We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money. Two down sides, many upsides.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol a Sul Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol a Sul Apartments
Ranked #44 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money. Two down sides, many upsides.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

These apartments are in a great location, very close to the beach and all amenities that you could need during your stay here. Cleanliness is a major thing for us when travelling, all bed sheets and towels etc were freshly washed. The first downside was that we had to clean the dishes/toilet ourselves upon arrival as it wasent very clean and unfortunately for us there seemed to be some noise pollution coming from the apartment above us on occasion it sounded like drilling etc although it did'nt go on all night, we were able to get a good nights sleep - due to this I believe the noise would be temporary. Also the pool and sun terrace were both lovely and very clean, nice to use.

Above all the service is what made this apartment a great place to stay, the gentleman that runs the place was friendly and extremely helpful. He is happy to help with whatever you need, arrange taxi's, advice on resturaunts, places to go, things to do etc nothing was too much trouble. Lastly the second downside was that we had booked and paid for what we believed to a sea view room with a double bed but instead was put in a twin bed apartment without a sea view. We was offered to change rooms 3 days later when our originall apartment became available. However, we believe this to be because when we booked we stated that it was 2 females sharing the apartment but failed to specify that we are a female couple.

All being said our stay was very enjoyable and we will return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good size rooms, affordable, plenty of space. However, sleep quality is poor, light coming in through the windows wakes you up early, curtains didn't block it out much. Also weren't told what to do when checking out and the lighting in the bathroom was poor along with low showers. Wasn't bad though and still probably value for money for the area, but have got more elsewhere for cheaper prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP_Jonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sol a Sul Apartments for one week at Easter time. The apartment was spacious, clean, tidy and well equipped. Situated in a perfect location in the old town with the beach, restaurants bars and shops all within two minutes walking distance, the place is suitable for couples. groups and even families. The manager was very helpful and friendly, he was always there to help or for a chat. Free parking facilities were just across the street. We really enjoyed our stay at Sol a Sul Apartments, it was great value for money!
Thank your for a fantastic week, Ryan and Steffi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefanie_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Sol a Sul Nov 12th-15th, 2012 and this place is awesome! After having been traveling for five weeks, we appreciated the homey feeling of this apartment. The kitchen is fully equipped and we loved cooking meals and enjoying them by candlelight. The bed is comfy, the apartment clean, all in all excellent facilities! We had the room with a terrace and a beautiful scenery. The building owner was very helpful and informative. The prices were very reasonable. A big thank-you to the owners. We highly recommend this place to anyone spending time in Albufeira! We loved our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MandMbackpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

With esoteric artwork adorning the walls, a location just on the edge of the old town and really helpful management, this was a great base for our holiday in the Algarve. The fresh bread hung on the door of the apartment each morning was a particularly warmly appreciated touch.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the rooms with balconies overlooking the pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

we read the reviews on Tripadvisor,and has we went to Albufeira...we decided for Sol a Sul apartments, for 12 days ,with had fabulous holidays, wanted to stay more if we didn't had to fly back . Big and clean, for the apartments, for the rooms,for the pool......very friendly owner Paulo ,she's a girl super sympa.....me and my friends will return next year for sure,all this near the beach and net for free ,no second thoughts. :-)))

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lilith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

In total we stayed 13 days in a Sul Sol. On arrival, the owner explained us much about albufeira and we received a map from him. If there was something we needed we just had to ask the owner and he arranged it for us, for example he arranged the taxi for our departure.

The apartment itself was spacious and because we were on the top floor we had a very nice view from our balcony on Albufeira and the sea. Everything we needed was available in the apartment. Also was the apartment very well maintained and tidy. Our compliments for the nice design of the apartment!

The location of a Sul Sol is very good because everything close by. For example the beach is literally around the corner and the center of Albufeira is also nearby. Even if you wanted to walk to the harbor it was still doable (around 20 minutes).

We had a very good holiday at Sol a Sul. If we ever go back to Albufeira we will certainly return to Sol a Sul!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stefantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#74 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sao Vicente
Hotel Sao Vicente
#100 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#61 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#81 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
#91 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al-Buhera Palace
Al-Buhera Palace
#58 of 119 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol a Sul Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol a Sul Apartments

Property: Sol a Sul Apartments
Address: Rua Doutor Diogo Leote 7, Albufeira 8200-121, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol a Sul Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOL A SUL Apartments,We are Only 11 Big, comfy,sunny, Apartments With Swimingpool , Located 150 m From The Beach And 250m Away From The Old Town And All Facilities 3 Min. Walking From The Albufeira Beach ''Peneco'' 1 Bedroom Big Apartments T1 For 2 -4 Persons With Kitchenette , Completely Equipped with stove,fridge,microwave,toaster,electric kettle,Room With 2 Beds Or Double Bed,Bathroom with bathtub,Living Room With two beds ,big TV+SatTv,wireless Net ,And all of them have a Terrace with table and chairs,To Have A Meal In The Sun,looking to the sea......Bed sheets and linen are provided and safebox. Ideal for family with children,middle age couples or young couples,very quiet place,but very near to the centre of ALBUFEIRA.You Are In The Old Town,You Can See The Churches,Or Just Relax Or Have Fun In The Bars,Restaurants And Discos From Famous Albufeira Night Life.... Discover Beautyfull Albufeira And His Sunny 25 BeachesAllowing you to take advantage of not only the beach but also the wide variety of bars and restaurants in Albufeira, the apartment offers one bedroom with two single beds, living room with sofa-beds, complete bathroom, fully-equipped kitchen and a communal pool during the summer months.Enjoy your holiday in Portugal in a Algarve holiday home with pool directly at the seaside or in a centrally located holiday apartment from which you can reach the beaches on foot!Great value for a relaxing break on the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sol a Sul Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol a Sul Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing