We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's really not that bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #71 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's really not that bad”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I have just arrived back from a weeks stay with my mum and 11 year old son . Ok so the famous sickness bug that everyone writes about none of us got it and only heard of one person being ill whilst we were there. I felt sick whilst there twice but if I'm honest I think this was just due to not drinking enough water as after some water I was a lot better. The smell in reception is noticeable when it's been raining I think this is just due to the towels they lay on the floor to soak up any water leaks. The food was good I would say they always have something for everyone. Breakfast was varied some days there was bacon and fried eggs other days this would be scrambled eggs with other things there was always plenty of bread,cereal , cold meats and cheese. Lunch is at the pool bar with a variety of choice the only downside of lunch was sitting outside and listening to the seagulls squawk for food doesn't help when people are feeding them!!!! Dinner is also a good variety of food you won't go hungry. The entertainment is picking up now the 2 girls that do the entertainment are fantastic they do a variety for adults and kids through the day and at night do free face painting for an hour and then a kid's disco. After that the entertainment was something different every night we all enjoyed the lady Gaga tribute. I would recommend getting the free bus into the old town and you can walk from there back to the hotel along the beach . The hygiene seems to have picked up a bit there is hand sanitiser outside restaurants however I did notice a lot of people walking past them!!!! Just laziness really the hotel can only do so much we have to do so much ourselves too. There are steps you can't really avoid them but through exploring you will find easier routes with a few less steps. The pathway from the hotels gate down to the beach is a hill and is uneven ground but the hotel is on a cliff if you won't manage the uneven hill just don't use it . We done one trip to zoomarine I would highly recommend this especially if you have kids the animal shows are fab we ate in the park I wouldn't say it was that expensive they done a kids burger meal and we just too our own water . Overall this hotel is good yes it has a few faults but it's not that bad just give it a chance its your holiday enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pinktartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    1,071
    735
    343
    273
See reviews for
586
1,398
77
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just arrived back from a weeks stay at the auramar beach resort, After arriving at the hotel 10:30pm reception were more than helpful checking us in and explaining that we could get a snack in the restaurant, room was clean.

Food was good never went hungry there was something for everyone, soft drinks weren't upto much not your usual all inclusive drinks was local cheap versions but was ok I suppose, only thing was the mile treck down too the bar I think there should have been more than one bar opened!

Location - the location of the hotel was great close to the strip and the beach was lovely for a wee stroll!

Regarding the Noro virus we were a party of 7 and not one of us was ill.

The staff were pleasant and helpful epescially mishell the waitor! All in all was a great holiday and defiantly value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minniemouse1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just got back from a 4night break. The hotel was much better than expected especially as so many reviews have proved to be so 'untrue'. Our room was clean, the hotel staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. The food was basic but tasty and as this hotel is only a 3* we didn't expect much more. The gardens and pool area were well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 904JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay in this hotel. We stayed in March and were all ill with the virus I was in bed for 4 days. We were told the Eng,lush tourists were to blame. Disgusting our rom was dirty it should have been deep cleaned its no wonder everyone in the hotel was I'll.The DR was in the hotel all the time.THe reception staff are rude and the only bar you could get a drink from was down a million steps. No entertainment team nothin
Stay away

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank picklfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was really impressed this is definitely a 3 star hotel. I stayed in A block room 303, spacious and clean and comfy bed. Hotel reception was clean although there was a distinct smell in there but not sure this could be helped. Shop was well stocked. Drinks and food really good value for the money. Yes I could see how the seagulls could be a problem but people need to stop feeding them!! There seemed plenty to do at this hotel. I was overall very satisfied and had a nice time.

Room Tip: ask to stay in A block
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank connj35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights from 1st april with a party of 8. Our rooms in A block were basically clean and very spacious and the views were wonderful over the sea. Seagulls were a problem especially when people brought food outside and they did swim in the pool. Food was generally okay but there could have been more choice. Staff were really friendly and courteous and couldnt do enough for you. The main reception area did smell of dirty dogs and dampness but we only walked through that area so it didnt bother us much. We did spot the hand sanitisers on second day and used them but it would have been nice to have been told about them first. One of our party did suffer with severe sickness bug on third day and we did report it but nothing much was said however they did ring room to enquire about them.

Room Tip: 'A' block overlooks sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KH288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Well ! Would like to comment on this , give a real honest opinion ! But was told on arriving , sorry they virus in hotel , we try tell u not to come , refund me , but never told till arrived in airport in Portugal , told stay away , so placed in another hotel for 10 days , at my disappointment ,takes me time looking at hotels to plan good holiday to be told , we change it ' but made me laugh , 10 days later , bus pick up , called in this hotel to pick others up ! Nice one !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank richiesnowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAO S, Guest Relations Manager at Auramar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Customer

We regret the fact that your holidays have not lived up to your expectations, and you do not have enjoyed conveniently our hotel unit.

As you know, in the period in which you were staying at our hotel, the occupancy level was 480 clients, of which only 2 or 3, on average, were affected by the same symptoms. Therefore, less than 1% of customers in the Hotel.

Still, as a form of screening, all our food and drink is examined daily under the HACCP program by a certified external company, and all the results of these analyzes did not reveal any pathogens.

From the moment we became aware of the first case, all the measures recommended in the manual of the Tour Operators Federation ( FTO) were implemented.

Once again, sorry for all the inconvenience, your review has been greatly appreciated , and er hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel and provide you with a pleasant stay.

Alexandre Garcia

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#128 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing