We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reception let them down this year” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Praia da Ouro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Praia da Ouro
Ranked #88 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reception let them down this year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Been going here for years being a timeshare holder. Having converted to points this was a free hahahahaaa holiday. Nothing is free when its £125 admin charge to book it.

Having flown in on Squeasy Jet we arrived at about 10.15 in resort. Obviously too early for the apartments to be ready. We were told, after the receptionist had checked, to come back in a couple of hours. We grabbed our books, tracked down the apartment and went and read in the glorious sunshine near to this

Two hours later we went back to reception to get our key. We were told we could not get into the apartment for another two hours. Having sat watching the apartment we knew that it was ready so I remonstrated. The man who originally said two hours came and confirmed ... we had to wait another two hours. At this point we grabbed our luggage and went to the apartment with the view to camping on the balcony! The doors were open, we entered. It was obvious the apartment had been cleaned and was ready. We then spotted the wonderful Iryna who promptly phoned reception. A key was sent up immediately.

Iryna was an absolute gem and should train staff on customer service. All other staff met were friendly and helpful.

As I say I have been coming here for years. Its a good base but the place is now seriously tired. There is no air conditioning; electric free standing fans are available. Whilst we were there there was a problem with sewage pipes so the apartment smelled rank. We were given a very powerful spray to mask this.

The apartment (C309) is large but would not have liked to have 4 people stopping in it. There was a sofa bed and a separate bedroom. As it was a sofa bed the actually sitting bit was well worn and not exactly the most comfortable. The bathroom door was also odd, did not fit and was not gloss painted.

There are large grounds and an all weather bowling pitch that was actually covered in furniture .. so no bowling the week we were there.

Its a fabulous beach but there seems to have been an outbreak of sunbrollies and sun beds and the dreaded jet skis and other water sports. It might be these are usually here in high season ... we normally stay at CPO November or January - so these could be packed away out of season.

As a points holder there it cannot be classed as cost effective when the maintenance fees are taken into account. This with the admin fees and flight costs means the self catering holiday becomes expensive.

This time we hired a car. The Algarve is a beautiful place to explore and we went to Cabanas up near the spanish border to the most south westerly point of Europe, Cape St Vincent. We were lucky with the weather and just had the best time.

However, CPO needs to undergo major refurbishment. It is tired and slightly tatty. Now that MGM (not the film company) have taken it over perhaps the major investment will occur. Technically blocks should be shut down and completely ripped out.

Its still a goodish place to go. The site and gardens are lovely and well maintained. The hot tubs have gone but there are two pools. Theres a bar and restaurant - Jackies.. though I have to say I have never eaten there as have generally self catered (one shop on site one in a shopping complex nearby and one a 10 minute walk away. There is also a profusion of restaurants closish by. Cataplanas is a portuguese fish stew dish that has to be tasted.

Being points holders we will not doubt be back. However, we may leave it a while before we return

Room Tip: C309 overlooks the sea - rooms along this side get the sun in the afternoon. The best rooms are at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    110
    58
    26
    20
See reviews for
80
142
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This holiday club boasts a Four Star rating. Am afraid fails to meet this rating by a very long shot. It was perhaps of that standard when it was built several decades ago but is suffering from lack of investment. Lovely gardens but accommodation a lot to be desired. The apartment I stayed in was very basic and the bathroom was pretty appalling. Doubt it has been upgraded in many years. Black mould around the bath and sink a real turn off as were the broken floor tiles and bugs that emerged every night from the cracks in the bath paneling (someone had kindly left two tins of bug spray). The toilet was directly behind the door so it only opened enough for you to squeeze into the bathroom between it and the sink. Shower had a plastic mouldy screen too. There was a constant foul smell in the apartment that we assumed came from a shared vent in the block. Choosing the right block I suspect is important after speaking to other guests. Guess it is cheap and cheerful but def not for me.

Room Tip: The block adjacent to the main road is very noisy and apartments facing the side road don't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at CPO 6th-20th Aug 2013, we had wonderful holiday, family of 4 age range 13yrs old to 74yrs old.
The complex is large, so lots of walking to and from pool & beaches, but what a beautiful place and grounds. Apartments were clean and had everything in you needed(A/C would of been good), the cleaning staff worked hard every day, if you ask them to do something they did it.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful, other than checking and out we had no reason to use reception.
We were in K block,found it to be very quiet and easy walking distance to bars & shops.
We did not eat at the complex, our choice, as their is so many bar's and restaurants in Albufeira to choose from.
Yes, the sun lounger's at CPO are a daily battle but we opted to walk over to sister hotel Orua Praia where their were plenty of sun loungers, along with being much more of a quiet place.
CPO beaches are beautiful, although you are charged for bed use(but worth it), again we chose a quiet beach, some of the beaches are very busy.
Taxi prices are displayed at the ranks, so that was helpful. We travelled to Velamora and the old town by taxi with no problems.
Food and drink, you can pay what ever you want. Some places are very reasonable, so places you pay slightly more. It all depends on your taste and budget, we found great places to eat and drink.
On the whole we loved our holiday at CPO, Alubufeira, it's what you make it, couldn't fault it, would recommend it and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We've just returned from a 10 day stay at club Praia having stayed 3 times before in the hotel over the road, Forte de oura. First the good stuff, Praia gardens, aviary location are spot on with impressive views for most rooms but this is a pretty BIG complex which comes with its own pros and cons. Sept is ideal for a couple, still quite hot at times and you do need air con and at this time of the year and is slightly cheaper outside term time, although there's still a number of kids by the pool. Close to everything here, bus stop, taxi rank, shops, cafe and bars, the hotel sits nicely between them and the beach it's a very short walk to anything. And the not so good, the 10 days we were there the maid came in 3 times and although relatively clean I think the maid should check towels etc every other day. We were in the top k block and quite surprised that it was a hike from check in of 200 yards in 80 deg heat up hill, and they hadn't activated the key when we found the room so it was another trip to reception! The pool and sunbeds scenario seems to be the norm in Portugal but the rooms did have a private balcony with beds and brolly, brilliant touch. Air con is a problem and should be fitted even if they do charge extra but the fan was very welcome. On the whole, good value for money with everything at your finger tips!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzilbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

well.......just arrived back from club praia da oura (been many times before)..I stayed 5th/19th september and on the whole had a very good time.
So lets start with the fact that the complex and the associated hotels are now owned by a company called Infiniti leisure.
So the good stuff first....i stayed in a club studio apartment in block E (662) overlooking the bowling green and the sea. As usual the apartment was clean and tidy and the maid visited every other day.
The grounds are immaculately kept and the staff are friendly.There is now a new "swanky" reception area that is quite impressive compared to the previous.
Also not once did anybody bother me trying to get me to signe up to the points club (timeshare) and part with dosh.....hoorahh.
The main pool has been modernised so that the water level is flush with the area were the sun loungers are......but no under water window in the reception area anymore.
Now for the "gripes"........
There is still no air con in the apartments this is supplied by plug in fans....but as i had a sea view with a sea breeze at night this didn't really bother me (remember BLOCK E....and never never block K).
For those of you who like to go bowling..forget it' the bowling green is recarpeted during the summer months and entertainment is held there most nights until midnight.
For some reason the hotel seems to think that couples who have been allocated/booked a club studio apartment like to spend the whole holiday pushing two single beds together and falling down the gap in the centre.....surely they can find a way/bracket to fit to the beds so this does not happen.
The "dawn chorus".....no not the birds.....the DOGS!!!! there happens to be a few resedential properties were the owners have dogs from the small yappy ones to the big howling ones from what i gather...and this was a constant wake up call unless you closed all the "french windows" at night.
All the apartments have limited satelite tv with very bad reception....but then again you don't go on holiday to watch tv do you?? But when the Daily Mirror is triple the price , half as thick and has constantly got Rhiannas mug in the centre pages.......how do you keep up on the news.
And finaly....and this is not really the hotels fault.
There is within " a stones throw" two beaches......one is large and long and busy ( jet ski hire etc) and a smaller quieter one which i like to frequent with a cafe. This year i noticed on occasion the amounts of cigarette buts lying around on the sand this was quite off putting....but not as off putting as middle aged women lying around topless ( and i have to say the british are the worst offenders...i mean you don't do it at home so why here.....duhhhh).......but on the whole i would recommend Clube Praia da Oura.......for families in the school holidays and definately for grown ups in september.

muito obrigado..chou!!!!

Room Tip: ask for block E (west) F,D,C(not studio)and B (not studio)......never K.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here in Oct and found the complex excellent. We took a shuttle bus from the airport which dropped us at the reception door. The apartment was well equipped but could have be doing with A/C especially in the summer months. Breakfast variety was good, and there was a variety of entertainment each evening in the bar, in fact there were also mid-evening entertainment e.g bingo. There were plenty of excursions from the complex, we took one to rural Portugal and to land's end and also a marathon one to Gibraltar!! We enjoyed our week tremendously and recommended it to friends who have gone to and returned to the complex a few times also. Would easily return.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

we travelled with my daughter and her partner and arrived late on Sunday night, and we had some problems with rooms, we had requested sea views, however this is not what we were allocated and to upgrade was going to cost us an extra 168 euro per couple, ridiculous money for 5 nights, then we were offered a 2 bed apt with sea views instead of our 2 one bed apartments which we eventually took because the rooms given to us overlooked trees, which we could almost touch from the tiniest balcony ever in an apartment block not even attached to the hotel but up the road from it, not a good start. We took the 2 bed apartment which was lovely and had a huge balcony and overlooked the pool and sea in the distance. The staff were helpful if not exactly friendly and always seemed to be busy, sometimes 2/3 staff assisting one customer resulting in a queue forming to be dealt with, not ideal. The hotel and its grounds were lovely and very clean. The beach was just a short walk from our apartment and was lovely. We only used Jacs restaurant once while there as we went out a lot of the time but the food in there was lovely and well priced, although felt a bit ripped off when I asked for a glass of water and they brought out a plastic bottle of water and charged us 1.90 euro for it, the exact same water was for sale in the supermarket for 12c !! If you go anywhere while you are in this hotel, make it Paulu's restaurant up the hill from the hotel, the food is absolutely fantastic, we ate there more than once and it was great value, I would go back to Albufeira just to go back to this restaurant.

Room Tip: make sure you request a room in the hotel complex and not one up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oura Praia Hotel
Oura Praia Hotel
#79 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Borda D'Agua Apartments
Club Borda D'Agua Apartments
#55 of 119 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Beach
Golden Beach
#1 of 119 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oura-View Beach Club
Oura-View Beach Club
#15 of 119 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Praia da Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Praia da Ouro

Property: Club Praia da Ouro
Address: Apartada 827, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Number of rooms: 564
Also Known As:
Club Praia Da Ouro Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing