We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Tasquinha Do Rossio - CLOSED

A Tasquinha Do Rossio
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
240 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Slightly overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Read the reviews of this place and was really looking forward to trying it. We both eat a lot of fish, but was surprised that there wasn't any kind of menu for food or drinks. We ordered the fish plate, I thought it was quite expensive at 24 euros as some of the fish wasn't particularly big and found it all slightly oily.I certainly didn't feel full at the end of it. I would rather have been able to choose what type of fish I wanted to eat. The pate was very nice and the small port at the end a nice touch. Sorry but wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    21
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tall story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Sorry didnt actually get to eat here we walked to this restaurant one day and was told the catch hadnt arrived so we ordered a beer and coffee the owner couldnt appologise enough and gave us the drinks on the house he seemed upset we hadnt been able to dine there.Place dosnt look that special but you could tell the food was going to be bang on

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank markdawn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not just a meal - an experiance in delightful cusine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wow.What a hidden jem this is.Busy when we arrived ,no room at the inn.We returned and the wait was more than worth it.
Fish or beef or chicken - no menu - strange but a great forward thinking piece of marketing.

Home made crab pate that could quite easily become the next Reggae reggae sucess story - yes its that good, and its only the starter. As other state its an absolute must.Baby squid- that no one really fancied- but all adored, salmon enough for a meal on its own.Sea bream next,horse mackeral after that , Golden bream diffent again from the seas bream.All daisy fresh and cooked to perfection salad and tatoes to accompany.Sweets to die for goood wines cheap,Service fromthe top drawer,What more do you want.A repeat visit soon please.A must on any trip to the Algarve,go out of your way to eat here. Its a must do one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LancashireNoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I would rate this place ten points out of five if I could. The grilled mixed fish is an absolute bargain. You could easily pay £30 per person for a meal like this but, at €12 a head, it's so cheap it's criminal. Best to visit this place on an empty stomach ... believe me ... you'll be glad you did.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gem230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people, charming setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Came across this restaurant in a little back street on our way to the beach and remembered the name. We sat outside and enjoyed the far-off view of the sun setting over the sea, the authentic setting (a street where the real residents live) and then the delicious crab pate starter, followed by a succession of fish all beautifully grilled with lemon slices to squeeze over: Salmon, baby squid, swordfish, sea bream, mackerel, golden bream, sardines. We took such a liking to the place and Rui and his sweet, beautiful sister that we booked to come back on our last night, knowing it would be a more special memory for us than anywhere else.
This time we also tried the delicious puddings: warm chocolate cake, chocolate sauce and cream, and fresh strawberries with syrup and icecream. Two complimentary glasses of port and some lovely personal service from Rui's sister, all for 40 Euros - no Michelin restaurant could have pleased us better that night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Merry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tasquinha Do Rossio also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing