We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value”
Review of La Barca

La Barca
Ranked #89 of 827 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A very persuasive 'runner' ushered us to this very good little restaurant near the main taxi drop off point. The food was good and reasonably priced, but service was slow. This was the first night of our holiday and I'm glad we did try other restaurants as they were just as good with faster service or even better food. This would normally be a stand out diner in many towns, but competition is stiff in the old town. We did enjoy our meal here and if you like Italian you will probably have a similar experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    74
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice food,poor service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Dont be put off by the miserable staff, food was good with plenty of flavour. We had two pasta dishes with chicken and a jug of sangria for 34 euros with no tip as the waiters were very short bordering on rude.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burf97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

very nice food, nice little itallian, couldnt fault the food at all. Excellent service also. The food is all fresh and interior also very nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sh1991_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good food, but service wasn't great”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were pulled in to La Barca by their promo guy outside who managed to get us in with his sob story about only getting one set us guests in that night, this wasn't really needed but we went in anyway.

To start I ordered the french onion soup, it came piping hot with a large crouton with parmesan cheese on top, it was delicious and taken a good 10-15 mins to eat because of the heat, no complaints though. My boyfriend had garlic bread which he said was good too. For main my boyfriend had lasagne and it came out really hot with the cheese still bubbling, he really enjoyed it was too full to finish it. I had the broccoli, mushroom and asparagus risotto and it was cooked perfectly and I would probably say it was the best main I had all week although it didn't have any asparagus in it.

To begin with service was good and our drinks and food orders were taken quickly but as the night went on a few larger parties and couples in there late 20's-40's came in, our original waiter seemed no longer interested in us and we felt as though we were being neglected, maybe this was to do with the fact we're only 19 and they thought we wouldn't make a fuss, which we didn't. Once we had finished our starters it taken about 5 minutes before our plates were cleared. During our mains we had both finished our drinks and were not offered more, we could not get the waiters attention without physically going up to them and asking for drinks. Our main plates were cleared 10 mins after we'd finished by a young waiter who seemed to be doing everything, he was running around here there and everywhere cleaning tables, serving food, taking orders, making drinks and sweeping up, however when he picked up a tables bill plate it was abruptly taken from him by one of the older waiters. By the time we received the bill the original waiter seemed more interested, we paid and rather than leaving tips on the plate, once we managed to catch him we tipped the young waiter personally, he seemed made up and thanked us lots.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very enjoyable visit - lovely food - we opted for chicken lasagna (gorgeous if a little volcanic on it's arrival) and canneloni carne (equally nice, equally volcanic).

Very good Italian food in a nice modern setting with a nice atmosphere.

Worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philr1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barca also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to La Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing