We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be better... if it's kept clean after the summer party”
Review of Hotel da Aldeia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel da Aldeia
Ranked #132 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel - early morning flight arrived approx 11am check in not until 2pm. Guy on reception very helpful - got us in early and was pleasant everytime we saw him - funny and kind enough to lend me a hairdryer for the week. Also we hadn't printed off hotel voucher, just written down the details, he gave us wifi code and his email add to send it. All sorted quickly.
One lift not working other broke next day with us in it - used stairs rest of week but it was working again later that day. Other public areas and pool etc all fine.
Room 319 an immediate disappointment but only because we had been influenced by previous reviews so were looking for the stained walls etc. In reality, it wasn't that bad, a bit dusty under the beds, bathroom could do with an upgrade and the integrated radio in the bedside table needless to say could have been returned to the 60s/70s. It wasn't very clean in places but i just had a quick wipe around. However, all working order and shower surprisingly good. It's got everything you need. Incidentally the hotel is being refurbished at the moment - other rooms have been done and they are currently painting the outside red - it will be better ready for the season though they might leave some rooms that will no doubt be trashed by the end of this summer. Odd numbered rooms are stripside and even a Sunday night before Easter was really noisy but didnt bother me so much - i knew what to expect. Not for the faint hearted though - earplugs essential if you're a light sleeper or pay a little extra for a poolside room that will be a little quieter.
Lots of Portuguese families here currently so quite a nice atmosphere. Mostly English and German in town.
Good location for bars and clubs and restaurants (hotel bar reasonably priced with afternoon Sun on balcony - nice view over pool area). Beach a little walk away and uphill on way back - nice bar there though and lots to do. Be aware that is only the nearest beach (Oura) and not the main beach in Albufeira; the main town is about 2 kilometers away downhill walk mostly. I'd advise turning left at the roundabout at the end of the strip (past Invictus, a nice restaurant with seaview) and taking the first right into Club Praia de Oura complex - really nice walk through their gardens rather than the smelly busy and steep road opposite the strip (it is actually called Cardiac hill). Alternatively keep walking on the road having turned left from the strip and past all the bars in the next part of town (Santa Eulalia), and then the next right which brings you to another smaller beach which is a little quieter - bar over the sea is lovely.
The road train will take you to the main town centre for 5 euros. The main beach and area is more suitable for families and those wanting a quieter experience. Walk further through the Old Town and on to the Marina - a few nice bars and you get most boat trips from there - probably about 3 miles from hotel to walk but fairly pleasant. If you like walking and explorations us, it's fine - some Lntof make it though and might feel trapped.
Breakfast in the hotel has sufficient choice. Boyfriend didn't like coffee but i managed to appease him with a tea. Bread, cheese, ham, cereals, sausage, tomatoes, boiled eggs, yoghurts, fruit, juice and water - plenty of choice for most people. Breakfast was quiet and calm around 930ish each day; most people sleeping it off i think. Some days it was a bit hit and miss - boiled egg on day one perfect, next day not cooked enough, day three scrambled but cold. The times we went earlier, it was busier and there were queues. The Easter bank holiday weekend was totally different - queued for a table, queued for food, coffee machine not working... full of Portuguese and Spanish... 2-3 waiters really struggled. Can imagine this is typical in high season; suggest getting food and taking back upstairs to bar/balcony.
crazy golf needs painting but functional and tennis courts looked in good order - you have to hire equipment for about €10 for an hour. Pools clean - terraced area again could be updated but functional.
First day housekeeping asked if we wanted room making up; we're quite tidy so declined but asked for more towels - no problem - really pleasant ladies who always said hello.
Important to note we paid £140pp each for a week including flights and BnB basis - this is pretty fair value for what's on offer - okay for a very cheap deal but wouldnt pay more in its current state.

Room Tip: If you value sleep, get a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judgie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 445 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

We are a retired couple...but very active and still teenagers at heart. We stayed here because our booked hotel turned out to be too inconveniently placed. This one...ok it's next to THE STRIP! Turned out to be a very good idea. It's obviously being done up. The pool side is just fabulous, it has the potential to be 5 starish. The room was clean and for the price was amazing, the balcony was super, lovely to sit out, sun all day, early evening was idyllic, took photos of the sun going down behind the fabulous panoramic view of the villas and the palm trees. Then one minutes walk to the bars, had a good curry one night and excellent pizza another, had a boogie to the music, great to be a minute away from the hotel. And on the pool side there is NO noise, incredible! The staff were lovely, breakfast was good, I needed help with my I pad and DEBORAH came and was SO helpful, what a sweet girl. I think she was a Manager, forgot to ask. An absolutely magnificent experience and what a bargain...no doubt when it's fully done up it'll be expensive and rerated star wise! Thanks! :)

Room Tip: Poolside is quiet and sunny on the balcony, Strip side if you like music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynn822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked a room with a full board. The food was ok, but the dinner room was full all the time. So, first we wait in the queue to get a table. And then during the meal, waiting to get clean plates, glasses, tableware… It happened in every single meal!
But the worst part was in the reception. They made a mistake with my reservation, and a rude waitress interroped me during dinner and ask me to go to the reception. After all, I showed it was their mistake and they never apologize. I don't recommend to anybody and I will not become back there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Cheap places will continue whilst folk keep using them. We enjoy getting more bargains per year than one expensive blow out every blue moon.
All the basics worked here, we even enjoyed the view on the strip side of the hotel, that is once we bought earplugs from the pharmacy {she sells lots} opposite. We even discovered we had a tiny view of the sea on the last day.
Breakfasts were interesting, the toaster taking longer than the 3 hour breakfast, good job the bread was excellent. If you are a fan of cold baked beans and tinned hot dogs you might enjoy it greatly.
Room and cleaning was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosiv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Me & my boyfriend (mid 20's) spent a week here 17th-24th October. We paid a ridiculously cheap price for bed & breakfast so weren't expecting much. The room is basic but had everything. The shower was good & housekeeping every day. We were facing the strip so loud music until 4am but that's what our holiday was for. We found the staff friendly & the breakfast was very plentiful, selection of hot/cold food to suit every taste. The pool was clean and the weather was fab except one wet day. I will return to this hotel if it is a cheap getaway I'm looking for as the location is excellent, right beside bars and 5/6 min walk to the beach. I highly reccomend to young partygoers :)

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good nights sleep please ask for a Pool-side view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrishLass892013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Oh dear,
I am not sure where to start. It is bad actually. I was there from Sunday 13th October until Sunday 20th October. The staff are ok except I think they are running the place on the bare minimum, so they are stretched. The room was ok and we had a pool view which was nice. Not very clean though. The cleaners don't like the corners very much! The floor was quite dirty. We then realised the bedside lights had no bulbs and later on the lights in the corridor where broken too which is dangerous in the event of a fire/escape etc. The washhand basin plug broke also, the simply removed it so you couldn't fill the sink to wash your face etc. We had a twin room and one of the beds had definitely seen better days.
The only lift to the dining room on the basement level, broke down twice. The first time it was fixed immediately on the Monday. The lift broke again by Wednesday and stayed that way for the rest of the week. This would be fine but I was with my elderly Grandmother. At 91 yrs of age, stairs can be difficult and having to use them for breakfast and dinner was a pain. The hotel was picked as she was assured it would be accessible for her. This really was not fair and there were other people with mobility issues who found this annoying also.
We were half board and breakfast was good except the 'orange juice' was cordial and not fresh and the bread was excellent. However, the main meal in the evening was terrible - namely the food was not hot ever and things were often overcooked or undercooked. Best items were the fresh tomatoes simply cut up in bowl, fresh fruit and the soup. The soups was good and that was it. The dining staff where really miserable and there was cockroaches too. Cleaning of cutlery & crockery etc was not fundamental, as things where often dirty. The table linens where not changed often enough and left on the tables even with spillages.
I think this place might have had its glory days in the past but the hotel is well past it's sell by date, mixed with sloppy service. There are works going on and it is part of a small chain - so maybe it is due a renovation. The whole palce is quite tired.
So, avoid and book somewhere else.

Room Tip: This hotel is not recommended for people with any disabilities - the lifts kept breaking down and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cecilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from a ten day stay here and find myself agreeing with some comments in the "Terrible" category but equally with some in the better categories. I wholly agree that the reception staff were not the most welcoming or particularly helpful unless pushed when they were OK.
The same cannot be said for the restaurant staff - I have seldom seen such a "minimalist" approach to laying a table - one knife, one fork and one glass - after that it's a game of "hunt the condiment" as no table will be blessed with a full set. The breakfasts were adequate and typical of most European hotels (and they didn't seem to care about us making ourselves rolls for lunch!). The evening meals were a different kettle of fish - well actually it was a kettle of fish every night usually accompanied by an attempt at a meat dish - can't really complain about the quality but it was so boring and you daren't put too much salt on as no liquid of any variety was provided (despite the glass!)

We were lucky enough to have a pool view room so weren't affected by the noise from "The Strip" and can't really complain about the quality of the room, though a bit of honesty about the "English" TV would have been welcome and I did resent being charged 2.80 euros per day to use the safe deposit box. The one group of staff who do deserve praise are the chambermaids who did an good job.

All in all, with the proximity to a very pleasant beach and the good fortune of great weather we had a good time.

Just before leaving we heard that the Aldeia was about to be assessed for upgrading to 4 star - if they get it I will never again trust the Portuguese Tourist Board or whatever they are!

Room Tip: Request a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.3 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Aldeia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Aldeia

Address: Avenida Dr Francisco Sa Carneiro, Albufeira 8200-340, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $45 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Aldeia 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel da Aldeia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Aldeia Albufeira
Hotel Da Aldeia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing