We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday. .. needs some tweaks and would be excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week from 25/8/13. First impressions. .. very good. Reception staff very friendly and told to come back at 2pm. No problem for us we had a look around and had a toastie at pool bar. I will list the good and not so good points. We stayed half board and traveled with Thomson.

Good points:

Alfagar 2 pools... really very good children enjoyed them yes busy but not overly crowded. Sunbeds available . Yes we witnessed people putting towels out at 8 am but we also saw hotel staff remove the towels on several occasions. We tried to get our towels there for 10 am if we could.

Rooms : we were in alfagar 2. The one bedroom apartment was spacious with a room with 2 single beds and 2 pull out single beds in lounge area. The pull out beds were uncomfortable and 1 of the single beds was very hard. They seemed to only provide 3 knives forks and spoons and glasses in our apartment 311 we were half board but I found that odd as sleeps 4. Rooms cleaned everyday to a good level. We had a sea view (paid additional) with glass balcony. ... couldn't really see the sea but good view of pools.

Buffet restaurant : shocking I know but we didn't find it that bad. Yes repetitive at times but convenient for us and we found something everyday that we liked. Service was good yes you pay for drinks such as water but we didn't mind . children's choices consisted of a pasta dish pizzas chips and a meat choice .Our children ate from a selection of the buffet they didn't just have chips all week . breakfast busy between 8 and half past.

Location : suited us as we didnt want to far afield. May be a bit remote for others. Taxi to albufeira strip. 5 euros or easily walkable in 20 mins if you have no children. Olhos de Agua 5 euros in taxi or again 15 mins walk (not much there few restaurants if you're self catering) we did excursions but booked all at albufeira as cheaper than from rep. 2 shops within 5 mins walk for day to day bits. Walk to beach probably takes 10 mins... take path to right as left path leads you to a bit of a rocky beach.... difficult with young child.

Beach: the beach is lovely . We hired a pedalo for 10 euros for 1/2 hour and lounger for 10 euros for roughly 3 hours. Restaurant on beach very good for lunch I imagine would be lovely for a night time dinner. Beach does get busy. Try to take drinks with you and sun umbrella as there is no shade even under a parasol.

The alfagar 2 is kept very very clean by the staff.. we would see them cleaning from 8 am til gone 6pm most days.


Not so good points:

Entertainment: no daytime entertainment for children or adults. No children's club etc there was one when we booked but Thomson pulled the plug. Really would benefit from an animation team here. Mini disco or something at night for children. Night Time entertainment consisted of a reptile and parrot show and 2 very loud singers. The bar in alfagar 1 has entertainment too but we didn't bother to go there. Please be aware the red bar is usually only manned by one person so on the nights of the parrot and reptile show the tender was very busy and you will have to wait a while.

Alfagar 1 : the pool areas , bar , games room need a complete overhaul. There were disused room open with surplus bits dumped in them... the grounds of the alfagar 1 are lovely but the pool areas were shabby in my opinion had I have been placed in alfagar 1 I wouldn't have been all that happy.

All in all your holiday is what you make it. ALFAGAR 2 PLEASE HIRE AN ANIMATION TEAM !!!!!!.*

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gonegirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Alfagar is tremendously overpriced for what it is. Apart from the pool area, which is showing some signs of deterioration, the rest of the hotel is pretty average compared to other four star hotels that we have visited this year.

This was our second stay at this hotel and it quickly became evident that a number of changes have been implemented to squeeze every penny out of the guests. For example, the drinks machine that was once free in the restaurant has been removed during dinner and the cost drinks (diluted juices) has been significantly inflated. The food in the main restaurant is substandard and limited. The hotel even charges guests 50 cents to call a taxi, not a huge sum of money but not something that you would expect from a four star establishment. All this may seem trivial but it leaves a bad taste in people's mouths.
The kids club was closed this year and there were no organised activities to keep them entertained.
Rooms are spacious and clean. The cleaning ladies do a wonderful job in keeping the entire hotel spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunners2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a week with our 2 children 8 and a 1 year old!
Apartment was great very spacious and clean! Beds are very hard You can ask for a bed topper although its like sleeping on a lilo! Staff are lovely very helpful!
Would recommend going for self catering as food in the restaurant is very basic and canteen like!
Ask for a sea view! Entertainment is an t that great but have a great play area that kept our 8 year old happy! Shame thomson aren t doing the kids club here anymore! Didn t bother trying to get down the many steps to the beach with the buggy! Nowhere to put your dirty nappies! Would n t stay for more than a week! Lovely very clean hotel though!!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room 313 was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenj_keen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Family of four (17 & 14 year old) stayed ten days in August. Only party to arrive so check in was very quick. Got there about 10am and told to come back at noon to see if the rom was ready. It was and it didn't disappoint. spacious with all the utensils you could want. Free air con, deposit for safe key and TV remote 10 euro each. TV had al the English channels as well as Sky sports and sky news. Large balcony with table and four chairs and two sun loungers as well as a drying line.

Beds were firm but not hard in our opinion, kids slept on pull out sofa bed which they said was fine.

Bars and restaurants - Took up the option of three nights in the buffet restaurant for 15 euro per person. Well worth the money, great food and help yourself to as much as you want. Drinks paid for separately.
Snack bar nice food and popular as you get free wi-if, just ask the bar staff for password.
A la carte restaurant was ok but expensive for what you got.
Red bar was nice to relax with a cocktail but service very slow. Poor Reuben the bar man was on his own and had to serve and mix the cocktails as well.

Main pool is large but lacked enough parasols. We had to succumb to getting down early to reserve our beds. Not something i like doing but didn't have much choice. Water was initially cold but once your in its fine. Indoor pool good for actual swimming lengths as it never got packed.

Supermarket on site small but well stocked.

The beach was a slow walk down lots of steps and when you arrive there are no loungers or parasols. These, apparently, are further down the beach but cost 15 euro to hire. We never got that far.

Only fault we think is that the town is 10 - 15 minutes walk away. There is one restaurant a couple of minutes away which was ok but concrete chairs a bit un comfy. Sit inside.

In town plenty of places to eat (Chinese at roundabout nice, portions are very big). Supermarket, chemist etc

Overall a lovely very clean hotel with friendly staff (look out for Diego the restaurant manager, very friendly in a sickly sort of way, and who our kids said looked like Michael Moon from Eastenders).

Would come back again but wish they had own private bit of beach with loungers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SandybabyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Alfagar II is an aparthotel built next to the original Alfagar village and as a guest you can use the facilities at both hotels. This means there are seven pools to chose from, two bars and two restaurants, along with a football pitch and tennis courts.

The beach is approx. 10 min walk away down steps from Alfagar village (not suitable for wheelchairs or pushchairs).

The apartments in Alfagar II are very clean and spacious compared to other aparthotels we have stayed in. The kitchen is a decent size, as opposed to a cramped kitchette.

We were self catering and didn't eat in the restaurant at Alfagar II. There is a bar in the Alfagar village which serves meals as well. The location of this bar suited us as it was right next to a playground. However, the food quality was average and over-priced for the quality.

Roseira restaurant is also in Alfagar village and, although more expensive, is much better quality of food. When we were there they offered a 3 course set menu for 20 Euros, including a glass of fizz and glass of wine.

The hotel is outside of Albufeira which can be accessed by bus or taxi. The bus service that runs past the hotel isn't very regular and costs about 2.20 Euros each. I'd recommend getting off before the bus station as it is some way out. The easiest way to get into Albufeira from here is by taxi which costs about 8 Euros. There can often be a long wait for taxis, especially in the early evening.

The two bars sometimes have evening entertainment, such as singers, reptiles, parrot shows. There isn't any child-centric entertainment that we have seen on other holidays, such as bingo, kids club etc.

Alfagar village has a small, but well stocked, supermarket. There are two supermarkets in hotels across the road.

Santa Eulalia is a 15 min walk from Alfagar and here there is a bigger supermarket and other services such as chemist, restaurants, cafes and so on.

It really is a great hotel and we had a wonderful holiday. The only downside was that there weren't many restaurants nearby (only an issue as we were self catering with young-ish children that don't like walking too far in the heat) and that taxis from the hotel were a nuisance (taxis from Albufeira were plentiful).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oink671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What can I say..superb, brilliant, fantastic!!!We travelled as 2 adults and 2 children(aged 9 & 5)
staying in a 1 bedroom, sea view room. The apartment wasnt massive (lounge had pull out beds) but that didnt matter when we saw the view from our balcony...beautiful. The hotel had numerous pools and restaurants, all set to a very high standard and immaculate. Sun loungers available most of the time but plenty grassed areas to laze if none left. Entertainment and food both good. Staff were all very pleasant and were always willing to help....special mention to Diego, Tiego and Miguel....top guys. Must recommend 'Martins' restaurant which was 2mins walk from hotel and also 'Fratellis' italian restaurant in Olhos de Agua. Fantastic food in both. A visit to the old town is worth a visit too. The beach is 5mins walk down some steps behind the hotel which again is very impressive. Watersports and restaurants available too. One very slight negative was there was no air con in room but fans could be hired from reception so no problems there. All in all a great holiday, great complex and great weather, we will definately be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms quieter with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wighams1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great aparthotel, huge apartments, spotless, friendly staff, brilliant pools for adults and children! We went half board and although there wasn't a massive selection of food, the food was always really nice! They also do food options for children but this was mainly pizza and French fries!
The hotel had it's own access to Sta Eulalia beach which was about 10 mins walk down with 110 steps!!!
The only downside was that it was about 3miles from the old town and 1.5miles from the new town. However the hotel does arrange a minibus service to the old town for 1 euro per person! A taxi would cost just over 7 euros!

Room Tip: Choose the standard seaview room - they overlook the pool area and the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuk-Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,066 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,825 reviews
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $26 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing