We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salgados Dunas Suites
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the end of season during Sept 2011, only just getting around to adding a review now! The hotel complex was massive, extremely spacious and extremely clean. the room was excellent, one of the best I've stayed in to date, had all the mod cons and excellent air conditioning (make sure you close the doors at night, the bugs come right in from the adjacent nature reserve. The staff were a mixed bag, some were very friendly and others not so much. Hotel restaurants were a little pricey so be sure to venture out, there plenty near by. The included breakfast catered for every nationality! I'd attend this hotel again without question.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    172
    65
    22
    12
See reviews for
252
192
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santarem, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Amazing Hotel, completely new, the suites are huge and the bed is amazing.
It has an access to the beach through the hotel and the pools are amazing. The buffet it`s not bad, but could have more variaty of food.
Be back for certain.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank osvaldocipriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

The hotel itself is pretty basic, bar area is quite small & it's an apart hotel. We stayed in block 3 away from reception and although the room was lovely it felt remote. The pool area is stunning but each day there were 3 people max at the poolside so it was very quiet & lacking any sort of atmosphere. The taxi into albufeira or surrounding towns was min €16 each way which added a huge chunk onto the holiday and as there was no entertainment we had no option but to go into the town. There is no shuttle bus operating here!!

I wouldn't return here as it's too remote & although the pool area is gorgeous, the hotel lacks in a lot of areas.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pstylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Big hotel, uncharacterized. Big room but careless furnishing. Bathroom toiletries are a laugh. Breakfast takes place in a large lounge with multiple (> 100 ?) people at once.
Big premises, lots of pools, unpersonal, 0 attention to details.........
The formula to destroy a great setting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Spent 4 nights here in October. The hotel is built adjacent to wetlands, a huge lagoon, elevated walking routes to viewing points. It also fronts a beautiful sandy beach. Car essential as very little within walking distance.
The accommodation was huge, but strangely the bathroom was very small. Numerous problems in the bathroom area. To get hot water, it was necessary to run the tap for a full 5 minutes each time. There was damp and black mould on walls each side of the shower entrance due to leaks from that area. All towel hooks, and the hand shower head holder, were very loose on the wall and in immanent danger of falling off. Shaving mirror was not correctly fitted which made it impossible to use unless you positioned yourself between w/c and vanity shelf.
There was only one restaurant open on site (in a separate building) - Italian.
Nice pools and grounds (quite extensive), but no outside refreshment facilities open.
Room cleaning not up to standard I expect of a property with this rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We booked this hotel as part of a last minute deal for 3 nights in October and had a wonderful time. The hotel exceeded our expectations, it was peaceful and clean with a great pool area and short walk through the nature reserve to a truly stunning strip of beach. The hotel isn't completely finished yet, which didn't affect our stay in any way, but we did notice there were a few areas where they were still building and there only seemed to be 1 restaurant offering evening dinner options, which we didn't go to but the buffet style breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Albufeira was a short taxi ride away (approx 10-15 euros) where there were lots of restaurants and bars. We were upgraded to a sea view room, which also overlooked the pools and lovely gardens. The room was really clean and nicely decorated, it was a little bit smaller than I would have expected but fine for a short stay and we did only book a standard room - they have suites if you're looking for something more spacious. Hotel guests also have complimentary access to the health club across the road with tennis, a spa, gym and exercise classes (charges apply to some activities). In summary, this is a great hotel if you don't mind being a bit further out and I'm sure once it's finished there will be very little need to leave the resort.

Room Tip: Definitely worth opting for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeyblonde17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights at the end of September and had the loveliest time. In fact, we didn't want to leave.

The hotel is very pretty with an almost paradise like setting. Our room was garden facing but we could still see the sea from the balcony. The garden is lovely and green with lots of trees making the whole feel of the hotel very tropical as well as private.

The circular pools are fantastic. There are 9 in total in clusters of 3. In the evenings they are lit up in different colours which was nice to see. Very different to the average and boring rectangular blue pools.

Breakfast - There is a huge variety from fruits, pastries, cereals to hot breakfasts. Champagne is also included which I thought was very generous for the price we paid.

Service - Everyone was very friendly and approachable. Nothing was too much trouble. There was no pressure to give any tips although we did as the service deserved it.

The beach is a stones through away and is beautiful. It’s a great stretch of the Algarve. About 15 minutes’ walk along the beach in either direction brings you to a few sea-facing restaurants. They are gorgeous and great value for money. They are not connected to the hotel but I would recommend the restaurant called Ol Salgados which specialise in fresh sea food. We heard about a number of nice restaurants in the town of Gale so there is a lot to choose from.

The hotel is currently being extended (was not disrupting to our stay at all) and I understand that there will be a number of restaurants opening in the next few months. We are very much looking forward to going back in the future once complete.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalita_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#15 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
7.6 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salgados Palace
Salgados Palace
#25 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
8.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Dunas Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Dunas Suites

Property: Salgados Dunas Suites
Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Rua Boca da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Dunas Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the dunes of Salgados Beach, your holiday suites enjoy a fantastic tropical atmosphere, surrounded by extensive palm tree gardens. And it's precisely among the palm trees, with the sea in the horizon that you will be able to enjoy all the facilities the resort has to offer. Among others, you will find the 9 swimming pools, with direct access to the beach. Relax and enjoy the cuisine of Bossa Nova Restaurant, as well the cocktails at the Jazz Lobby Bar, fit for those cheerful nights spent with friends. When walking the short distance that separates the hotel from the beach, make the most of the wooden pathway, which can take you all the way into the nature reserve. For children, the Kids Club features a range of entertainment activities to assure your little ones have a fun filled time. This oasis is equipped with everything you need to enjoy your holiday with the utmost well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Salgados Dunas Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Dunas Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Dunas Suites Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing