We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get what you pay for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

just home 5 hours ago from this hotel,staff were lovely rooms were clean as was the whole hotel,wouldent book it as all inclusive again ,drink was awful,so bad i went tea total for the week,food well good and bad ,spent a whole day in bed due to being very sick ( seemed commen met few guests that were ill ) but nice hotel would return ,but on self catering

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    1,036
    715
    335
    260
See reviews for
562
1,350
72
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Found the staff really friendly especially Alina the waitress she was fantastic, plenty of sun beds and lots of room around the pool.
Food was typical for all inclusive bit repetitive but was edible.
Very good value holiday for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johnnyboy750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

having visted portugal earlier this year we chose this place after viewing it from the coastal path that runs just outside the hotel grounds it looked good. it is good we went all inclusive it cost us £550.00 for 2 including flights and transfers found on the internet . now i read some of the reviews by some disigruntled customers. now if it cost them a grand a week i would be upset. but if you can get in at my price. or. i would probably pay 400 in high season each. its great value the pools great the rooms are good the views are stunning the location gives you the best of albufiera by being close to the old town. or the strip if your in full party mode, and all the beer and food you can eat its right on the beach 50yrds from the hotel pool the hotel provides a bus service too into town free now the bad bit i dont think it is suitable for any one with disabilities i.e wheel chairs ect due to the hotels teired design. but there where plenty of active pensioners there if you can walk up your own stairs at home youl be fine . and it is a clean dated palace

Room Tip: stay in block d on the top floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank donnysoul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mold, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Read the reviews, quite apprehensive, need not have been.
People say its dated, it is an older hotel, but when you see others around the area it is a positive palace, the staff keep this hotel very clean and obviously take pride in their environment.
The hotel has its own lovely beach and pool that is kept clean at all times. The rooms are basic, but the level of cleanliness is very good, daily maid service and towel change. We were given a kitchenette, which came in useful for extra coffees etc.
The rooms are basic but comfortable, there are no hairdryers or plug sockets in the bathroom, so make sure you pack a hairdryer. Beach towels not provided, but more than enough loungers to cater for everyone.
The food was very very good.Breakfast had full range of hot and cold dishes, cereals, etc. Lunch was in the pool bar, but again several choices of hot and cold dishes. The evening meal was impressive on a daily basis, choices of beef, chicken, fish, duck, pork, turkey and the list goes on, I really do not understand people who criticise the level of catering provided, unless they are used to living off burgers and nuggets, the food was very tasty, fresh and careful planning of dishes. The restaurant itself is large and comfortable, the waiting on staff are very attentive, but not in your face.
The staff generally were mature and very considerate. They were more than willing to make your stay comfortable and it really was genuine responses that we recieved.
One word of caution, the room keys are very small and you have to pay 10 euros deposit for them, tricky little things that can be lost easily.
The hotel is reasonably close to the night life, but not close enough to be bothered by it.
The mix of guests at the hotel, ranged from young adults, through to OAP's, and the atmosphere was quite pleasant.
As a family we would definately go back to this hotel, but not at the end of october, one day of sunshine, grrr, but even though the weather was poor, the holiday was really nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shani t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just got back from this hotel, just myself and my daughter on all incluisive basis, we had a really good time.

The positives; The best thing was location right next to the strip for the night life (savannah's defo the best has the most friendly staff and good DJ)
You must keep hold of your bag as there is a hell of a lot of stealing,I could not believe how many people got stuff stolen from the strip) The hotel is right on the beach also.
Food was good and plentiful there were a lot of stuff the same however there was always one new addition each meal, you can ask for a pack lunch as well for late on and that was nice,The Larger nice and OMG the spirit measures Massive (be careful) there are a few cocktails but not frozen ones which I prefer.
The indoor pool was so warm there was an indoor sauna, jacuzzi, steam room all free (was bad weather when we were there)

Negatives; There are a lot of steps if you cant walk far, The all inc starts at 11am finishes at 11pm. There is only local pop (Rola Cola ect) we went in October half term and there were que's for drinks and food and sunbeds so i would imagine in peak this to be bad. The Wifi is expensive so we went into town for that. There is no hairdryer in the room and few plugs also room quite dark.
General; Rooms a bit dated like but were clean we were in B Block which was ok. Staff were ok Bar staff really friendly, Entertainment was so bad was good.Take your own towel as even with All inc there are non provided. All in all we paid £800 for 2 in half term and I reckon we were overcharged. I would say if you could get a good deal on this and dont expect to much but clean cheap and cheerful with great location. 3 star would be fair.

Room Tip: Block B gave us a sea view, was near reception but very far from beach and pool. There are no room u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joanne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you pay 3* prices you get 3* quality.
The hotel is nice enough, convenient for walking to the strip 10 mintues away, and runs buses 3 times a day to Old Albufiera, but taxis are only 5E to go there anyway. Staff are friendly enough.
If mobility is an issue there are several stairs to overcome.
And if you enjoy all inclusive and drinking their local coffees, spirits, beer, and soft drinks in plastic cups and using cutlery I would expect an 8 year old child to use, I take my hat off to you.
Food is nothing special either in selection or quality.
But the rooms have a tv and a fridge in them and there is a small indoor swimming pool which is ideal as it rained most of the week I was there recently.
The evening entertainment is varied although it did take an hour to pay ONE book of bingo as they shouted this in a number of languages.
There is a gym but with only 5 rather dated pieces if equipment.
What you really need to watch is CAR HIRE is this area if you go for this area. Make sure that the insurance, breakdown cover, fuel charges and provisions for the toll roads are covered before you sign up to anything.
Booked online with a firm rentalcars.com including insurance cover which led me to a firm callled GUERIN at Faro. That's when the problems started.
We expect to pay for the fuel we use but not with GUERIN. You MUST pay them 90 Euros for fuel or you don't get the car. There are no refunds regardless of the fuel you use.
Whatever insurance cover you have is of no importance to them. If you don't pay them a further 110 Euros you don't get the car. Everything is designed to bully you into parting with more money and I listened to other persons hiring cars having the same issues. When I eventually refused to take on an extra insurance they would only part with the car if I signed a form of security authorising them to take 1,480 Euros from my account should the car be damaged. As it was in the evening I had no option or I would have lost the money I invested initially in the car hire and insurance cover.
And it didn't end there. If I didn't take their insurance, if the car that THEY gave ME broke down, I had to pay THEM 300 Euros to get someone to attend and fix it.
Furthermore...............As the main highway on the south of Portugal is the A22, a motorway, it has Tolls and GUERIN insist that you but a swipe card from them which you use at the Tolls as these don't take money. I refused and during the week didn't use that motorway.
I have complained to the car hire company and although they deny the bullying tactics they acknowledge that the charges listed are standard.
The bottom line is the hotel is adequate. If you want better quality you need to pay for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PD7323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went as a couple on a four day break, flying from Bournemouth in mid-October. Having read other reviews we were a bit anticipant. We paid £187 each for AI inc flights & transfer.
Arrived at hotel around midnight, after shuttle from airport. The man on reception was helpful & courteous, although we weren't down as AI on their records, I soon sorted that. We were in D block/3rd floor with sea view & view of phallic themed crazy golf.
The next morning was gloriously sunny, and missed the crowds by having an 8am brekky. We thought the choice of hot & cold was good, although the "hot" water for tea, wasn't that hot. Scrambled & boiled eggs, bacon, hot-dog sausages, tomatoes, cheese, hams, yoghurts, cereals - it was all there.
Took the free shuttle to Old Town & enjoyed the shops & bars, and a walk along the lovely beach.
Back for a pm sit around the pool (unheated by the way) and relax with our free drinkys.
Lager/beer ok - you get used to it but the wine in the pool bar is dire!! Avoid unless youve lost your taste buds - so we had vodka & gin etc mixers & odd cocktail.
Lunch/afternoon meal was in the pool bar
Evening buffet was very good with wide choice of hot & cold.Mains consisted of turkey/pork/chicken/beef in all sorts of cmbi's. Pasta, rice, potatoes. Brill choice.
You could have carafes of wine but this was much better & actually tasted q good. Another shout out for Alina - not only was she there at breakfast, she was in the pool bar at lunch & back in the restaurant at night giving excellent friendly service!!
Evening in the other bar. Organist was pretty poor but at the same time entertaining. Next night was a dance cabaret. For local tastes only though!!
It did rain all day next day so went to old Town again.Some roof leaks in annexe to reception & the indoor pool, but hey ho, we still enjoyed it.
More sun & showers later in week.
In conclusion, a great short break, good food & drink (except the pool bar wine). Rooms spacious and bed comfy - dated, yes, but how long do you spend in there?? Bathroom clean & tidy.
Yes there are steps all around but we didnt find it to much of a struggle. It certainly didn't put us off walking around the site. What do you expect in a hotel built on/in a cliffside location??
Only problem we had is that we returned to our room one afternoon at around 2:40 it had not been cleaned etc. Girl on reception was a bit 'off' & made me smile with her thick Portugese accent but still managed to add in '..well my love its like this..' Classic.

Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Block D top 2 floors & a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarnesAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#130 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varandas de Albufeira
Varandas de Albufeira
#144 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing