by the restaurants in the old town, the food was a let down in most places, but the worst of all was Doce Jardin (Sweet Garden) placed on the square in the old town. They served me gone off chicken then tried to charge me for it when i returned it because i had taken a bite out of it!!!!!! I was treated with such contempt at daring to complain about their food!!!! Unbelievable I would urge you not to go there. Their service was appauling! I would however recommend the BANK, just off the square in the old town - very nice food and drink. Whether your part of a package deal or not, its worth noting that you can get some really good deals on boat trips etc. The Marina is quite far out (about a 1 hour walk from the hotel towards and past the Old Town). But worth it once you reach it. It was lovely and quiet and only cost us 18 euros each to book a place on a boat leaving that evening for a tour around the beaches and rocks and a swim in the sea. There is a huge gypsie market in Queteria every Wednesday, again you can save money by catching a bus at the top of the Strip (next to the taxi rank). We caught the 8.40am bus and it only cost 8 euros for both of us to get there. We heard that package deals were charging 20 euros per person! Its definately a place to haggle and the news on the street it if you pay over 5 euros for anything youve been had! So you have been warned.
All in all and to wrap up this mammoth review, our stay was a very good one, Albufiera is delightful and we would recommend this hotel for anyone who is easy going and doesnt expect too many luxuries.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Seb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whatthedeuce
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

arrived at the hotel Tuesday 08th July. We were given the key to our room 412 block D. I was very disappointed to find our room did not have a proper "sea view" as when I booked the room a number of months ago online. I did pay an extra cost for this.There was a huge tree right in front of the balcony.You could see the sea if you went to one side of the balcony and stuck your head right over!(a very obstructed sea view)! I did not complain as by the time we arrived we were very tired after a long flight delay and wait at the airport. I just wanted to get on with our family holiday and I do not normally complain, I did feel however in this case the need to send an email and voice my fustrations to the website I booked on 1800hotels.ie .

Breakfast included in the price of the hotel was supposed to be served between 8-10am in the morning. It seems the hotel does not put any more food out after around 9.15. A couple of mornings we arrived for breakfast at 9.30 to find any empty tables in the restaurant have not been cleared. The waiters wait until all guests are gone before clearing the tables. We had to sit at dirty tables and go off and try to find our own knives, forks, spoons etc for whatever food was left(usually just bread and fruit). You had no chance whatsoever of finding a clean cup to have a cup of coffee with your breakfast. It was a complete "rat race" every morning in the breakfast hall so we stopped going and had to start buying our breakfast outside the hotel as it was too difficult with a 1 year old every day.

The hotel is supposed to have a kids playground and a kids club. This was quite important to me as my daughter is nearly two years of age. There was indeed a kids slide children could get to by climbing up like a dangerous ladder. It was unshaded and the slide would burn an adults skin to touch. Needless to say I never once saw any child using it for the whole week. I think its a bit much to call it a "kids playground" in the hotel description.(there was another playground onsite, this was locked and reserved for guests wearing a green wristband as part of a "holiday club")

The staff at the hotel were unwilling to help you whatsoever. We felt uncomfortable asking them to order us a taxi or ask gereral advice about the resort itself. They were often very rude and unfriendly.

As most of the guests at the hotel were German guests, the nightly entertainment was spoken in German(with very few English words here and there) and again you had no chance of getting a table or a drink at the bar anyway in the evening to watch the entertainment.

I would like to finish by saying I understand going to the Algarve in the middle of July is going to be very busy but there is no excuse for what we went through on holiday at this hotel over the last week.

There was very few Irish guests at the hotel. The resort itself on the strip is pure tack. If however you have already booked this hotel and are now reading the reviews I would suggest to get a taxi from the hotel every night to "old town" it cost 5 euro and is well worth it it is alot nicer there...also villamora is alot more upper class much nicer restaurants, better food and surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatthedeuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

stayed at the Auramar for ten days, cracking holiday, the hotel caters for most things, good pool area, good access to the beach, beautiful views, restaurant and food areas very good, quite a few steps to climb here and there so you need to be quite fit and agile, especially going to the beach via the Auramar's private access route

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — night time entertainment
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HarleyDavidsonSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Just returned from 9 days at this hotel. On arrival we checked in with no problems and told where the lifts were. We stayed in block A on the top floor and had a better view than we imagined for the price we paid. We only had B & B which we were pleased about. There were a lot of guest on fully inclusive but we met most outside hotel in evenings up the strip. You could only order one drink at a time in a small glass and there was a queue most times. We never drank in hotel, only water during the day round the pool. The room was adequate, had a fridge which was a good bonus, bathroom clean, towels changed daily, beds changed in week and were quite comfy. Swimming pool good size but mainly deep, had small section cut off for the 5' and unders and those that couldnt swim, very cold in it though. Close to beach, although rather a lot of steps and not suitable for walking problems or young children or the elderly. The old town had great atmosphere as did the strip. Strip about 10 mins walk away, Old Town was a taxi job, but only 5 euros so good value. Hotel a little out the way, nothing much surrounding it but you get what you pay for. If you want to be closer to old town then pay another £300 each for week, is it really worth it !! How long are you in your room for. All in all, had a good holiday and would return. As previously mentioned, there are a few cats, but only saw 4 and 2 kittens, not a problem if you like animals and they do move quick when you pass them. If you have booked this hotel, dont worry, go and enjoy it, we did, great weather too and fairly close to airport, 30 mins in taxi. If you are thinking of booking it, just have bed and breakfast and dont go fully inc.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Little out the way from shops, bars etc
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelseabeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#120 of 154 in Albufeira
2,767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#34 of 154 in Albufeira
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing