We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a great stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We attended a wedding at this hotel and stayed for 2 nights. It was really lovely. Our apartment was so nice and staff couldn't have been more helpful. The wedding meal was great and it was such an enjoyable experience eat outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to learn how much you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for letting us know how well the wedding was.

Your comments regarding our staff and accommodation are of great importance to us and we do hope you can visit is in the near future for a longer stay.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    283
    106
    48
    27
See reviews for
438
414
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As opposed to Mediterranean resorts, the Algarve coast on the Atlantic is in every way more pleasant: The sun is always shining, but constant breeze from the ocean will keep you cool. In addition the water is cleaner. And if you're going there, choose the Sheraton.
Once you're inside the walls of this resort, you don't want to leave. It has it all, great beaches, pools, nice restaurants-bars, and lots of sports you can do. It is something of a paradise, I would say both for families and couples. But perhaps not at the same time.The only problem with this hotel is it seems to be torn by the question who they wish their guests to be. A clearer profile in the marketing, perhaps?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recommendation. We are happy to learn that the Resort facilities, restaurants, bars and activities provided you the most enjoyable stay with us.
Your comments are extremely important to us, as they motivate us to continue to improve our services.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really do not know where to start. The Sheraton hotel is just phenomenal. I had my wedding in the Tabu Garden and the Aldar suite in July and it was the most amazing day. Carina the wedding co-ordinator is one of a kind. She is absolutely fantastic at her job and our wedding wouldnt have been the same without her.
The service at the hotel is second to none, the food is 5* and the grounds / rooms ( we stopped in the ocean view bridal suite) are just beautiful.
Could not fault this hotel in anyway!!!
Mrs Caroline Greenwell

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazguy0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed the events held with us and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our Hotel for such an important date in your life.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we have promptly shared them with Carina and her team.

We look forward to welcome you to our Hotel once again.

Best Wishes,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are a family of 5 (children 10,7 & 5). We wanted a relaxing holiday with a good pool or two, a close sandy beach in a "classy hotel".

The Sheraton Pine Cliffs gave us all of this, plus more. The staff were brilliant and the many restaraunts on site were all extremely good. We even managed to relax with our kids about, as they were never bored.

The kids had plenty to do with the various activities about and the hard working entertainment staff and thoroughly enjoyed themselves as well.

We went in May half term and next year have already booked to go during the Easter break. There were an awful lot of regulars there, so it goes to show how once you come to the Sheraton Pine Cliffs, the hotel wins you over.

Room Tip: We had a view of the gardens which was great, the alternative is a pool view I believe which looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to learn that your recent stay with us exceeeded your expectations and your kind words about our associates and the Hotel grounds, food, services and facilities are much apprecaited.

Customer care is amongst our highest priorityes and your comments are extremely important to us, as they motivate us to continue to improve our services.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward for your visit next Easter break.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

As a rule we're not a huge fan of large hotel chains - not that there's anything wrong with them, we just like smaller, quieter resorts. This hotel has for the first time, challenged our preference.

To start with, there's a very nice aura, vibe, ambience here - staff are happy, smiley and very welcoming, guests are relaxed and everything seems to be running at half of the pace of normal life - which is just what we're all looking for when we go on holiday. The grounds are beautifully maintained and manicured, and what we liked the most about here was the variety of options of what to do everyday. Unlike a typical hotel where you might just have one pool, this Sheraton has two large pools and it's own gated private beach. By virtue of this, you can break up the day by perhaps spending the morning down at the beach and afternoon by the pool or vice versa. The beach itself is I think the best feature of this hotel. You take a lift down the cliff edge to the beach and walk 2 minutes along a wooden pathway to where you find rows and rows of sunbeds. Adjacent is their fabulous beach restaurant which we ate at several times. The staff are so friendly and attentive they actually enhance your lunch experience - once they get to know you they are even more attentive, remembering your names, your drink preferences etc, and they're keen to point out the best dishes of the day etc.

The breakfast area was also one of our favourite features. Set outdoors on a traditional Portuguese terrace; think terracotta tiles, creeping bougainvillea, wrought iron tables and chairs etc, it's like a little oasis in the heart of the complex. Again, the staff are impeccable, especially the maitre'd that welcomes guests to their tables - she is just fabulous and has a relentless smile on her face, I actually wondered if she had toothpicked the corners of her mouth half way up her cheeks. This area also makes a beautiful setting for dinner there, which is their seafood restaurant in the evening - also very impressive although we found the evening staff not as efficient or attentive.

They're a couple of new additions to the restaurant list - a Japanese and Piri Piri place - these are situated outside of the hotel and in the wider gated complex. Neither are particularly spectacular and don't possess the same charm of warmth as the restaurants onsite, but they do provide other options to the families staying in the hotel and I can see that if we had children then we would have perhaps valued these other restaurants a bit more.

The rooms are probably the only downfall - they seemed a little tired, and a bit lacking in something... not sure what? We had a terrace which was a decent size but scant of a decent table and set of chairs - kind of made the concept a bit pointless as we didn't bother using it.

This Sheraton is most definately a family resort - or a resort you go to with another couple. We're in our early 30s and as we were visiting my father and stepmother on their holiday there we didn't feel the need to venture out after dinner in the evenings but I wonder had we gone on our own whether we would have enjoyed it as much? Nevertheless, fabulous experience and we would quite happily return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chief M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted with your kind words about our associates and the Hotel grounds, food, services and facilities and it makes us very happy to learn how much you have enjoyed your stay with us!

Customer care is amongst our highest priorityes and your comments are extremely important to us, as they motivate us to continue to improve our services.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward for your next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here on points and thought it was wonderful. Service was extremely slow at all bars and restaurants except o pescador where I was very impressed with the service and locale, and surprised by a bill below others on the property. There are lots of children at the pools so we headed for the lovely beach. There were always chairs available to lounge in and we enjoyed ourselves immensely in the setting. Our room was clean and had a large balcony over the courtyard where we could enjoyna bottle of wine. Overall we would go back. It is an expensive place to stay, and for the price, there might be better places. But not having actually stayed at any other places, this was wonderful. I wouldn't push this property on anyone, but I'd certainly not have a problem recommending it. I'd post pictures but feel the ones on here do it pretty good justice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thestresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your kind comments about Pescador Restaurant, our beach facilities and the room provided.

We look forward for another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and Resort.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
237 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stunning location 25 minutes drive from Faro airport.
Private resort with gated community of villas and hotel rooms.
Very clean and immaculate gardens.
Serving staff throughout stay were very pleasant and helpful.
Rooms a little tired. Cars can drive fast on narrow road so watch your young ones.
Beach very clean and water sports service here was good
However, there were several annoying aspects to our visit:
Pool areas were full of loud ignorant adults and children screaming and throwing balls all over the place. We were splashed several times and had to move. If you want quiet and relaxation, stay well clear of these areas. Not much control here from staff.
Integral 9 hole golf course is challenging. However you will find groups of boys playing here hitting each other with their own clubs, coaches who don't care if they hold you up - they even practice shots several times mid-fairway - even though other players are waiting. Plus, if there is slow play ahead, you are actively asked to join other groups to speed up play!
Some good restaurants on site. However, my advice would be to stay well away from Piri Piri.
Very long wait here for meals (65 minutes for ours), with haphazard management.
Real disappointment and no real apology - very disingenuous.
On balance, Yakuza Japanese restaurant and staff were very good.
Hotel sleep can be disturbed by old air conditioning units rattling through the night and noisy people on the tiled floors.
Prices for food, drinks and golf here is what you would expect from a Sheraton. Therefore, we expected better value for money and a first class experience. We didn't get it.
Finally, if you do venture out to local towns, suggest you steer clear of nearby Albufeira and go instead to Vilamoura.
Lovely setting but there was an underlying lack of class and quality to our stay. Real shame.

Room Tip: Go high so that you don't have to hear everyone above you. Ask for a room away from a pool as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RUSS1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback at TripAdvisor and for your compliments on our associates, the Resort grounds and beach facilities.

Although we regret to learn we haven’t fully met your expectations, we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback, as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is up to our usual standards.

Your comments are worth of our best attention and please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. Feel free to contact us on 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com, should you wish to address any subject in particular.

We truly hope you grant us another opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel and Resort and make your next stay memorable.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
12.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
7.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
12.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing