We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap and cheerful base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #118 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed July 4, 2008

I was really worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews but the minute I stepped in the room I was totally relieved.

The apartment needed updating but was clean and spacious and much better than I'd anticipated. There was no kettle or toaster and the sofa turned into 2 single beds but I was expecting this and forewarned is forearmed!

Never had a problem with hot water or pressure and never saw a single cockroach. The pool area was lovely and 3 euros for 2 beds and shade is nothing compared to the 15 euros they wanted down the beach. And we didn't always get asked for payment, depending on the time of day we were there.

The staff were very nice although a couple of the ladies on reception could be quite abrupt but really not enough to ruin my stay!

The walk back to the hotel from the old town was uphill but again, not as bad as it seems to be made out although I wouldn't reccommend it for elderly travellers.

I had a lovely holiday and would recommend these apartments for anyone wanting basic but clean accommodation near to the Old Town.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank workingirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2008

Room was ok, but we had a cold week and needed heat in the evening, so had to turn cooker on. Cheap room so got what we expected, no more or less. Big pool area with cold water. yOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, SO WE WERENT DISAPPOINTED.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Danny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

My husband and I and our 3 children (age 6, 4 &2), stayed at these apartments from 3rd to 10th May. The two bedroomed apartment was very spacious but VERY DATED. It was also quite dark and cold but it was clean and we had a daily maid service. There was lots of storage room for our clothes and the kitchen was quite well equipped - hob, oven & microwave but NO Kettle and NO Toaster. As we were only staying for a week, we decided to make do. Two days before we were due to leave we had nasty visitors - COCKROACHES!! This was the final straw and if we had not been approaching the end of the holiday, then we would definitely have moved somewhere else. I would not recommend these apartments to anyone and I feel that the photographs and descriptions on the tour operators websites are highly overrated and do not paint an accurate picture. I have stayed in 3 star apartments before where the standard was exceptionally higher. However, I would recommend staying in Albufeira Old Town as opposed to the New Town, especially for families with young children or for slightly older people. Lots of lovely restaurants and a fabulous beach. As for the Jardim Apartments - NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Happy-Holidays-Bmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

I booked this hotel based on other reviews and of course good price. I completely understand that these are cheap accomodations but this was horrible. We were not expecting much but we ended up forfeiting the second night stay and got out of there. We first got there and there were two cots that were in the shape of couches. The front desk then told us to put them together ourselves. The room was so dusty that we didn't stop sneezing. There were bugs everywhere and they kept us up all night. When we got there, there was pubic hair in the sink and there was next to no hot water. The location is bad and it's about a 5-10 euro taxi ride to the strip. The beach is about a 15 minute walk away and it's uphill. Definitely not what I expected. The staff were SO RUDE and said derogatory things about us in Portuguese thinking that I couldn't understand. Overall I would never recommend this place to anyone... save yourself the trouble and pay a bit more for something not so revolting.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Heatherv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

This hotel is great value for money. You definitely get what you pay for, so for £60 for 4 nights was a bargain.
Everything in our room worked perfectly well. we had a main living area which turned into the sleeping area at night. A kitchenette, which had a hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and fully equipped drawers full of utensils.
Bathroom was fine. Powerful shower - contant hot water.
Cleanliness was great. We had a maid everyday to clean our room and make the beds.
The location is in the old town up the hill. Not suitable for guests with walking difficulties, but fine for a stroll down the hill to the town and a bit of a hike up!
No complaints for the place, hotel and Albufeira got our thumbs up!
Would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank SacSac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

First of all – the worst part of the holiday for us. Took nigh on 2 hours from arriving by hire car in Albufeira to finding Albufeira Jardim I (to give the Hotel/Apartments it’s proper title).

Just returned (14 March 2008) from over a week here and loved almost every minute of it, and all at a bargain price! To be fair, it is not the hotels’ fault that there are at least four hotels called Jardim in Albufeira. Probably my pig-headedness on directions and being unable to make sense of the two different map/direction printouts I had prepared. To help you to find it, you turn off the town dual carriageway by pass at the Dolphin roundabout. (Neat idea – roundabouts have different sculptural themes; huge worms in sunglasses, huge watches and dolphins).

The room we had was lovely, a little dated in fittings perhaps but made up for this by the huge size of the balcony – 8m from door to front wall. Bear in mind that the complex is spread across a hill, so steps abound. We didn’t use the swimming pool or adjacent sun loungers but guess that there were around 80-100 steps up to them. The hotel bar and restaurant was nearby so if you were a regular user then those steps again! Probably most of the rooms are above the bar/pool area so access might be different – the whole of Albufeira Old Town is made up of moderate to steep streets and steps anyway, so you are probably going to get lots of practice.

Other reviews we saw before booking mentioned the sofas in studio apartments converting to single beds– we like our comfort but found them perfectly acceptable, even exciting, finding them drifting apart during the night.

At the time of year we went we didn’t expect the town to be too busy, it’s about 0.6 kilometre to the main town area from this hotel – not too bad a step as it is downhill there. If you are none too athletic it’s a bit of a climb back, but only 4 euros for a taxi, well worth it with a belly full of dinner and beer! The strip (in the new part of town) is a little more difficult – perhaps there is a hotel bus in season, we didn’t ask nor saw one. There are buses outside the hotel – we did not use them much. Taxis are easy, prolific and fairly cheap; I think it was 6-7 euros to the strip, easier than walking right across the Old Town to the Wally Train, though this may get better when the street escalators are finished.

All in all I would readily recommend Albufeira Jardim I for a good all round inexpensive break – we all have different needs, so good luck and happy holidays!

One little tip we heard from others – all rooms have a TV but you rent the remote plus paying a deposit. Folk take a cheap universal programmable remote with them, they say …..

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rosiv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We visited Albufeira for xmas & new year and were firstly suprised by the ease of getting there , flights with Easy Jet and car hire from Faro airport efficent and cheap. The Jardim Apts were easy to find and well located. 3 supermarkets near by, 10/15 mins walk (down hill) to beach &old town. We had 3 rooms for our party (2x1 bed & 1x2bed) all were spacious clean &comfortable. Bathrooms & kitchen a little dated but more than adequate. The star feature of our room was the view. A full view of the coast past villamora all the way to Faro,as well as Albufeira old town & beach. This is surely the best place to view the new year fireworks! The old town offers a good selection of bars, restaurants & shops and the beach is great (sunbathing on xmas day)
Overall this a great place to stay excellent value for money &highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blackshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
713 reviews
1.9 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#89 of 154 in Albufeira
3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $24 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Albufeira Jardim Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing