We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diabolical”
Review of Salgados Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salgados Palace
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Diabolical”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

5***** Hotel My A*!* Breakfast was a disgrace..... soggy cold scambled eggs, undercooked cold bacon, snotty fried eggs . Disgusting sausages again cold. Arrogant moody staff and a not at all helpful Duty Manager (Joao Sequeira). To make it worse my iphone was stolen from my room while i was out in albufeira having a evening meal. I have a print out of the times that my room was entered by a employee of the hotel who entered the room twice within a 15 minute period apparently to do a simple thing, which was to change the room service menu. I even have his name on the print out. (Bruno Concalves) I Told the hotel duty manager i wanted the police to come to the hotel and he said the police would not come to the hotel i had to go to the ploice station in albufeira. Went to the police station... What a waste of time that was. The police said i needded a interpreter and they didnt speak english only portuguise. Now i have to pay £50 excess to get a new iphone which is going to take over a week for the insurence claim to clear. Overall This Hotel and it staff is Utter 5***** Nightmare and Diabolical I would certainley not advise anyone to go there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank rollodiscomia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    281
    101
    25
    21
See reviews for
261
304
5
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We went in August so CS Salgados was completely full of guests.

In a previous year we went to CS Salgados Dunas Suite and we liked it so we decided to try Grande Hotel. It was an horrible experience:

- the hotel is very bad frequented. people without any manners with children running and screaming everywhere all the time including next to the rooms and late at night.

- pool without any supervision allowing entry to foreign friends from other guests. They used the pool and the the bars as they were guests of the hotel.Shocking!!!!

- guests reserved the sunbeds and didn't appear for hours!!! it was very dificult to get a sun bed. Again, pool without any supervision.

- food was reasonable but the restaurants where like school canteen's. Super noisy, plastic tables without table cloth's. just a paper like a fast food rest.

- if you want to take a drink at night forget. You'll find the lobby full of people smoking cigarrets and watching football games. naughty children, screaming and lying on the ground. It was horrible, super super crowded really like a bus station.

- the hotel infrastructure is very good (room, pools, reception, etc) but the big problem is the kind of people the frequent's the hotel.

- staff was polite but in the restaurants they just take the dishes from the table. I think they could do a little more and ask for the drinks for example.

- we thought we were doing a good deal but definitly this hotel doesn't deserve the 5 stars compared with other in Algarve.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mrm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Despite the negative reviews on Tripadvisor, my wife and I (and one year old daughter) decided to give this hotel a try, especially considering the cheap rate on offer. When we arrived, the hotel was half empty which meant a room upgrade and three perfectly maintained pools mostly to ourselves. The expansive sandy beach was a 15 minute walk away and well worth it because it too was empty and clean. The facilities at the hotel are first class; the room was large with a child friendly balcony and the beds firm and comfortable. In retrospect, going for half board was a mistake because the restaurant only opened at 7.30pm and so on the first three nights we only finished our 3 courses at 9.30pm which wasn't great with a tired child (the service sped up on the last 2 nights for some reason and we were in and out within an hour). The service (at the poolside restaurant and generally really) wasn't amazing, seemingly because this is a new hotel. But we were left alone, which suited us fine. The staff was always friendly and spoke perfect English. The breakfast, which received a number of criticisms on Tripadvisor, was better than many we have had on the Continent. Dinners were average to be honest; a case of the chef trying too hard without getting the basics right, in my opinion. All in all, this was a fantastic surprise and we will definitely be returning. I just hope it is not too busy the next time around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank London_UKColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

First of all, the hotl is gorgeous and you could be in Vegas for the opulance that surrounds your everywhere you go. They have ploughed alot of money into this development and not enough money into staff training and customer service. The service was painfully slow (40 minutes to get a tonic water by the pool) and most of the time you felt ignored. If you wanted something - you had to ask for it and normally, more than once. No idea as to the facilities of the complex as there was no information pack in the rooms. Only managed to find the beach by accident! No drinks offered by the pool - you had to take your chance at the poolside bar...not the best prospect! Shops? Managed to find one on the complex which was only open odd hours and looked like it was stocked by rationing. I think they only posessed one CD that they played day and night, so if you don't like Lily Allen - you're stuffed! The food was okay, but was cold for the most part so I wouldn't entertain eating there everynight. Breakfast was again,cold mostly but plenty of selection. Getting a coffee was like pulling teeth too. I think they really need to get someone in there who knows how to handle customers properly as it would be a shame for this venture to fail as it is beautiful and the location to the beach is fabulous. Would I go again? Maybe in 5 years when they've got their act together! If this is how it is in low-season, I shudder tot hink how they got through high-season!

Room Tip: The gold view room was beautiful and I think you'd be hard-pressed to improve on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crocettesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montijo, Portugal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

At arrival the "grande" is difficult to find, nothing tells you where it is, and it is kind of hidden behind a congress building.

The lobby is big, and has 4 or 5 desks to attend you, but there aren't many people there, so is normal to have a 3/4 people cue to attend guests.

after check in, luggage was sent to our room by hotel staff and was asked if I wanted my car parked in the garage by staff.

Couldn't undersant why smoking was allowed in the lobby, and why the "sports" bar, witch was a closed one, smoking was not allowed. It should be switched!!!

Best buffet food ever, average choice, but never had a cold dish... Very clean plates. Excellent deserts, but few fruits. In the AI system you can also have red, white or rose wine. The white is very good.

There are no food in the pool areas, you have to go to the open restaurant if you want a snack during morning or afternoon, witch is not nice, since you have to go through hotel corridors in your wet clothes.

there are two other Italian restaurants that you have to book, but we didn't like them as much as the buffet ones.

Excellent rooms, big bed, separated shower and bathroom areas, big LCD TV with about 20+ digital channels and pay per view.
Good balcony, but the noise from AC machines is always present during the night witch becomes very tiring.

Staying in the "grande" you can also use the "palm" facilities, and you have about 12 excellent pools where you can go to.

At the "grande" pools, people reserve sunbeds with the hotel towels, and then those places remain empty for the day and staff do nothing about it. There are not many sunbeds around the pools. Even worse, towels get steeled if you let them there during lunch. It has happened to us!!!

The Salgados Beach is excellent, but it's about a 10 minute walk, or you can go in your car. Parking is easy.

Entertainment it's poor, but staff are nice and try to do a good job.

It's an excellent deal since we paid about 950€ for a weeks, with 2 adults and a baby, but it's not a real 5 stars.

Room Tip: Use the Palm Pools, if you want a quieter place and where sunbeds are not reserved with towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroTiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Booked Expedia. Beautiful hotel. Room excellent. clean fab view(golf course pool and sea) Beds and pillows best ever had in an Hotel.Wet room excellent. Lots towels, robes slippers! Staff all very good and efficientCcollected luggage on arrival ,escorted us to room, also took cases to transport when leaving.Were very accomodating allowed us "late check-out" with no hassell. Biggest no, no, SMOKING allowed in lounge where children are playing the only indoor lounge! I could not sit there so much smoke did not think should be allowed indoors as plenty of outdoor terraces where smoking was allowed!
Big let down was the "dining experience" Dining rooms were more like canteens, no table cloths stackable chairs, more like a school dining hall. The food was plentiful and varied but was always cold (no matter what time you ate). Beautiful walk down to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a Golf course view. Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edgefold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We booked a family suite in this hotel through Expedia several months ago. However, on arrival we were allocated a room in the Palm Village as the hotel does not have any suites! The Palm Village is a made up of blocks of apartments which have been changed into rooms and is definitely not a 5 star hotel! Having previously stayed in suites in other CS hotels we were very disappointed. Architecture and decor are familiar but that is where the similarity ends! On arrival, there were no porters to help with luggage and we had to drag our cases through the extensive grounds to our room. Trying to make any reservations for on-site sporting activities with concierge service is a joke! My husband wanted to reserve a tee time and was told he had to walk to the club house to do this. Booking tennis courts was even worse, involving a 10min walk every morning to a different reception( nowhere near the courts) then repeating the walk to collect the key to play tennis and again to return the key! The food on offer in all the restaurants is poor, usually cold and probably comparable to that on offer on a 3 star package deal! Tinned fruit and watered down concentrate fruit juice. We often had to warm food up in the microwave oven! If this hotel markets itself as a 5 star hotel, it should offer the quality and service which guests expect to receive in a 5 star establishment. This felt more like a cheap package hotel!

Room Tip: Check when booking which building your reservation is in, main hotel or apartment block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank montyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
572 reviews
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
452 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sao Rafael Suites
Sao Rafael Suites
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Palace

Property: Salgados Palace
Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal (Formerly Salgados Grande Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salgados Palacel is located near Albufeira, between the golf and the beach, at Herdade dos Salgados. With majestic interiors, its design is contemporary, however cosy. Here, you will find plenty to spend your time. In the morning, walk along the Salgados Beach with the family or explore the Salgados Lagoon. Later in the day, lounge around one the 3 outdoor pools, before a massage in the magnificent SPA. By late afternoon, save some time for an aperitif in the Sunset Bar, whilst enjoying, in the horizon over the nature reserve, the spectacle of colours after which the bar was named, followed by dinner in one of our restaurants. The hotel, ideal for couples and families, has 228 accommodation units and features great facilities, as well as a modern Congress Centre. A place where design and comfort walk hand-in-hand, between the golf and the beach, this is truly the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salgados Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel Albufeira
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel And Spa
Salgados Palace Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing