We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salgados Dunas Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Salgados Dunas Suites
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked a junior suite room via Hotels.com as this was a family break and with infants.

Before our travel we called up the hotel and ask for a good room that would have good sea views and kettle in the room.. They allocated us a good room and although there was no kettle but kept one before we got there.

We found the rooms to be spacious and also the living area was large. The room had a very large balcony. The room had a safe, sink and a small fridge in the room. The bathroom shower had a very good force and also had very very hot water.

The breakfast restaurant had a very wide variety of food - Hot and cold... Being in the low season and with few guests staying in the hotel, they did not compromise on the selection and quality of food.

The beach was a 2-3 min walk from the hotel as there was empty land between the sea and the hotel. It was a good clean beach and uncrowded as well. Also Good Sunset views.

The only thing that the hotel lacked was wifi in the rooms although we were lucky to catch some signal coming from the restaurant. And the other thing was lack of heated pool which would have been good for our infants. I found the pool colour was dark - not usual light blue/white tiles.

Although the time of our travel was in their low season with very few quests in the hotel as we hardly saw any except during breakfast, we had a good break which we were longing for one and this hotel made it perfect with its service.

The hotel overall was very clean and all the staff spoken very good English and very well mannered and went out of their way in service to make our stay an exceptional one.

Room Tip: Any 3rd or 4th Floor Rooms facing sea should be able to give a good ocean view. Try getting above r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HCShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    168
    62
    22
    13
See reviews for
247
189
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stay at the 3 bedroom suit brilliant for 6 adults.I would defently come back next year, it was very clean.bedrooms were very big and a lot of space,rooms had their own large wardrobe and view was wonderful.Try it out you love it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in early October and had a great break. The hotel was immaculate. We opted for a Junior Suite which was massive and stylish with a huge balcony. The hotel upgraded us to a sea view which was lovely. The buffet breakfast was a good variety of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cooked, cheeses/sliced meats, breads and pastries.
It was very quiet when we were there and the poolside areas were lovely with towels included.
It was a short walk to the beautiful beach. Lots of bird watching a short walk down the beach.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for the top floor as advised on TripAdvisor and we therefore had the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from 4 days at this hotel - a quick break for me and my wife before the British winter kicks in. I never normally bother to write reviews, but we had such a good experience that I feel the hotel & staff deserve to be praised.
This is going to sound a bit like I'm biased in some way, but I assure you we just had a genuinely great time and Im happy to share it.

The hotel is lovely. The staff are extremely professional, well trained, and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were impeccably clean & modern, as were the grounds. It's all set in quite a landscaped forest of palm trees, - they really have spent a lot of money developing this place - beautiful & green. The pools were amazing too (so many of them !) they had dark iridescent tiles (rather than the standard white tiles) which made them look very adult and spa-like, - a really nice touch I thought. They were also spotless !

We went half board. Breakfast and dinner were brilliant. Buffet style, and really good selection. We both ate far too much.

The beach is amazing. No litter, no seaweed, and best of all... no shops / burger-bars / or tacky souvenirs, and no chavs ! The beach is really big with just 2 or 3 great little beach restaurants a short walk along to the east.

Already planning to go back and do the same again next year.

Room Tip: We hired a car from Faro. It took about 45 mins going via the motorway. I printed some maps & d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a week here, travelling with my partner and toddler. The hotel is spotless, great food, great staff and service and lots of pools. A 2 minute stroll to a beautifully long beach. WE had a junior suite which was simply perfect with a little one, its big! Child friendly and lots of space to run around with a separate space for us to relax during the evening. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were always really welcoming and friendly. Its is very quiet out of season which was great as you had pretty much a pool to yourself everyday. There is a small supermarket a 5 min walk away which again is great if you need specific supplies your child. I would definately return.

Room Tip: Junior suite in block 2 or 3 on the top floor will give you a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just returned today from CS salgodas Dunas Suites,We had a great holiday everything was perfect for a quiet seven day vacation.All off the staff who attended to us were polite and helpfull no matter what we wanted it was no trouble at all for the staff to help.The surroundings and the accomodation was certainly five star and the food was also very good. No hesitation in recommending this beautiful resort to anyone wanting to chill out for a holiday and leave the hustle and bustle at home, we will holiday again at this resort DV.

Room Tip: Block 2 was very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Everything was excellent! Welcoming staff, modern, comfortable and big suites, huge balcony, room mades were excellent and came to make up the beds for our kids at night, nice beach, good breakfast with fresh juices. Kids friendly hotel. We loved it and will suggest it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrenaRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#15 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salgados Palace
Salgados Palace
#21 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
7.6 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
10.7 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Dunas Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Dunas Suites

Property: Salgados Dunas Suites
Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Rua Boca da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Dunas Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the dunes of Salgados Beach, your holiday suites enjoy a fantastic tropical atmosphere, surrounded by extensive palm tree gardens. And it's precisely among the palm trees, with the sea in the horizon that you will be able to enjoy all the facilities the resort has to offer. Among others, you will find the 9 swimming pools, with direct access to the beach. Relax and enjoy the cuisine of Bossa Nova Restaurant, as well the cocktails at the Jazz Lobby Bar, fit for those cheerful nights spent with friends. When walking the short distance that separates the hotel from the beach, make the most of the wooden pathway, which can take you all the way into the nature reserve. For children, the Kids Club features a range of entertainment activities to assure your little ones have a fun filled time. This oasis is equipped with everything you need to enjoy your holiday with the utmost well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Salgados Dunas Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Dunas Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Dunas Suites Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing