We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed September 28, 2012

just back from auramar the hotel rooms are very basic but cleaned every day. with towels changed every day.there are alot of stairs to the pool area. meals repetative,drinks served in plastic cups all the time . it would have been nice to have glasses in the evening.walk along beach to albufeira old town was good.we had very hot weather and enjoyed our stay but would not go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennethandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,926)
There are newer reviews for Auramar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 2,926 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from the worst holiday ever food was cold and boaring same every night chips with every thing even breakfast?Entertaiment was shocking Bingo was main entertainment one night if your 70 plus great. This hotel caters for German customers mainly English are a second consideration at best.Rooms are very dated no aircon in any public areas only one bar open at any one time so every one trying to get served at once not much fun standing in line waiting to be told you can have one drink at any one time.Dont go to this hotel use your time and look around for a better one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

just back from the auramar the hotel rooms are basic and clean and we had a fantastic view, we were in d block, yes there is a lot of stairs so be warned! the food was nice and varied always found something to eat. we were all inclusive but we chose to buy a bottle of wine at night as it was much nicer and only cost 5 euro after a 30% discount for all inclusives. The only thing that lets it down is the lack of entertainment it's so dated we even had a lizard show one night!! shame it could have been great if they had made more effort. you must try the indian restaurant the clay oven at the bottom of the strip it's amazing and good value too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

we are going next June. We were in Portugal 2 years ago. Could some one tell me if this hotel is across from McDonalds. Or where it is near
We r taking our baby she will be 19 n a half months. We loved Portugal when we were there and we r excited about taking our baby girl. We got friendly with the Ppl who own the suits bar. Looking forward to seeing them again and their kids xx

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claireandmaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Auramar hotel this August from the 20th-30th, and we were quite frankly horrified with what we had paid for. The holiday cost us around £850 p/p, having picked the Auramar hotel due to it's all inclusive package, short transfer from Faro airport and close walk from the beach.

Upon arrival, we were taken down to our room by one of the members of reception, little did we know, we were going to be on the ground floor. We had booked a room on the middle floor with a sea-view. What did we get? A room on the ground floor where you couldn't open the curtains during the day without having your room stared into by people from the smaller swimming pool. The balcony was level with the people outside so you couldn't get changed in there without the curtains shut. We took this up with the man who escorted us to our room, and he told us to shut the curtains....

We also found hairs in our bed, hairs on the bathroom floor, a bath that had turned yellow. Oh, and not to mention that the shower curtains didn't contain ANY water. After a 10 minute shower, the bathroom was flooded. And to top off our first impressions of the room, we had asked for a double bed, which in Auramar terms meant 'pushing two beds together and throwing a blanket over them'. We also brought this up with the gentleman and he told us that the Auramar hotel don't do double beds -- even though it was one of our booking requirements that we had to choose in the first place?

My boyfriend ended up asking to speak to a member of management because the room was NOT what we paid for. The reception told him that the manager would be out in a 'moment', but he decided to stroll out of his office after my boyfriend had been sat there for half an hour in the lobby. After a lot of arguing with the manager and reception staff, they eventually said that we could have our room changed the next day.. even though the blonde lady (who was ALWAYS rude, might I add) at reception claimed 'they had no more rooms'.

The room we were moved to was in block A, level 3 - more like what we initially asked for. The room was still incredibly dated, with two single beds pushed together, but this time we had a SEA view (hoorah!) and no dust or hairs scattered over our bed or bathroom area.

But just as you might think all's well - nope. A few days into staying in this room - our water was cut off. We then had a man burst into our room to 'fix problem'.. with little understanding of what was going on, he shortly left the room and half an hour later, we switched the taps on to the lovely sight of yellow water pouring out of them.

The hotel really isn't for couples, and certainly isn't a 'romantic' destination. We ended up binning our all inclusive wrist bands after seeing the food that looked like school dinners being served in the evening, and after receiving a Pina Colada that came from a machine. All of the all inclusive drinks were served in plastic cups... and the soft drinks were from 'value' bottles that had been sat, opened, in the bar for days.

The one plus-side to this hotel is that it was situated very near to the beach, Old Town and The Strip, so we made the holiday what we wanted by spending as little time in the hotel as possible -- if you visit Old Town, we would recommend visiting 'Buddy's restaurant' -- Ronnie was the staff member that drew us in! We had a great laugh in there and the staff made you feel right at home. I'd also recommend Senhor Frog's pizza restaurant in the strip, they do great food and you can always walk back to the hotel with it if you don't fancy the Auramar all inclusive food!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lizee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just back from at weeks all inclusive at The Auramar. After reading the mixed reviews we weren't sure what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. The location is great right on the cliffe top overlooking the beach. The reception area, restaurant and bar areas were all clean, we never noticed any bad smells. The bedrooms were ok but along with the bathroom could do with a refurbishment.[We stayed in D block]
The food was a lot better than we expected. Yes there was chips at ever meal ever day but there was plenty of other things to choose from.
The Strip was about 10 mins walk away and The Old Town a 4 Euro taxi away, which was well worth a visit.
The hotel is 3 Star at the moment but the bedrooms and bathrooms were modernised a little bit i'm sure it would be 4 Star.

Room Tip: D Block over looks the mini golf and the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sue63Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor i was mildly sceptical on arrival. However, it would now appear that the people complaining are clearly living beyond their means.

1) To people complaining about the number of steps in the hotel. The hotel is on top of a cliff, this creates wonderful views but means there are a few steps to deal with. Its a lot better than jumping off of the cliff to get to the beach.

2) The food may not be michelin star but what do you expect. Its not bad and some nights and lunch times it was actually quite good. For the money its exceptional!

3) The alchoholic drinks are plenty strong enough. I know this because we were all battered after the first day. I recommend the Daquiri.

4) There are many Germans at this hotel. They have a panchant for swimming and budgie smugglers which is nice.

5) There are plenty of sunbeds. I advise putting your towells out when you get in at around 5-6am. This should avoid dissapointment.

All in all this was a great hotel with great staff and gave us a superb holiday in the Algarve. If you're working class you will love it. If you're a toff, you might not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#122 of 154 in Albufeira
2,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $33 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing