We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Portugal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Portugal”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was an excellent vacation, we spent a full month in the hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the buildings well maintained and clean. The balconies have an excell ent view of the sea.
The resteraunt did not meet the standard I was expecting however the food was well prepared and presented.
My biggest complaint is the beds these are the most uncomfortable beds I have slept on and I spent most of my vacation sleeping on the couch. They are also only singles my wife and I prefer a double bed.
The indoor swimming pool was cold and the sauna closed and fitness equipment not available.
We enjoyed our stay and would return to this location.
The location is a little out od Albufera but we enjoye the walks into town.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the east facing rooms at the east end of te building. Road traffic was quite loud. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Hugh,

Thank you very much for your comments.
Regarding the sleeping problem we can assure you that we are planning to change the mattress on our beds and we certainly hope that your comments after your next visit will be the full score in all areas.

Hope to see you again with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    321
    45
    16
    11
See reviews for
592
179
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We paid a little extra than we budgeted for because of all the excellent reviews. So glad we did. This is a perfect complex for a family holiday: the whole resort is spotlessly clean and the apartments are spacious and well equipped. There are plenty of pools and bars to wander between to keep everyone happy, relaxed and entertained. Great atmosphere and food selection at the poolside bars, as well as friendly staff (on the one occasion I was kept waiting for my order, it was given to me for free ). When you want a change of scene, take the steps down to the beautiful beach (my kids really enjoyed seeing a few lizards scuttle across our path on the way down!) In the evenings, we opted for the bar in the Alfagar Village where there is a great park for the kids to roam and make friends in. I suppose the resort is a little far out from other villages/attractions but, if you are looking for a relaxing, resort-based family holiday, you can't go wrong with this.

Room Tip: The little extra for the sea view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went last August for 11 nights and have just booked up for August 2014 for 14 nights this time. My son of 8 and daughter of 6 had a blast and we met some wonderful friends. The whole complex is spotless. Rooms are spacious and airy,comfortable and well-equipped. The balconies are huge, making sitting out there for breakfast/lunch/dinner in the beautiful Portuguese sunshine, a real treat. You aren't right in the middle of the restaurants etc but that's what we loved. It's chilled and peaceful. No music blaring 24 7, just respectful, friendly guests and staff. We found lots of lovely restaurants near to the Hotel. The warm walk in the evening was lovely, didn't bother us at all. In a nutshell, you will not be disappointed if you come here, a wonderfully, relaxing, enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirreimuir
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was a last minute family break,and chose the Alfagar as it was on the
outscirts of Albufeira. This turned out to be a good choice the apts were
very nice in fact the whole complex was lovely. Yes whilst it was outwith the
peek holiday period ie we went early september the weather was perfect.
Plenty of pool space with a choice of 4 pools plus indoor pool,typical ent
laid on nightly.Good choice of eating within the complex, 10 min walk to a
very pleasant eatery Martins food good and the service was excellent a
further 10 mins took you to a nice Chinese at the rounabout,and further
eating esablishments at the start of the strip.
From the comlex you could walk down to a nice beach [not an easy walk
for the unfit down a steep set steps but worth it in end]
A very nice relaxing holiday in a very nice holiday complex

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandyKirreimuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

So clean. Cleaners in everyday towels changed regularly. Crisp white sheets. Microwave, coffee machine, toaster, iron, hairdryer etc. Everything you could possibly need.
Happy hour at bar from 3pm till 6pm. 30% of drinks. The 3 meals for 45 euro was not great in the bar but everyone has their own taste.
Beds were a bit hard for me.
Weather was grill though a bit cool in the shade as it was
S December.

Room Tip: Ask for sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

As a young couple staying here in the low season we were unsure how our trip was going to pan out. Alfagar II was one of the highlights of our trip to the Algarve and we plan to come back in july and stay here again. The apartments are SO clean it is unbelievable and the staff are wonderful to talk to and extremely helpful (we even had conversations with the maids who were very pleasant). Unfortunately when we went the main pool was closed due to scheduled maintenance but there were other pools in the complex which were open.

The grounds at alfagar are kept impeccably well and the interior of the hotel has a modern feel to it. A special thanks to Victor, the receptionist who did everything he could to ensure our stay was fab. He advised us on places to go inbthe off season, the beat value tours, how to not get cheated by the dodgy taxi drivers and told us literally everything we needed to know.

To sum up, bad points: they charge 50 cents to book a taxi for you and you have to pay 10 euro for a tv remote and a safety deposit box. Good points: the pool, the fact the hotel backs onto the beach, staff, cleanliness, very fairly priced!

Well done Alfagar

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel was great. We had a one bedroom corner apartment overlooking the pool. The whole hotel was spotless. The beds were very hard though. We did not eat in hotel. Mini market was handy and had everything you needed and not too expensive. No wi-fi in rooms which was very annoying in this day and age, free at pool side bar.
All the pools were fantastic and great for kids, as were the two great playgrounds, really good for kids.
The main problem with this hotel is the location, it is out of the way, it's a 15/20 min walk to main area and a taxi ride (€6-8) to old town each way. We walked a lot but it was hard work as there are many hills and the paths are not great for walking with a buggy, there is no seafront walk so it's all streets and you need to cross the road a good bit so you probably would need to factor in the cost of extra taxis. Hotel runs a shuttle to old town for €1 per person but only during the day, if this was more frequent, then this hotel would be so much better. Lovely stay but location was a factor.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edelIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
854 reviews
1.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,867 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Property: Alfagar II Aparthotel
Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing