We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, welcoming portuguese!!”
Review of A cocheira

A cocheira
Ranked #148 of 800 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful, welcoming portuguese!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visit the cocheria many time a year and have for the last 5 years, we have always had a fantastic evening, and have loved introducing many family and friends as well, and they now love it as much as us!!!! A family run restaurant father,and son front of house and mum cooking up wonderful food in the kitchen. I was fortunate to celebrate my 40th birthday last August and could not think of anywhere better to go and I was throughly spoiled It is perfect for any time of year and cant wait to go again next week!!! See you soon Cocheria Melissa Peter Abigail and Alice

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msheenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    25
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Family business”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A genuine Father and Son Restaurant
Really lovely people
Service ,First Class
Food Wonderful, Traditional and Classical
Wine, go and see the selection ,literally! it is all on view
7.50 Euros for a Reserva, enough said
Value for Money Oh Yes!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BRRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Simply Very Good”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was my second visit to A cocheira and it did not let us down. We were made to feel very welcome by the manager and staff. As it was St Martins Day we were given free aperitifs and free chestnuts . They also had a special chicken dish with chestnuts. I had the Sole Tropical -- beautiful. Unfortunately we had to rush as we had another engagement, but we will definitely be back . Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived in Club Albufeira on our first visit to portugal and late on the day of our 40th wedding anniversery. Desperate to celebrate the occasion I asked the taxi driver if he knew anywhere suitable and he said "I know just the place" and he took us to Il Tipico. I will always be grateful to him for making our day to one to remember.
This is a family run restaurant and Dad and Son made us feel so welcome and helped us chose the food and wine. I suspect the real hero "Mum" was in the kitchen producing superb food and what was really impressive was the variety and quality of the vegetables that accompanied the meal. It made our day and when we returned on further visits the standard was just the same.
An added bonus was that it was a short walk home with a smile on our faces.


Seamus and Mary Murphy
Dublin

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beware56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you only eat out once it has to here!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just back from Albufeira and our 4th visit to this lovely restaurant. As other reviewers have said you are remembered and welcomed back but also receive a friendly greeting on your 1st visit. The food is consistently excellent and the service great. If you enjoy your wine they never fail to recommend the perfect one for your meal choice. We have always sat outside in the patio area which has a lovely ambiance, you can reserve your favourite table and spend all evening there as they never hurry you. I would like to go there in the winter as the interior also looks inviting but haven't yet had the opportunity. On our last visit we had a dessert of strawberries with cointreau and black pepper, it was to die for! If you only eat out once during your holiday it has to be here, you won't regret it. Easy walk from the old town, this time we walked from Montechero it took about half an hour. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley-Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A cocheira also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to A cocheira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing