We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”
Review of Hotel da Aldeia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel da Aldeia
Ranked #130 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed July 15, 2007

i stayed in this hotel last week from the 8th to the 15th and i have to say i loved it.the staff were friendly and the room average,there were a few ants in the room but i suppose thats a bit normal considering i was living in the top room and the roof was just above me lol,the cleaning ladies were a bit off with me and didnt seem so nice and the guy that brings your suitcase seemed a bit of a perv.......the hotel was on "the strip" and is right in the town where everything is,the location was great.....the only thing is the beach is bout a 15 minutes walk,and usually i wouldnt mind walking that it was just the heat made it seem like it took forever........the hotel also does airport transfers for 35 euros,so instead of getting a taxi which they could rip you off you can just ask the hotel and they will set up everything for you.il be going back this january coming,and hopefully it will be as great as this time.......come and see me there and we'l all go for a good pint lol.....oh yeah!!the flight i got was from mytravel.com and i booked the hotel through booking.com which was pretty cheap.anyways just thought id share my experience with yee all.......contact me if you want anymore info....till then,see ya x

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank xjojox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Hotel da Aldeia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 425 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2007

Well where do i start! Me and my friend got to the hotel which was in the middle of the strip which is what we wanted so good so far, within stumbling distance of the bars! We went to check in and were told that the room had pipe problems and would have to be put in to an apartment for one night we agreed and were told that we would be moved in to a pool view room as well as compensation which we thought was fair. We got to the apartment and there was an overwhelming musty smell and mops and buckets were left out. We then looked at the bathroom and found it infested with ants and flies! Disgusted at that,i refused to have a shower there and waited til we got moved. We spoke to the person at reception the next day and explained that the room was not livable and we were also put next to a generator which kept us awake. When we asked for our compensation the next day the told us that the pool side room was the compensation even though we didnt mind where we were and that were not going to give us any money. But their reason that we had not got our room straight away was that they had overbooked! The staff that we spoke to were extremely rude to us and proceeded to talk to each other in portugese tut and pull faces at each other they could have said anything and we wouldn't have had a clue! Very rude! We got to our other room the wardrobes were broken and there no clean towels, and the room phone didnt work. We finally got some in the afternoon but during the week they only got changed twice even when we put them in a pile on the floor they were just picked up and put on the rails again! We also had some wine bottles that had sat in the room for 4 days in which i had to write a note to the maids to take them away. The food was supposed to be a buffet and every night consisted of a minimal salad, one fish and meat dish with two veg and chips and by the time we got to the pudding it was finished! So we went out most nights for dinner which cost us more money, thats the reason we wanted half board. We spoke to a couple more people about the apartment and they said they had exactly the same thing happen, so it seems that overbooking happens a lot. Not all the staff were rude, the bar staff were really friendly to us (Helder and Palma) and the doorman at night looked after us (Leonardo) but as for the others i really dont think they should be working in a hotel at all. Even when we were leaving, we wanted to check out and the receptionist refused to get off the phone and just used hand gestures which i also found very rude.
So apart from the location of the hotel for us, it would be good for people who will be partying late at it in walking distance of the strip, but room, food , some staff very disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenpen10527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

My friend and i have just returned from the algarve, staying at the Da Aldeia Hotel, i must say after reading the reviews i was a tad worried, but in fairness, there was probably a bit of truth in all of them! I wouldnt recommend the hotel to families or someone looking for a quiet break. For us 2 ladies, looking for a bit of nightlife (not the clubbing type) the location was perfect. The hotel itself was very tired, but clean, and the staff (apart from leoarndo) were quite unfriendly, the swimming pool was clean. Would definately recommend going into the old town, well worth a look, and the restaurant 'Bravo' there is superb, great food and service - Would not recommend 'Fredi' opposite the hotel or 'Renos' up the strip on the left. The Imperial china chinese was excellent, all you could eat buffet for 8.95 euros (approx £6.50) The beach was quite a trek, we found it better to get the little train/bus into the old town and use that beach. We were looking for a relaxing break doing not much, and we certainly had that, the hotel was fine for what we wanted, just a clean bed/room, centrally located.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Littlemissblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

The hotel was actually OK and ideal if you want a lively holiday. We however were 2 38 year old girls looking for a relaxing holiday, not an 18-30 one. After booking we'd read reviews about stag parties but thought it'd be a one off - no there was a big group of 35 there when we arrived, who to be fair weren't causing any trouble were just noisy. They left on our second day and we thought we'd get some peace and quiet - no another one arrived, this time younger and noisier and started drinking round the pool as soon as they arrived, jumping in and generally making everyone's life a misery. I felt more sorry for the young couple with a small child who very hastily left the pool area and didn't come back.

2 days into our 5 day break we found alternative accommodation as we couldn't stand it anymore and needed to relax. We found the Clube Praia Da Oura which was the haven we wanted.

If you're a group of lads/lasses and want a drunken holiday with very little sleep then this is the place for you. For a couple, family then give it a miss and find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SPAMELLA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2007

A friend and I have just returned from a 3 night break in this hotel and cannot fault it as far as budget accommodation goes. Like others on this site we got a great deal by paying a total of £68 which included the buffet breakfast.

Yes, it could do with modernising somewhat and is a little dark in some of the communal parts of the hotel, but we were very impressed by the cleanliness and efficiency of the staff. Our room was comfortable and cleaned every day during our stay. It overlooked the pools and garden area and we had no problem with noise from the bars at night although I would imagine the rooms overlooking the bars and restaurants could get quite noisy as others have commented on! The poolside area was also cleaned every morning and during our stay the smaller childrens pool was refurbished and refilled ready for action!

My friend and I are both 28 years old and we were probably the youngest people in the hotel at the time. We found it quite strange that such a central hotel in close proximity to bars and restaurants has so many guests who are in the older age bracket. Nevertheless, the resort does cater for all ages and tastes and it is refreshing to see such a mix of people and not simply the 18-30's looking for a boozy holiday.

Finally, for those who do not have a transfer booked from the hotel to the airport, it is worth asking at reception because they can book this for you at a reasonable price of 35 Euros (journey approx. 40 minutes).

I hope this review helps somebody out there!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tilly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We booked accommodation direct by email after seeing an offer they were running giving 3 days accommodation 2 breakfasts, one meal in a choice of their 3 restaraunts, complimentary fruit basket and water on arrival as well as a free port each in their bar. In addition we got an hours free tennis or crazy golf each day. Had we wanted it we qualified for a free kids club too! All this for 127 euros between 2 of us.
There was adequate parking which was very safe being behind automatic barriers . The room was clean and cool. There was aircon, a safe. a TV with 11 channels including BBC world news and eurosport. The shower gave good pressure. The balcony overlooked the pool and garden. Given the location halfway down the notorious strip we feared sleeping would be impossible. However there were sound baffles over the windows which meant that there was no noise problems through the windows on the pool /garden side.
The only problem was some loud returning revellers who woke me up once each night. She slept on sweetly. The hotel has few soft surfaces and so noise within the hotel can reverberate around a bit. All that said we would go back again.
The steak bar meal we had in with the price was awesome quality. Limited menu yes but wonderful flavours.
The breakfasts were extensive buffet style with cooked option eg bacon beans sausages scrambled eggs, cereal, your typical meats and cheeses, toast, fruit yoghurts, excellent fruit juices and wide selection of hot drinks including my favourite green tea and her favourite strong coffee.
Yes some parts are a bit worn around the edges but for the price we think it was excellent. The pool was clean and very cool and refreshing and there were lots of sunbeds relative to those needing them.
I'd go again. Indeed out one day we met a couple at a servcie area who asked where we were staying and they ended up there on a similar deal but just 2 nights not 3 but everything else the same as ours... so we clearly would and did recommend it. Not for snobs but honest and fun place..oh finally someof the antique artefacts sprinkled about the place are charming and weird - like 2 confessional boxes - some massive bellows a beautiful church pew.. etc etc - go see ;)

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank honister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amanda1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Aldeia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Aldeia

Address: Avenida Dr Francisco Sa Carneiro, Albufeira 8200-340, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $49 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Aldeia 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HRS, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Aldeia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Aldeia Albufeira
Hotel Da Aldeia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing