We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of The Balti Indian

The Balti Indian
Ranked #230 of 810 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Our regular trip to the Balti Indian (after friends recommended it) and it did not disappoint. This was our 4th visit, this time taking our 5yr old grandson. The friendly staff could not do enough and made a big fuss of him. The food was of its usual high standard and reasonably priced.

We have tried several dishes during our visits and have never been disappointed

Looking forward to a return visit later in the year.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    39
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“disgusting”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were stopped by the lady and given a menu and told we would not be disappointed, we were reluctant at first as the restaurant looked small and more like a take away. Firstly the waiter/owner seemed more interested in the football which was shouting out of a TV in the restraunt than taking our order. I ordered the prawn balti and my wife had the lamb sizzler, we ordered chapattis and a pashweri naan. My wifes lamb was so tough she could not bite through it. My prawns were ok bit drenched in ghee oil. The naan was more like a pizza base reheated and the chappatis were dripping with oil. We complained and were knocked 10% from our very pricey 35 euro bill. We had some lovely food in Portugal but this left a nasty taste.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“awful curry awful night”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

fancied some curry thought we made a good choice, wrong terrible experience horrible food slow slow service and service without a smile which is worse and very pricey the korma my kids had was vile even the nann bread was left it was a burnt frazzelled mess......never again...needless to say we left no tip

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed & very reasonably priced too!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Set back on Estrada de Sta Eulalia, it is only small and as mentioned previously, it doesn't look much from the outside. My daughter was dubious as it was empty but having eaten there on other holidays I insisted she tried it. We eat a fair number of Indian curries and she soon changed her mind and even said this restaurant has the best madras she has ever tasted. The owner and his wife are very friendly and although it has an good selection of dishes you can order anything you want even if its not on the menu, as hot/spicy as you like. The set menu for 2 is only 28/29euros and includes a bottle of very good local wine.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scousemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best curry I have ever had!”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I eat a lot of indian curries and I can honestly say this indian restaurant does the best curry in the world! The owner and his wife are very friendly and welcoming. It has an excellent variety of dishes and you can pretty much order anything you want even if its not on the menu as we asked for variations for our children. I can highly recommend the Karahi dishes - very flavoursome - delicious! We returned twice in 1 week. It doesnt look much from outside and is situated next to a car rental office and its only small but appearances in this instance are very deceptive. You will not be disappointed. Very reasonably priced too.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Balti Indian also viewed

 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The Balti Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing