We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff make the vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The staff make the vacation”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We, grandparents, children and grandchildren, stayed in this hotel for the second time in two years. The resort had lost none of its charm and the staff were magnificent. From designing a cocktail to archery with the children they were most attentive.

I never write reviews but this trip was special. The hotel was full but the spacious gardens and pools seemed to be our own.

The bar overlooking the cliffs was a magic setting for a kia royal and Shirley temples for the kids.

food wise, fancy dining is available in all forms but the buffet was a family favorite.

Room Tip: Sea view works because the glass doors are soundproof if some excited people make excessive noise
See more room tips
Green Features: Sheraton lives up to its mission of being environmentally friendly as has done significant work in stabilizing cliff erosion
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chevalier_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to read your kind comments regarding your second time experience of staying at our Hotel. It is very rewarding to read your compliments regarding our associates and all your kind words are highly appreciated. Most of all we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us.

Thank you once again for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    283
    106
    48
    27
See reviews for
438
414
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Enjoyable Easter break spent at the Sheraton Algarve. Room was spacious and comfortable with a separate seating area and a nice view towards the sea, but not really a sea view. Balcony was large and the design made it feel safe so if you had young children they could be outside. It was cleaned to a high standard each day and décor of a good standard. Facilities outside the room include nice grounds, pools, and beach and bars restaurants. We did not use the outside pools but these looked clean and well maintained. We did however use the indoor pool after 730pm and this was very relaxing. The grounds were lovely to walk round and we took the train to take a tour. When you see the size of the resort from the train you realise why it never felt crowded. Sun beds were good quality and comfortable and there was never a problem of getting a bed or clean beach towels. Also in the grounds there was a nice pond/waterfall feature that we walked along and saw lots of frogs. It was a pity there had been a bad storm as it meant the beach bar was closed so we didn’t use the beach other than for a morning walk, but there were people down on the beach and it was clean and staffed so safe. Breakfast was excellent with good choices on offer and attentive service and had the option of sitting outside. We also used the outside restaurant at lunch time and as the portions were quite large we asked to share a club sandwich and it came to us presented as if we had ordered our own which was nice touch. We also used the bar inside for tapas on a couple of nights. Good small selection and tasty. The other bar we used was the cliff top bar at the end of the day. Nice views and again service, with snacks readily replenished. Yes drinks are expensive, but that is what you expect from a hotel of this quality and this level of service. There is a shop opposite where you can purchase a variety of items if needed from toiletries to food and drink. Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your Easter break at our Hotel. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the room, the balcony with the seaview, the cleanliness and the facilities. Thank you for your compliments on the well maintained pools, the grounds, the breakfast and on the breathtaking views from the cliffs.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is without question the hardest trip advisor review I have ever written as our experience resembled the western; the good, the bad and the ugly.

I will try and be brief but there are a lot of areas to cover.

This was a special trip for us as I was planning on celebrating my 40th birthday away with my wife and daughter. We have spent almost 100 nights in Sheraton Hotels over the past few years but not in Portugal, although I have been quite a lot to play golf and really like the country so if felt like a great combination.

The rooms
First I have to admit I made a mistake as previously being a SPG member has resulted in getting a free room upgrade so I booked the basic 'resort' room expecting a better one. Key learning point as this is in fact a view of a car park in front of the hotel's main reception.

I did raise the somewhat misleading description at reception and was offered an upgrade for an additional 30 euros a day which gave me a room of another side of the building and would have given us no evening sun on the balcony so we declined.

The room itself is very small and dated, I would like to say clean but quite frankly it wasn't. I enclose a couple of pictures of the layers of dust. Everything was tired, water damage on the ceiling, marks on the paintwork, light bulbs not working etc. All ok if you are staying in a travel lodge for £39 a night but not €360 a night.

We informed them before that we would need a bed for our daughter and 48 hours after booking we got a nice email asking my daughter's age so they provide an appropriately sized one. We are somewhat disappointed to find one that a small toddler could fit in not a normal sized 8 year old. A call to reception and this was resolved.

Our biggest complaint about the rooms was the noise which peaked one night when a series of drunken wedding guests (more on this later) who couldn't afford to stay at the hotel were waiting for a taxi. The noise and 'fruity' language woke up our family and yep you guessed it resulted in another call to reception at 2.30am. In all fairness it did stop shortly after my call more through the arrival of a taxi than outstanding customer service.

I also raised this the following morning with reception (along with a more serious issue) and did receive a very small bottle of port and some Portuguese cakes by way of an apology. Nice but hardly makes up for a dreadful night’s sleep and all of us feeling terrible the following day.

The restaurants on their own way are representative of the whole experience; excellent, confusing and contradictory.

The easy bit is the breakfast which is excellent with a great selection, the fresh fruit being by far the best. The service apart from one day when half the staff failed to appear was outstanding. The evening buffet was overpriced and offered a very limited selection compared to other Sheraton's we've stayed at. The Corda cafe great for snack type food and good value. The piri piri restaurant was good and the ribs amazing. The Pescador seafood/fish restaurant good but expensive when compared to what was available locally but outstanding customer service. The highlight was the beach bar which does require booking and offers a great setting with great food. It is, as the name suggests right on the beach front. There is one major negative....don't expect to have access to this every night as 'weddings' have the option to use this as a private function. Wonderful for the bride and groom, appalling for the poor guest who would like to eat there. For a plan B try golfinio's for lunch, about 100m away and half the price.

We also ate lunch by the pool on our loungers a lot, really good and can recommend the octopus salad - amazing.

The biggest problem with all these was it is clear to all the staff what they are and where they are but to a guest it is very confusing.

The resort
This is even more amazing, traditionally your hotel has a picture taken from the optimum angle to create a picture perfect postcard view. All the generic images show the front of the hotel which is not the best, and in fact probably the worst. The resort is really really good but again confusing as apartments, golf apartments, villas etc.

There's a nice little 9 hole golf course, golf centre, tennis academy, loads of pools with masses of loungers. A children's play area, and access to the beach via an elevator with your own loungers etc.

The staff
The staff are very attentive and keen to help. At this point I hand over to my daughter...

So as my dad just said the staff are lovely especially Lilliana. When we had the noisy guests Lilliana sent up some port and some Portuguese cakes (aka yum). I loved the cakes so much I wanted to show some gratitude so I sent a letter saying thank you which I posted to reception. In a few days’ time after sending it there was a phone call saying thank you and I very much appreciated it.

We really like the resort and especially the staff so are going back but instead will be staying at one of the golf apartments which we asked to look at and are more in line with Sheraton standards of excellence.

I have since found out from a taxi driver that the hotel is 25 years old and due a major refurbishment. With all of this in mind I personally would not recommend a stay here to anyone. Unless you can get a deal for 120 euros a night which is about the norm for a 3 star on the Algarve. If you want a better hotel, try the Conrad or stay in an apartment. Yes it's slightly more but looks worth every penny.

I raised all of these issues with the reception and gave them the opportunity to address, the offer of a small bottle of port and a few Portuguese cakes was nice but cost circa €10. So I write this openly and honestly and intend to share with the senior management as I am sure they will be at best embarrassed and worst ashamed.

I also intend to seek a significant goodwill gesture from Sheraton to reflect the impact on my family of a very special occasion.

Please email me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sare your feedback on TripAdvisor, which we genuinely appreciate.

As requested, we have contacted you in order to discuss the several points raised and we appreciate the opportunity to personally address your concerns.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski Municipality, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very good service from excellent staff. The staff did all they could to provide my family ( kids 7-11-12 years) with super and friendly service. Rooms, Scenery, location, food - very good. The price is too high. will come back one day :) thx.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us and letting us spoil you.

Your kind words on our associates show us that we were able to keep our core values. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed so much the location, the setting and the rooms.

We hope to welcome you back to experience some more indigenous and unique experiences.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Would have expected a higher standard in this price range. The first apartment we got was out dated and wear was dominating the impression. For an extra charge of 25 Euros a night we got a much better apartment.Stay clear of the apartment by the gate, ask for some of the apartment close to the reception area, or go for the more pricy ones in the newer functionalist housing area.

Great park and pool areas. A must try is the sun set bar by the cliffs.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the apartment by the gate, ask for some of the apartment close to the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaardS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We do regret to learn that we were not able to exceed your best expectations. Your remarks are very important to us and were promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again here at our property.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
300 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is truly a great hotel with perfect location on a cliff above the beach, teh setting is just magnificent. You can walk to the beach or stay by the 2 swimming pools. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff very friendly. Just park the car and stay there.

Room Tip: If you can afford get a seaview room
See more room tips
Green Features: My onçy negative remnarks regards the lack of sand on the beach that should be properly addressed
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tozepinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay at Sheraton Algarve Hotel and we would like thank you for posting your kind words on TripAdvisor regarding our magnificent setting.

We are very happy with the compliments on our associates friendliness and we are glad to learn that you could relax. We appreciate your kind words and we would like to explain you that our beach suffered the effects of a big storm that took the sand away. We have tried to fix our beach and we did the best we could as we are under the laws of the maritime authority. We understand your remark and we appreciate and promptly shared with our Management Team for their consideration.

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow<Scotland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is what it says on the label FIVE STAR. This was the forst time myself and my wife had stayed at this hotel and we were not let down by its appearance, cleanliness, friendliness of staff and the rooms etc. We loved it from the moment we arrived. The reception staff were very friendly and very helpful.As were the other staff. Nothing was a bother for them and this got us off to a great start. We got a room that overlooked the garden It was a fabulous room big and spacious. The only down was there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. This would have been even better and something the hotel should take into consideration. The grounds and pools were wonderful as was the views over the cliff tops to the Atlantic. The beach was also well laid out they even had staff to take you to a vacant bed. The only thing was the wind was a bit blowey and sand got everywhere but no matter wonderful experience. The beds in the grounds were softer and more comfortable. The Breakfast was well worth the money spent. We were not so enthralled about the dinner buffet and felt that it was a bit pricey for what you got. We found an italian retaraunt just outside the hotel which served wonderful pizza and italian meals that did not cost the earth. But that was just down to personal taste. It is a hotel I could very easily return to and be very happy. Well done the staff.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled with your review and we would like to thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your compliments on our associates and for your 5 star rating. It is very important to receive such a great review as it motivates us to keep work on our core values and show us our guest`s recognition. Thank you once again for your kindliness.

Regarding your remarks about the coffee maker we do not provide in the rooms indeed but we have a room service that can provide you under request. However we highly value your remarks and promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

We look forward to welcome you back on our property where you can live indigenous and unique experiences.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
12.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
7.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
12.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing