We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but wouldn't go again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #101 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but wouldn't go again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went on a short 4 day break with my best friend. We both found the room to be very basic but what do you expect when you are paying so little money for a holiday. We were told there would be a garden view all we got was a view of the tennis courts and in the distance we were able to see the sea over many roof tops.
As an asthmatic, having to climb around 100 stairs to get to my room was a little hard.
The food was very basic, not a wide variety of options but there was enough for us to live on for the time we were there.
Sunbeds by the pool were snapped up very quickly on the warm days, although some of the beds were in a bad state of repair and need to be replaced.
Drinks that were included were good, good choice, different cocktail offered every day.
I enjoyed my stay but would choose a different hotel to go back to as the area we were in was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    208
    249
    118
    212
See reviews for
176
441
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just came back from the Jardim appartments in Albufeira on Wed.
This was my first time in Portugal so didnot know what to expect.
First off Albufeira is a beutifull spot lots of nice beach and the people are very friendley.
As we only stayed in the old town I cannot comment on the new town area.
When I put the title as mountain steps I am not wrong.From the main town square it is 268 steps uphill and that does not include the steep slopes between the sets of steps.
It takes a good 15 min to walk down from the Jardim appartments to town and about 25 min steep slog to go back up.
As we like to go to the beach and not just sit around the all inclusive pool area, I have just about worn out a pair of trainers in the week.
The good side is my legs now look like a long distance runners build.
The taxi fair is E6.80 not including a tip.
There is not much near the appartments and no bnit super markets for water and bits if you are self catering.
Night life in Albufeira is great if thats what you want,lots of nice restarants in town bit tasty on the price though,cost a bit more that Spain.
I would go again but not to the Jardim appartments as I say they are just too far out of the main area.

Room Tip: The room that we had was in complex 10 top floor so the view was good shame about the distance to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete9398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hotel itself is basic. Good value for money - this was pretty much the cheapest all inclusive hotel in Europe when we booked but I would say far from the worst.

Rooms are a good size as they're the old appartments from when hotel was just self catering. They're clean and what you'd expect from a 3 star hotel. Lovely view from room onto grounds, out to sea and over the old town.

Food not the worst I've had but definitely not the best. Saying that, it's edible and I rather enjoyed the majority of meals. I particuarly liked the puddings and although they tend to have similar every night, I did not get bored of them. Food often not hot, but did not get food poisoning and didn't hear of anyone who did. The hotel needs more indoor seating in the restaurant for bad weather (although plenty of seating available outside).

Grounds of the hotel are lovely, lots of grass areas and trees set on a hill. Quiet location but a few minutes' walk to Albufeira old town with lots of bars, restaurants and shops and stunning, sandy beaches. The nightlife in Albufeira old town seems to attract people of 35 +, whereas Albufeira new town is the place to go for typical clubbing nights out. Cost us about 9 euros from hotel to the strip in Albufeira new town (not walking distance for a night out).
Hotel convenient for bus stops too. Did not think twice about the hill up to the hotel, being young and fit. Don't book this hotel if you have walking difficulties.

The pool area is well maintained, with plenty of grass to sunbathe on. Lots of plastic chairs around pool (bit tacky...) but not many sunbeds and sunbeds not comfy.

Slight problems getting drinks from the bar (both pool bar and bar inside) as there is either no one visably staffing the bar or just one member of staff at busy times. This results in queuing for drinks. During meal times wine, sangria and lager are available though, so if you're happy with these then it isn't much of a problem.

Entertainment at the hotel lacked. There is karaoke on Thursday and Sunday evenings from 10-11pm but nothing any other evening and nothing during the day. We would have prefered there to be a bit more going on, and I would say most of the other guests would agree. If you're happy to go out into the old town (or even the strip in the new town!) every night for something to do, or you like quiet evenings, then this isn't a problem.

When we were there (mid May 2013) there was a mixture of people staying at the hotel i.e.groups of all ages and couples of all ages, although not many children because it was term time. We found other guests to be pleasant and friendly. Even the two stag parties there while we were did not cause any trouble.

We had really bad weather for the Algarve in May (max 18 degrees, windy, sunny intervals at best, fair bit of rain). We were therefore stuck in the hotel a lot of the time. I think if the weather had been better, we'd have been able to go out and about more and the negative aspects of the hotel wouldn't have had as big a weighting, possibly meaning I'd have given it more than 3 stars. However, I have rated it on my experience as things were. Would definitately consider it if in the area again.

Overall, the hotel is in a nice location, close to the beach and the old town with its bars and restaurants. Rooms are spacious, clean but basic. Hotel has lovely views out to see and the grounds are nice. The pool area is smallish but well maintained. The food is average but edible. Queuing for drinks can be an issue. Entertainment at the hotel is poor. Makes a good base for exploring the area, and good for a relaxing holiday. Suitable for both young and old, but would present problems for people with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abcde613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked knowing it was a cheap 3* holiday but just wanted a bit of Sun. The room was more than than adequate, clean, comfortable. I wanted an extra pillow and that was no bother. There are a lot of rooms though, access being through corridors that tend to echo the noise of passing guests. It was only on the first night we were woken by Roush drinkers at 3an. There I was, after waiting patiently for 20 mins for the noise to subside before getting up to go and say something, fully expecting a group of lads who apparently were so drunk they couldn't find their apartment. I open the door to be faced with a group of 5 septogenarians absolutely off their face!
Definitely not a hotel for the infirm as very hilly and exceptionally sloppy everywhere when wet. We were lucky to have only a few stairs to our room, right opposite reception, the bar and restaurant. Some of the rooms were very high, a lot of stairs and a little way from the facilities. I do have to say it was right near the pleasant town though.
The thing that let it down the most though was the food, it wasn't very good, poor range of choice and not amazing quality. Having said that I didn't go hungry.
All in all it was exactly what we paid for a cheap break away for a week. I wouldn't spend over £250 per person, but I wouldn't be coming back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkmeybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having been to portugal for the first time in march this year the weather was terrible, but we decided that we wanted to go back for a second look. With a limited budget in mind we stayed at the albuferia jardim 1and2 apps. The appt we had was right across the road from reception.The appartment was clean and tidy and quaint. The complex is a little dated and could do with a little Tlc here and there .We were on a all inclusive basis but the food was not very good. A plus point though is where this complex is situated its ten minutes down the hill to the beach and the old town which is lovely with plenty of bars and restraunts with cheap food. This complex is very hilly and would not be suitable for people with walking problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveRuthPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have just returned from this complex.This was a cheap holiday so we werent expectiny luxury.Staff were cheerful and helpful.My partner wanted sandwiches made for an evening snack & they were happy to help,they are on cheap wages & work long hours.Food was not great but there was always something to suit you.We enjoy walking & although it is on a hill & can be difficult for some it was fine for us.Rooms are very dated & basic but we did not go on hol to spend all day in room.On the down side we would have liked a bit of entertainment during the day & a kettle in room but we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrainec6508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends & met some lovely people too. Staff were friendly (not sure what other people are moaning about). Food was not the best I've had in a 3* but you will not starve and they have TETLEY tea bags ... bonus ! Drinks plentiful and plenty of choice. The rooms are dated and the beds are hard. Pool area OK, but sunbeds are uncomfortable unless you get up at 7am to grab one of the cushions. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill and there are steps around the complex so you need to be reasonably fit, but the views are great. Overall, the place needs a lick of paint and some TLC but what do you want for the price ?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
4.9 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#54 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#130 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
2.4 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#99 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#127 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos

Property: Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos
Address: Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Albufeira Jardim Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing