We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I agree with previous contributors!!!”

Great India Tandoori
Ranked #135 of 776 Restaurants in Albufeira
Price range: $12 - $13
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: situated underneath the sereia da oura apartments and next door to Cheers bar.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I agree with previous contributors!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was fed up with the usual Portuguese diet of fried meat, chips and salads and sought a refuge of Indian food via TripAdvisor.

I can only agree with previous fans, Would have passed by this restaurant had I not read these reviews

Excellent Indian food in a small , clean friendly restaurant

The test of a good Indian restaurant is that each dish looks and tastes unique. They achieved this in spades..... Excellent

My only comment would be they need to learn how to shape and cook good Onion Bhajias

The size of a snowball - lightly tanned cooked throughout - crunchy and slightly spicy . not small compact pellets however good they taste!
.
Good luck for the future

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonymccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    47
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do NOT be put off by the outside of Great India Tandori”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We actually walked past this initially as it looks tired and like just a take away, but, boy were we glad we stopped! Had the most amazing Indian EVER. Lovely attentive staff, food cooked as you watch and wait. Taste was amazing, portion sizes good and great value for money . If you are in Oura make this a MUST

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nettie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food with a lovely smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The Indian food at this restaurant is simply the best we've eaten abroad everything was delicious so good we went twice when we return to albufeira we will go again for sure the service was fast friendly the lady there was always smiling go you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dining Out/Takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

One of the best indians ive ever tasted, ate in one night and had a takeaway another night so had four different curries in total and each was exceptional. Reasonably priced and pleasant surroundings and staff. Will eat here again when next in Albufeira

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside/England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING! BEST INDIAN FOOD EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Just finished an amazing meal at Great India Tandoori. Fantastic mix of quality, service, flavour & value! Lunch offer offer of any chicken curry with rice for only €6!! Good size portions & was even offerred more rice at no extra cost. Declined as portions more than adequate. Large beer only €1.50. Option of eating outside on terrace. I had jalfrezi with Megan ordering the Bhuna. Both were freshly prepared in the open plan kitchen & arrived promptly. Cannot stress how good this food is & urge you to try it for yourself...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PARSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great India Tandoori also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Great India Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing