We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albufeira Great Hotel Auramar poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #67 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Albufeira Great Hotel Auramar poor”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

First impression on entering the hotel was that the reception area was very dark and uninviting staff behind the desk did not seem helpful or happy.We did not receive a Thomsons welcome pack and there was no Thomsons information book in the travel advisors room. We were on the third floor and the lifts would not carry any more than two people but stated on the board inside the lift that it carried up to four people.For being all inclusive there was no shower gel, shampoo or shower cap in the bathroom, there was no bottles of drinking water in the fridge and when I asked in reception for some they told me to go to the bar down at the pool which was down five flights of stairs where I asked and was told that if I wanted any bottled water I would have to pay for it. The first night it rained and rain water came under the door from the balcony and was also on the inside of the window sill.As for the for the food there was not a great variety of choice. The only all inclusive bar was down three flights of stairs as the bar in the reception was not classed as all inclusive. The chairs around the pool were in a very dangerous condition (backs and arms broken) etc .Fruit in the pool bar was mouldy and not very appertizing.Access to the beach was closed as they were working on the beach Thomsons did not inform us before we went. During the day there was no all inclusive bar up near the indoor swimming pool. I think the Auramar needs to be updated and staffed with happier people. But the rest of our holiday was enjoyed to the full.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44djb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    1,094
    743
    349
    275
See reviews for
602
1,421
78
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

a lovely hotel if you want a cheap and cheerful holiday ,we had a seaview room with a wrap around balcony plenty of room with sun loungers parasol and table and chairs , the room was large 3 beds and still plenty of room , bathroom a bit small but still had bath and shower ,clean linen every day, room cleaned daily The food was varied and plentful, breakfast was cereal fruit yought ,the usual cooked of eggs bacon etc as well as a continental breakfast of meats cheeses etc . dinner was soup or fruit ie melon mains a choice of 2 meats pasta vegetarian with plenty of vegetables and then deserts choice of cakes, mousse ,icecream and jellies. you could go all inclusive if you wanted.The beach was a short walk over the rocks not suitable for the less mobile so they have made a slightly longer walk through the gardens on flatter ground.not a lot of entertainment at night ,the usual piano player ,but for £20 a night you can not complain. would recommend for a winter break we were there for 3 weeks

Room Tip: ask for seaview on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beale1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I always think it's the people you're with / meet make a holiday and I have to admit that the folk we met on our 4 days in Auramar helped make our holiday! Was great to have spoken on here to folk who were going to our Hotel, as we met, had drinks, laughed till we cried and really enjoyed ourselves as the weather wasn't great but thats not the hotels fault!

Yes there is an overwhelming not nice smell in reception upon arrival, nothing a bucket of milton / lemon fresh bleach i assume wouldnt clear, the girl on reception was most helpful, checking us in with lots of smiles and info and fairly quickly *(perhaps they've read the reviews), but then it was out of season. They room key is the oddest thing I've seen, kind of like a magnet on a zip, that you pay €10 deposit for but get back at the end, however there is a daily game of where did i put the key, as it's that small, we didnt have to put it into a socket in the wall for the rooms electricity in the room we were in (B209) but other people we met in the same block did! The safe is €15 euro for a week or €3 a night!

Our room when we walked in was spacious, clean, a bit dated yes, i dont see the point in the dark wood fascination the hotel seems to have, but plenty of wardrobe space, a balcony, spotless towels and bathroom and the room was with sea view (when you peeped around the tree and looked over the german block) but we weren't there to be couped up in our rooms all day!

As we arrived after 4pm we wanted to grab a snack, so trundled off to the snack bar (down alot of steps to the main pool) this hotel is probably not advisable for older people as lots of steps and hills, upon finding the snack bar we were told it was closing at 5, but at 4:20 there was no more food being prepped, but the girl found us bread rolls (as there was cheese, ham, tomatoes there) and made us fresh chips, the snack bar is where you get drinks in the day, by the pool, and overlooking the beach, which as others have mentioned that part is closed off due to a landslide at the mo which they are fixing, so not the hotels fault.

The Dancing bar, upstairs, just by the main restaurant, is an interesting place, and I'm not sure how it would cope in high season, as we were in off season and there definitely wasnt alot of folk about, one night we did struggle to get seats for the Entertainment! Drinks in both bars are fine, local beer good, spirits available also and dont let anyone tell you they are watered down, although the wine does not come recommended!

Entertainment was an ecclectic mix to say the least, Thursday nite was Parrot Show, after which Dougie (or thats what he said to call him) sings along on the Piano, Friday nite was Bingo - line prize a free drink (some blue cocktail - a tad ironic being all inclusive) and full house was a bottle of house champage, and Dougie again on Piano afterwards, thankfully one of the Girls we met was a singer and grabbed the mic and had folk dancing and singing, and laughing! Saturday nite was Samba nite, well it was entertaining in that I've never laughed as much at what they were classifying as dancing and entertainment - it might not have looked out of place in the strip club up the road! Sunday nite was due to be kareoke!

Food, again eclectic mix (chips for breaksfast, or cinamon coated baked apples??) but always something to eat, from their fresh salads, fruits, chips, chef specials, although I especially like their fish dishes, and I'm not normally a huge fish fan, but can see how the dining room would struggle in peak season!

We ventured up the strip on Friday, however as its out of season alot of places are closed, we felt uneasy as you keep getting approached and asked about cigarettes, smoke and watches, we are 2 fairly well travelled female travellers, but we just didnt feel safe on the strip in the day, we got back friday evening to hear that one of the guys we met who was on honeymoon had been mugged at knifepoint on wednesday as he was walking up the strip, pulled into an alley and knife held to his throat, we'd also heard from a couple in the airport on Sunday when we were travelling back that a 70yr old gentleman got mugged saturday! We went down the Old Town on the free coach on Saturday as the weather was nice, again, not alot to do as it is off season, but a lovely meander, nice cuppa, saw the beach and watched the world go by :)

Overall we had a cracking 4 days in this place, was glad it was out of season and not so busy, I can see people getting annoyed in peak season and food being repetitive, but i think they are taking on board the reviews as we spoke to 2 of the bar staff (always smiling and helpful) and they had mentioned about bad reviews and things being worked on! The manager and owner of the hotel were about and could be seen alot this week(I somehow ended up in a picture with them) but i think this was more to do with a gentleman who passed away in the hotel on Wednesday.

You get what you pay for, it's 3 star, good to use as a base, for us it was cheaper than some of the half board options there just hope you get the weather!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrishinEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Returned yesterday from our 2nd stay this year ( cheap deal so grabbed it !) at the Auramar.Was good to be back,nice people..great rooms with fridge,tv,aircon,CLEAN bedding,towels etc..great maid service too.Lovely panoramic sea view (we watched the storms! )

We booked bed and breakfast which was great,bacon and scrambled eggs to die for..fresh cut bread and rolls every day..the staff didnt even mind if you took fruit etc out!!
Arrived at 11pm,was greeted with smiles and great assistance from the reception staff as usual..people have complained about the staff not smiling..hmmm we never experienced that!
Went in the kids indoor pool which was clean and warm ( i cant swim ) and had a laugh..only disappointment was the gate to the beach was locked because the beach was still being overhauled and new defences being put up.Only 10 minute walk the other way to get to the beach so all good.Theres a free bus into town if you dont want to walk along the beach or road into the old town or you can get the little train which the kids and adults loved..
Only going to say we will be back...a holiday is what you make it...and for us the Auramar makes it :)

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor room,much much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scaryjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed one week all inclusive after half board last year. The hotel's USP is the access from the pool to the beach, this is chained shut due to landscaping etc. This creates a pain in the neck walk back up out of the hotel and down through roads and other hotels... not good and not advised prior to travelling or when booking (easyjet holidays take note)..
Do not book all inclusive if you are remotely fussy about your food. Odd decent choice but generally bland, poor and gristly old slop.
If the sun doesn't shine then this hotel has nothing going for it.
Rooms are just about okay for what you pay (in November), would not pay top summer prices for this hotel. Staff are fine... There is a smell in reception which is like the houses of friends who own dogs and think that they dont stink --- they do ! like there is a body buried under the floorboards that nobody can get to. The pool area is good and bar staff pleasant.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warri999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed at the Auramar for a week all inclusive
Food..Good selection,can't see how people moan about it on other reviews.Always hot..Nice to have drinks brought to you in the evening.
Rooms..Basic ,but always kept clean
Drinks..Good selection..More smiley face's needed in the Pool bar and evening bar,though.
Reception staff..Bit frosty at times .
Overall a good hotel to stay at,and the location is excellent

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clucknorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The all inclusive is mixed as the bar upstairs connected to the reception the best for quietness at night is for paying guests. At night the dancing bar gives you the impression of a wedding do filled with screeming kids and a noisy parrot which forms a show squawking like mad. The food was good most nights but don't take out any fruit as you will be caught and told off! The views in D block are lovely and it was good having a kitchen to use.The bars open sporadicly and you have to chase them up from the pool to the upstairs bar overlooking the pool. There is a free shuttle bus to take customers to old town. Watch locals trying to sell you hash. Wild and Co near the hotel on the strip has a good rock band and Johhny Hoopers is an English owned pub and he Johnny has played with some of the greats Drifters etc... on saxophone and is off the strip and brilliant. A brit pub is up near the Padi Dive shop off the strip and you can buy the local lager for 1.50 and its good too.The hotel is dated but very clean.

Room Tip: This hotel is close to the beach and you can walk to old town via the sea taking 20 mins. You can go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#120 of 154 in Albufeira
2,768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing