We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost like a Glasgow Curry!”

Clay Oven Indian Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 779 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic North Indian Cuisine.
scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Almost like a Glasgow Curry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The title says it all really! Food was excellent but portions could have been a wee bit more generous. The starters (pakora and spiced onions) were tasty but few! The main courses were superb and nearly as good as Glasgow's! Will go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenharkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    159
    57
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For Indian Lovers this Restaurant is a Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband & I stayed in Albufeira for 10 days in May & we dined in this restaurant three times. On the first occasion we dined with our friends & their young children & found the staff to be very friendly & pleasant. We would really like Indian food & prior to going on vacation I looked up some goods spots to visit & this was one of them so our expectations were high. The menu was very good & our food was served promtly with good size portions. We found the food to be delicious & we really enjoyed our visit so much that we had to go back on two more occasions. On our last visit we had to wait about 15 minutes for a table & while we were waiting the queue seemed to get longer & longer but I did not mind waiting as I knew it was going to be worth while. We spoke with the owner who was very friendly & we complemented his restaurant , he advised that all food is bought in fresh every day & this you could definately tell from the quality of the food. On the three occasions we visited the restaurant it was very busy & if there was a group attending I would highly recommend booking the restaurant. There were two other Indian restaurants located just beside the Clay Ovan & we noticed that they were almost empty on each occasion while the Clay Ovan was busy with people even waiting to get in & this reflects the quality of service & food. The only complaint that I would have about this restaurant is that it is far too small in size but the owner is looking into this & hopes to expand in the near future. I would without doubt recommend this restaurant to everyone, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Gave The Clay Oven a try this year after sampling the ghastly Simran Palace(next door) a year or two back.
The difference is night and day.

Firstly the place is quite small inside so might feel a bit crowded when very busy.
We tend to eat around 7 ish and arrived the the same time as a few other couples.The service was excellent,very quick.
The food is very good,not quite as good as back home but certainly up with the best,if not the best,Indians we have tried abroad.
Will definately return next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrBrightside72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited the Clay Oven three times over our two week holiday. Still as good as ever, staff very friendly and the food is excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
133 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful food (please don't judge by appearance)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

After reading several reviews about this place I thought we should give it a try.

OMG the food is sooooo yummy. The restaurant is quite small with a small seated area outside. To look at it is nothing special but as you walk along you will pass a few other Indian restaurants with no customers and then you will see this busy little gem.

Staff very good, good value and as I said food is just lovely.

Highly recommend a visit to this place but would recommend getting there quite early or see if you can make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacksBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clay Oven Indian Kitchen also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Clay Oven Indian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing