We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms close to fabulous beach golfers paradise!”
Review of Salgados Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salgados Palace
Ranked #30 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was excellent, enormous beds, with luxury linens, fluffy pillows, shower.....WOW!
Walked to the Salgados Beach, for a warm swim, and then cold beer at beach bar.
Breakfast plenty of variety, busy as they were serving over 500 guests.
Needs some TLC very clinical foyer, but nice friendly staff.
Hired a car and traveled to many excellent local restaurants for dinner of fresh fish, steak on stone etc.,
Next to Salgados Golf, so perfect for golfers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 912 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Excellent relaxing stay. Three lovely pools outside, one of them for toddlers. The pools are very cold but I used the spa service at 10 Euros a day. people used the pools but I wasn't always brave enough to brace the cold water and mainly swam in the spa pool.
The staff are very polite and helpful, room service excellent but comes with a charge. Huge variety of food at breakfast time. Only booked b&b but food eaten any time of day that I ordered was excellent.
The rooms are top class, they provide a small mini bar, kettle etc but if you want coffee, milk etc save the pennies and pop into spar in albuferira. There is a red bus service from the hotel every 40minutes. It gives you a tour but has 18 stops so you can jump off and on it any time. Replenishing your fridge, which saves loads. In all honesty the hotel provides everything, I just like my nescafe! Buying it in town or bottled water is hugely cheaper.
A ticket for the red bus is 13 Euros and covered me for two days. I love the crazy buzz of the strip but the quiet relaxation out of town suited me and my husband on honeymoon at this beautiful hotel. You can get a taxi into town and hire a small car at 65 Euros for 3 days. I love this hotel. PS if you love golf then this is a heaven for you. If you get a taxi aim for one that has T on it it stands for tourist taxi because otherwise you get a taxi ride like in the grande Prix they drive very fast.

Room Tip: I booked a room with golf view I found it beautiful rather than looking onto other rooms.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel - well its rooms and its public areas (those that are open) - is beautiful. But to stay here, and know the, very recent, history puts everything into perspective. It is a modern day folly, the dream of some over ambitious hoteliers, architects and developers, who dreamt up the idea of a five star resort, but could not deliver.

Let us say the welcome from the efficient reception staff is warm, and when you arrive in your truly 5 star bedroom you begin to wonder how they do it for the price. Once you have taken it all in - the super king size bed, the amazing shower/wet room, separate WC, separate was basin area, huge TV, copious wardrobe space you may find the clearly expensive stick on murals, brown wood effect floor, brown carpets and brown walls a bit strange. The basic balconies offer either a distant sea view, resort view or golf view. In short, the rooms are very modern, very different and very very good.

The lifts, which you programme before entry whisk you to your chosen floor - no stopping and changing mind or direction - to Reception, pool, underground car park. It is when you start to explore that you realise the project is far from finished. The promised piano bar, moonshine restaurant and other nice areas to relax are closed. The site has a 1600 seat events theatre - why? This is hardly the sort of place for international conferences. The reception bar is nice, very open, but hopelessly understaffed. The lovely waitress had to walk miles to an ice machine, and even on a night when there were fewer than 20 guests drinking and snacking, she was unable to cope. More staff and efficiency is clearly needed.

But it is still nice. Until you decide to eat dinner there (every other restaurant is a car ride away). You are shown into a cavernous restaurant (the only one they currently open), and shown a dried up buffet of frankly unappetising buffet items more suited to a two star package hotel. No a la carte, no choice other than this mess. Very, very disappointedly we got in the car and went to one of the many local restaurants within a ten minute drive.

Breakfast is sort of OK. Attentive staff, served in the big restaurant, with a wide choice of food. But, this food is of a very poor quality, such as supermarket style wafer thin ham, burnt bacon, congealed eggs, and very poor coffee.

Returning to the financial state of this hotel, you realise the problem. The founding group went into administration, the hotel was closed for a period, and staff at group hotels protesting about being unpaid. It seems as if the very banks that may have made the decision to back the project now own and attempt to operate it. It really is such a shame. Go back? Yes, but for room only and always with a car. This area is lovely, but here is an example of a dream that cannot be sustained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel has good facilities for relaxing. The three pools are great specially if you have kids.
The rooms are big and the shower is the best!
It's 10m walk to beach.
However i was expecting more for a 5 star hotel but on the overall is an excellent hotel for relaxing and leave the car on the garage

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived to a lovely looking hotel.However found the staff not 5 star.A bar man wasn't interested in helping us just complained about his boss not doing any work.Reception staff were a little unhelpful at times.Pools were quiet and had great weather to make the holiday better.
We had a flood in the shower which happened in another room too whilst we were there.
About 10-15 to the beach and about €12-€15 euro taxi to the Old Town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Loved the room with poolview, all new and very clean. Great large beds and fluffy pillows. Breakfast is nice, enough choice and all good. Beach is a 10 minute walk.
Pools are very nice.

Wifi was very good in the reception area and in our room on the 1st floor.

We ate lunch at the pool bar a few times, which was nice and prices are ok. We did not like the dinner buffet, not all food is warm, restaurant is too crowded and loud. Price for the dinner buffet is 22 euro. Or you can order room service for less. We preferred to take the car to the nearby towns and beaches and dine there (much better and cosier for less than 22 eur pp).

Overall its nice to have a car, there are many nice places in the area to visit. Free parking just in front of the hotel.

We paid +-80 eur per night for 2 persons, breakfast included. Was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

In general the hotel is very new and improving their services.

But the staff was always helpful and the facilities are very good. Nice spa and swimming pools.

10-15min walking from the beach.


The rooms with seaview are comfortable and spacious. Very clean hotel.

Only needs to improve the breakfast which is almost the same everyday.

Room Tip: Seaview on 4th or 5th floor). Amazing to see the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surprise1All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Palace

Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal (Formerly Salgados Grande Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $99 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salgados Palacel is located near Albufeira, between the golf and the beach, at Herdade dos Salgados. With majestic interiors, its design is contemporary, however cosy. Here, you will find plenty to spend your time. In the morning, walk along the Salgados Beach with the family or explore the Salgados Lagoon. Later in the day, lounge around one the 3 outdoor pools, before a massage in the magnificent SPA. By late afternoon, save some time for an aperitif in the Sunset Bar, whilst enjoying, in the horizon over the nature reserve, the spectacle of colours after which the bar was named, followed by dinner in one of our restaurants. The hotel, ideal for couples and families, has 228 accommodation units and features great facilities, as well as a modern Congress Centre. A place where design and comfort walk hand-in-hand, between the golf and the beach, this is truly the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Splitty and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salgados Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel And Spa
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Palace Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing