We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to stay and close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salgados Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salgados Palace
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great to stay and close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Well this property is huge. They have hotel, villas, apartments and aparthotels, all close to the beach. We spend a weekend there, in the hotel. What was strange at first was that they didn't have a concierge at the door, there was no guy for the valet and the check-in took a while. Not because of a lack of employees but probably because some of them were still in training. The room was pretty nice, with a different bathroom, just top of the art. Just a little note, there was more light missing in the bathroom.
The pool, 2 for the grownups and one for the children, were huge and because of the dark tiles, the temperature of the water was really damn good! The towel service was not good for a 5 star hotel. You have to collect your towel at the reception.
In other hand, you can use the SPA facilities as you wish, no entrance fee needed. Nice indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and turkish bath. If you forget your cap, you'll pay €5/each.
The dinner buffet was good but not amazing. There were more sweets and desserts than other kinds of food. But the drinks were included and you can drink as much water as you like.
If you book early, you can get a good relation quality/price for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRibeiro2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    220
    73
    17
    13
See reviews for
181
259
5
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spend one week in this hotel. The swimming pool was lovely, the spa relax was very good. The food was good. Beautiful room. Very nice gardens in the hotel. Proximity to beach good. Very clean. Every night very good music. Good value for money. The cleaner broke my perfume in our room and the management replaced immediately.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonino A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHOTELS, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palace, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion, it is very importante for us.
We feel very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Salgados Grande hotel, as well as our services.
About your perfume, we apologise for the "accident", sometimes it happens but we are here to solve it on time!
Hope to welcome you again in a near future.

With my very best wishes,
Bruno Gamito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

everything was great!!!!recommended this hotel.superb location and great service.the weather was very hot but the several pools offer a very fresh environment where you can relax and go for a swim from time to time.



  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Francisco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSHOTELS, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palace, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Francisco,

Thank you for the great review!
We feel very happy to know that you really have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again at Salgados Grande hotel in a near future, it will be a pleasure.

Kind regards,
Bruno Gamito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We got to the hotel very late on our arrival.
Staff was so good, they went out of their way to get us food.
Hotel is really beautiful and our room was really nice. Hotel is not in the centre but they do have a bus service right out side the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
4 Thank Prem Kumari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Me and my boyfriend visited this hotel in September and we couldn't have asked for a better week!

The hotel was imaculate and v.modern. Exactly what a 5* hotel should be. Our rooms were huge and v.clean.

The pool was lovely and peaceful. Most people staying there were Portugese we were one of the only English. The breakfast was the only dissapointment, it was always cold and there wasn't much choice. The lunch was lovely, and dinner was not great either.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the beach i would reccomend walking and not getting a cab as the walk is a lot more enjoyable.

It is about a 20 minute cab ride into town which can be quite costly if you want to get out of the hotel every night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a great experience at the Salgados Grande Hotel. We were 3 couples staying for a long bank holiday weekend:

Pros:

Great value for money
5 minute walk to Salgados and Gale beaches which are both beautiful
Friendly and helpful staff
Generous buffet breakfast included
Comfortable beds and huge rooms
3 lovely pools
Right next to the golf course which was great too
Incredible spa facilities which were free of charge

Cons:

The driving range is located right next to the swimming pools, so it's only open from 8am-10am..bit of a strange design fault.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Pool: amazing, lovely natural round stone pools with a dark natural blue water.
Birds surrounding the hotel and on the grounds were lovely.
Food: we only experienced breakfast but probably the biggest selection and best quality breakfast I ever had!
Beds: the most comfortable beds ever, in fact we nearly got one shipped over to the UK!
Location: near a lovely beach and lovely walks.
Spa: beautiful, had a circuit spa and it was just lovely.
I really can rate this hotel as being a dramatic entrance, superior, great views from your amazing room with great food and cleanliness!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LauraB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.1 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#12 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#18 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 2 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#29 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Palace

Property: Salgados Palace
Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal (Formerly Salgados Grande Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#14 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salgados Palacel is located near Albufeira, between the golf and the beach, at Herdade dos Salgados. With majestic interiors, its design is contemporary, however cosy. Here, you will find plenty to spend your time. In the morning, walk along the Salgados Beach with the family or explore the Salgados Lagoon. Later in the day, lounge around one the 3 outdoor pools, before a massage in the magnificent SPA. By late afternoon, save some time for an aperitif in the Sunset Bar, whilst enjoying, in the horizon over the nature reserve, the spectacle of colours after which the bar was named, followed by dinner in one of our restaurants. The hotel, ideal for couples and families, has 228 accommodation units and features great facilities, as well as a modern Congress Centre. A place where design and comfort walk hand-in-hand, between the golf and the beach, this is truly the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and ETB so you can book your Salgados Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel And Spa
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Palace Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing