We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel is spotless clean we stayed 23 to 30 nov 2012, most staff good just a couple need customer relations training, food could be better could be warmer there are microwaves but i worked in catering and now you should never warm pork or chicken back up, the hotest food was soup which was lovely, i stuck to salads mostly, some people did go down with food poisoning from burgers which were still pink in middle, the maid was brilliant cleaned and changed towels every day in our room, the location is good if you walk along beach it takes 15ish mins to old town square, or there is a free bus twice a day, you can walk road way takes roughly 45mins not good if your unsteady walking or disabled though, not much entertainment bird show & reptile show not much else , would not say it was 4* though, but we enjoyed our stay as we like it quiet anyway would stay again but on b & b not half board it true what they say you get what you pay for , much nicer food at restaraunts in old town, if you book any trips they are much cheaper at ticket office at to of the road

Room Tip: we had a room on 4th floor with sea view it was lovley
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmb0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,923)
There are newer reviews for Auramar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,721 - 1,727 of 2,923 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went here in April for 3 nights, the weather was pretty bad so we stayed in alot. We asked for 2 rooms together but noticed as the lady was processing the paper work; me and my sister were in block C but my mum and baby brother in block D... my mum complained and so we got 2 rooms next to each other. We departed to our rooms and I must say there were quite a few steps/stairs? We couldn't see a lift anywhere but didn't mind carrying our cases as we only had hand luggage. Our rooms were basic but in a good way, nothing gross nor anything spectacular but I have had much worse in claimed 4 star hotels. There were 2 double beds, sliding wardrobe, bathroom (standard too), dining table with chairs and a desk with TV. We also had a little private balcony which overlooked a mini-golf course and some of the beach. It was very cold when we visited so we had the air-con on but my dopey sister had it on frost mode all night so we woke up very COLD and confused haha, when we changed it the rooms were lovely and warm. The walls must be quite thick as we were trying to bang on it to get my brother to respond from the next room and they didn't hear us. We headed to the beach after which is literally on the doorstep! you open the private gate and go down some steps (not recommended with buggy/young kids as slopey) which was quite an ordeal as my sister decided to wear wedges and fell all over the place but it was quite funny for us to watch. The pool was very cold but HUGE and plenty of sunbeds but again, we visited April so didn't use. The food was lovely, was really a hit with us there was fresh fish, king prawns, pasta and the other usual. With the drinks, you don't get them yourself; you have to order them from the waiter/ess but you don't have to pay and they don't seem particularly bothered if you order more than 2 rounds. There is an old man at the restaurant who was really cute he knew it was our mum's birthday and had a cake planned for us (without asking!). The entertainment was very jaw dropping... the dancing ladies wore quite revealing outfits but we were just jealous I guess because they had no cellulite haha! get there early though because all the seats go and you end up standing (some people even had the cheek to ask us to move out of their view whilst they were sitting, nice) Staff were friendly & nice. The lobby was also a wine bar type space but it smelt abit like moudly milk, we don't know why?! it made us laugh though. The alcoholic drinks were okay it was fun testing them all out... some tasted like a chemical spillage in a cup and a few were quite tasty :) I found them VERY strong but my mum thought it normal.

Overall it was a fun holiday, the weather ruined it for us but we enjoyed the hotel, nothing majorly exciting or disgusting - just a standard hotel. Also if your going into 'the strip' be wary of drunk wierdo's trying to dance with you and a whole village of promoters luring you into their bars/pubs and offering to babysit your 8 year old whilst you go for a 'few'?! No thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beccie-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I thought this hotel was fantastic for what we paid. The location is really good.The pool looks out onto the beach which you can get to down a few stairs, if you take a 15 min stroll down the beach you come to the old town (fantastic market) and if you out of the front entrance of the hotel and walk 5 min your into the strip. Lots of lovely places to eat, drink and if you want go to a few clubs! The staff at the hotel are great, never any queuing for drinks at night when the entertainment is on like in most all inclusive hotels. The entertainment finishes at 11 and is ok whilst having a few drinks before hitting the town (parrot shoes, belly dancers,singing ect)
There are 2 large pools and 2 baby pools and a childrens play area. Theres a spa and sauna and sports through the day to take part in.
Whilst in Portugal we went to the water park which was fun and a quading trip (waste of money and very boring, dont bother with it).
The food at the hotel is ok but not fantastic, pretty repetitive (lots of fish) but there is a large selection of drinks in with your all inclusive. The waitresses are very very friendly, always smiling and wanting to help! All in all in would defo recommend this hotel and will most certainly be going back!
P.S Watch out for the very vocal gulls that live at the hotel some found them annoying, i found them very entertaining :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jasmineprince2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a week here 10th - 17th November. Hotel clean. Food always something. Didn't think to much of the mixers used for your drinks it was Flat . So a very sober week. Could count in 1 hand how many drinks I had in Hotel. Would I go back Prob if price was right. Good for cheap week away. Location was amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is quite old and shabby, it could do with being done up. But if you can look past this, it is clean and spacious which is what is important. The room was lovely and big with two balconies overlooking the sea. The food was alright, a bit samey, and not many drinks were actually 'all-inclusive'. In January it was colder than I expected, but the indoor pool area was a nice little suntrap. The outdoor pool looked lovely, such a shame it was too cold to use! The property backs right onto the beach with its own path down, and the beach was lovely. The hotel provided a complimentary bus service into Albufeira town centre three times a day. The staff were generally very helpful and special mention has to go to the kind barman who went above and beyond in helping us on our last night. My Mum and returned from a wonderful day's excursion to Gibraltar and had to investigate our transfers arrangement as I had tried to call to get a pick-up time 24 hours in advance as advised. It turned out the company had gone out of business a few days before. We panicked. The helpful receptionist offered to book us another transfer, but unfortunately we had to pay in cash and didn't have enough euros left. There weren't any cash machines nearby so the very kind barman drove us around Albufeira looking for one! This act of kindness pushed our experience of this hotel up to four stars.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
8  Thank GlasgowChocaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel is very clean and in a good location but food and drink quality let it down big time. 5 of us were there for 4 nights and ended up going to the supermarket for our drinks and didn't bother going to restaurant after our first day. Cheap juice that was flat and out of a bottle was terrible spirits, lager and cocktails were terrible too. Most staff were very nice and helpful. Felt sorry for a lot of elderly people who had to walk up and down loads of stairs to go to bar during the day. I would only use this hotel if you could book on a self catering basis.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I spent two weeks here on All Inclusive at end of October.We couldnt fault the clenliness of our room and the rest of the hotel.We had very heavy rain on several occasions and the covered walkway from reception to the restaurant leaked badly so they just laid down towels,rugs and old curtains to soak up the water.Several people had leaks in their rooms and were told the maid would leave extra towels to soak up the water and they would move them when a room came free!The food at breakfast and dinner was as I expected for a 3* hotel although it could have been hotter.Lunch was only available from the pool bar(more like a canteen) not much choice and if it rained you got soaked getting there as you have to access it down several flights of outside steps.My main bugbear was that you could only get coffee/tea during the day from the pool bar which was a long way to go and it was then served in a disposable plastic flexible cup!.The location was good,staff mostly helpfull and overall it was not a bad holiday but for not much effort or expense it could be vastly improved.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenalan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#122 of 154 in Albufeira
2,893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $33 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing