We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

The Cockerel Country Kitchen
Ranked #7 of 799 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great food great price fish and chip was to die for. The steak pie is to be recommend. The wife and me will be going back for sure. The staff were very helpful booking a must you might have to wait a couple of days but it is well worth it

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    146
    49
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
273 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“BOGOF - can't beat it for value.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went to this restaurant after reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. The quality of food and value for money is difficult to beat in the area. We phoned to book a table on Tuesday but they could only take us very late so we made a reservation for Wednesday. Their menu is Buy One Get One Free (BOGOF) for 13.95 euros and the quality is not compromised. I wanted to have the slow cooked lamb shank but they had been let down by their supplier, and I had the rack of ribs instead. It is exactly as the photos on Tripadvisor show.. massive.. and equally as good as it looks. I did not want chips or potatoes so it came with a nice salad and vegetables. My wife had the chicken piri piri which was a nice piece of chicken breast but was just too hot for her taste. With a bottle of wine our total bill was 24.90 euros. We enjoyed the meal so much that we made a reservation for Saturday night which was our last night as we always like to go back to the best restaurant of our holiday again on the last night. Again on the Saturday they did not have the lamb shank so we did not go on the BOGOF menu but we both had steaks which were about 12.00 euros each. With a bottle of wine our bill that night was 35.85 euros. Got chatting to the chap at the next table to me. He also had the steak and he said that he had been in earlier in the week and had the ribs. We both agreed that coming back our first choice would be the ribs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ledgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Value”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is one of the best value for money restaurants I've ever been in. The food is very good, the portions are large and the prices are fantastic. The restaurant was full any time we passed, and they seem to get a lot of repeat business, many people were booking for another night before leaving

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The quality and quantity was value for money. if you are in the area, its certainly worth a visit. Its of the beaten track but its reputation speaks for itself. Its best to make a reservation to avoid dissapointment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Visited recently and had to wait 3 days for reservation but when we finally ate the food we found all the hype was not worth it, as the food was average and we both had upset stomachs later which we put down to the food. I would not rush back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reddec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cockerel Country Kitchen also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The Cockerel Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing