We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Service good, food OK. Good for budget-conscious travellers.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jing Du

Jing Du
Ranked #408 of 738 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: On the Strip in Praia da Oura
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Service good, food OK. Good for budget-conscious travellers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The restaurant itself looks great, it is a very nice-looking Chinese restaurant. Not overly opulent, but as a budget-friendly place that shouldn't be expected.

They have a 'special' menu which does smaller portions of cheap 'Chinese' favourites. My partner and I opted to order from this, as the price-point and portion sizes allowed us to order numerous dishes to try a little bit of each from.

The sauces etc are all pretty good, there are some really lovely flavours in many of the dishes. But, the cuts of meat used are far from quality. With some dishes, it's best not to think what part of the animal you're eating. Arguably, traditional Chinese cooking does use numerous parts of the animal not eaten in traditional British cuisine - but that's not really applicable to this restaurant, they just use cheap off-cuts.

A lot of the starters are not just fried, but served dripping in fat and grease. Blotting everything with your napkin before you eat makes the experience of eating here far more pleasant.

Had we visited during the peak season when all other restaurants and eateries are open, we would not have chosen to eat here. We chose here simply because it was one of the few 'safer' options open at that time of day at that time of year.


The service was good, and the food not horrendous.
However, I would rather spend more elsewhere for a better meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HughJars85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
fleetwood
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Ate here 3 times in 9 days the food and surroundings are excellent!!!! I don't have a bad thing to say about this place,the toilets are lovely and clean. Would recommend this Chinese to anyone

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank colandcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Words fail me to tell you how bad this was”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

All i can say is this was the very worst meal i have had the misfortune to have ordered - This was not 1 dish that was an epic fail it was everything from starters dripping fat to burnt and cold meals(how did they manage to do it)

We love a chinese banquet at home as my reviews show on here and ordered something simular in this place as i have eaten here a few times on past holidays and it was very good indeed.

Funny thing was as soon as it was clear we had no intention of eating the food everyone seemed to loose the ability to speak English,

They should change the name to "Jing Dont"

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diddimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good food for a very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lovely food for a very reasonable price. All our dishes were very tasty and the service was very efficient. The restaurant is well located on "The strip" of Montecherio Albufeira.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BernieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The most revolting food I have ever been presented with!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We made a point of visiting this 'restaurant' whilst we were on holiday as we love Chinese food and eat at our local Chinese restaurant once a week. I say that so that if you read this review, you will know that we know how Chinese food should look and taste!
First impressions were good, a warm welcome and lovely decor. The place looks fabulous. We ordered the set meal for 2 and when the starters came we should have realised what wew were in for. The Dim Sum looked like they had been cooked many times - we didn't even attempt those! The Sesame Prawn toast was so soaked in oil it literally dripped off. The ribs - in fairness we ate - more out of desperation than anything else. Chicken on a skewer also looked ancient and the crab sticks in thick soggy batter were so disgusting I am shuddering just thinking about them! Crab sticks!!!
The soup was actually ok - a bit salty but edible at least.
The main coursed eventually arrived - by this point an elderly chap (we assumed the owner) was racing round the restaurant screaming at all the staff and shouting in the kitchen!
We couldn't eat any of the food that we were served - it was so revolting I don't know who had made it and how any one could have eaten it. Sweet & sour - revolting. Some kind of chicken in a black beain sauce - revolting but the worst one was the beef dish - it was totally overcooked - soggy, nasty, disgusting - we had a tiny bit of them but couldn't actualy eat it.
The rice was rock hard, packed into the bowl and when we asked for a separate small bowl and chopsticks we thought we were going to be shot!
When the owner came to take our food away, he frowned and I told him that it was not good food, it was terrible and he pretended not to understand us!
I would avoid this place unless you actually like to eat very, very bad food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jing Du also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Jing Du? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing