We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very impressed !!!!!!!.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“very impressed !!!!!!!.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My Husband and i have returned from a 15 night duration at this Hotel.

Having scanned through the previous comments, i will be honest i went with an open mind and was pleasantly suprised.

The Hotel... Very large and spread out, superb location set within the cliff, did remind me of thunderbirds headquarters, probably showing our ages there.
the rooms are spacious, clean, but do need an update of which im sure will come along with an increase in price.
The towels are changed daily, and the room services, we stayed in D207 a side view of the sea, lovely to get you off to sleep on an evening. that and the sangria in the restaurant rather tasty, but downstairs in the dancing bar a different mix.
Meals....
Breakfast, served main restaurant selection cerials, cooked breakfast yoghurts, fresh fruit ( The fruit is wonderfully tasty,
Brunch/Lunch Pool Bar restaurant drinks from 11am food from 12pm salads, fish soups, yes burgers and chips, cooked meats, pasta dishes, kebabs, fresh fruit, cakes, jellies.
Evening meal; Main restaurant once seated the waiter/ress will come and take your order for drinks a big thumbs up for wonderful Alina, what a grafter and always with a smile. food selection varies each evening, and you will find something whether veg/ or big meat eater.
Entertainment; Each evening their is a piano player, not fantastic but is ok, the entertainment differs from 9pm from parrot shows, lizard shows, salsa, kareoke prob the best night, bingo playing one card with a cocktail stick, and in many languages be keen to listen as easily loose track, worth playing as 1 line lovely AI cocktail, full house lovely (Not Champagne) must of been bad as girls on a hen weekend didn't drink it.

This hotel caters for all ages, it is not noisy, lower class, very nice people. treat others as you would like to be treated i say and give respect to gain it back with the locals, of which are lovely.

Mobility;
The Hotel provides a shuttle bus but it is a small bus, and often has to make a few trips, word of advice get in line early.
Or if able to do so head down the path ( quite awkward but very able to get down as many elderley was doing so) once on the beach you can walk to the old townin 15 min strole on the beach far nicer and healthier to work all the food off.

We did stay AI, but friends did stay Half Board and wished they had done so.
Plenty of sun beds, the pools are cold but many braved the cold and took a dip.
mobility; there is ramps and lifts to floors, but the hotel is spaced out, maybe become tiring pushing a wheelchair.
The main strip we walked in 10 min, we are 40 years plus and found all ages visit this area, just head slightly further into the strip.
Ladies word of advice to wear wedges or flat sandals, due to the structure of the footpaths little square cobbles.

I would visit this hotel without a doubt, but if i gave the hotel advice it would be to not charge 5 euro for internet per hour this should be free, and to look further into it's disability access, but a lovely relaxing holiday thank you auramar will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank yorkie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    1,061
    726
    342
    264
See reviews for
578
1,375
74
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

visited this hotel 7 years ago and the decline in standards is significant: the hotel is clean mostly but has the awful aroma of vomit!! - maybe the cleaning fluids?
We booked B&B for a cheap week and had breakfast only once and it was vile! hotdog sausages (slimy on the inside and rubbery on the outsides)
location is gorgeous - on the cliffs and a short walk to the Strip and Old Town,
we would highly recommend the Chilli Pepper outside the hotel for breakfast for 4 euros and service with a smile !
the rooms are clean but beds are so uncomfortable that we almost cried with relief to get back into our own!
ask for a kettle at reception if you want a cuppa - or take a travel kettle as theirs take about 15 minutes to boil.....

you have to pay the reception 50 cents for calling a cab - unreal......

we WONT be going back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

pfuller55
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and check-in was done in a matter of minutes. Our room was clean and a good size, beds and pillows comfy and we had been left a carton of drink, fruit and a sandwich as we had missed dinner which was a nice thought. The bathroom was clean and the shower worked well, towels nice and fluffy. We were half board and the food in the restaurant was only OK, breakfast was the worse with not much choice of hot food. In the evening we didn't go down until about 20:30 and things had run out and not being replaced. What was left was a bit dried up but hot!!! The pool area had lots of beds and chairs, the pool was very cold and didn't look particular clean.
Overall this hotel was just alright for our short break but would not return.....when it rained then lots of the windows, doors and even roofs leaked so loads of constant mopping up...just hope for good weather!! Don't go to this hotel if you have walking difficulties as there are loads of steps you cannot request a room which you would not have to use steps. The position is good right by the beach and about a 10 min walk to the 'strip'.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank pfuller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ok. I've been reading a lot of reviews of this hotel and one thing is abundantly clear. The type of person giving this resort 5 stars is obviously an egg and chip eating lager lout more concerned with the strength of the alcohol being served and the quality of the karaoke than an enjoyable and restful holiday in the sun/sanitary and healthy conditions!

Yes its cheap, but you are still paying upwards of £450 of your money for a service and you'd at least expect edible food, a clean table (or even a free table at all!!!) and staff who don't look as if they could go for you should you dare to utter a single word to them!! Chips and garlic bread for breakfast?! To me that is absurd but its probably the ideal hangover cure to the majority of the guests who overindulged at the "Dancing Bar" the night before.

We literally just slept there and spent most of our time in the Old Town which itself is a bit of a dayglow nightmare! We did however find a lovely restaurant called Bailote with fantastic food and very nice waiting staff and I honestly think if it wasn't for this little gem this would have been the holiday from hell.

Be warned, Read the other less scathing reviews but my advise would be to shop around. My girlfriend lived in Spain for some time and tells me that it is nowhere near as run down and dilapidated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from the Auramar Beach Resort and our general feelings towards the hotel have been very negative. We were never made to feel welcome by the staff and the general quality of the facilities was poor.

On the plus side, it was extremely cheap which gave us the option of eating in the nicer restaurants in the old town. The room was also, on the whole, relatively clean but very basic (to be expected for the price).

On arrival, the first thing that hit us was the overwhelming, pungent and unpleasant smell from the hotel lobby. The staff where borderline friendly but almost every request came with a monetary charge. For example, we where charged 50c to phone a taxi each time. Every resort I have stayed in in the past has done this as an act of courtesy for their paying guests.

The food was horrifically bad. The 'breakfast' comprised of mushy looking pieces of meat that I suppose you could compare to hot dog sausages, orange, rubbery scrambled eggs and chips. The cereal options literally tasted like cardboard and the milk was warm. The best and safest option for your health was the bread rolls or the toast. The dining room itself was overcrowded and not once in 6 days did we have a clean table and often there wasn't enough food to go round. There were certainly not enough staff for the size of the room. These staff when approached were rude, abrupt and deeply unhelpful.

In short, you get what you pay for and if this is a 3 star hotel, the auramar is certainly at the lower end of what constitutes as 3 star. For the price paid, you will expect your stereotypical British tourist - football colours, loud and crass language and groups of them drinking as soon as breakfast has finished. I would not recommend the Auramar to friends and I certainly would not return.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiobhanT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October.
Hotel is very dated but clean and comfortable. The only sound we heard at night was the waves. I think it's a bit too far out to appeal to the younger crowd so it was lovely and peaceful.

A ten minute walk takes you to the strip if you fancy a change of scenery. Beautiful scenic pool area overlooking a lovely beach but the walk down to the beach is very steep so be careful.

Food was very average buffet style food. Our only complaint was the all inclusive drinks package. Everything tasted like water (except the red wine which was served from a huge vat and I'm convinced it was a bit of everything mixed together - Yuk)! All served in plastic cups (like you get from a water cooler) except the tea and coffee which was served in polysterene cups.

We got a last minute bargain so certainly wouldn't complain but don't pay too much for this hotel or you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliebee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Recently had a 9 night AI stay in a group of 3 couples. Considering the price (£450) it was an absolute bargain. Yes, the rooms were dated, but they were spotlessly clean. Rosa, our maid, did a fab job, we had clean towels virtually everyday and the beds changed at least 3 times. The room was quite large, in block C and had pool and sea views.
The double room was 2 beds pushed together which seems to be standard these days. Beds were not too bad and I certainly slept well.
There are 3 pools of which one is indoors. The pools were not busy- even with the sun out they were absolutely freezing! The large pool is very large...and very deep at 3.2 metres.
The food was ok during the day, a little 'samey' but not bad. The evening choice however, was great. There were always several meat dishes which my husband raved about, the salad was good. As a vegetarian there was always 3 choices, it was mainly pasta, but tasty.
As we were a larger group, they arranged a set table for us which was just for our use for the duration of our holiday. A massive rave for Alina who was a fab waitress. She shone out with her ready smile, attentive nature and polite/pleasant manner. The rest of the staff should take note - the bar staff in the Dancing Bar were rude, uninterested and talked to holidaymakers in grunts. They need some lessons in customer service.
The evening entertainment was nothing to shout about. Karaoke night seemed to be the most popular. We found a great live band at the Wild & Co bar - best bar on there. It was about a 15 minute walk to the strip.
Overall, it was bang on for the price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Simnetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#128 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#61 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing