We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad timing, I hope!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Poeta

O Poeta
Ranked #624 of 769 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Co Down
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bad timing, I hope!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have eaten here often in the past so were looking forward to returning. It used to be full of locals and of great quality however it has slipped in standards. It is at the bottom of the strip which used to be the more civilized end however (possibly due to economics) even this end is now over run by stag and hen nights. We had three stag parties in when we were there and could hear the stag party that was dining across the road. Overall the food was good but it used to be great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeauCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    4
    2
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just lovely...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went here during a recent 4 night trip to Albufeira. We had a lovely 3 course meal - avocado and prawns, chicken piri piri and a creme caramel. This has got to be some of the best food we have ever had! So tasty. The starter especially was to die for! The staff were really friendly and considering its located on the strip, the restaurant was clean and peaceful. Great value for money too. Would definitely recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelenandDave_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

the food here is great the staff are fab they cant do enough for you and the welcome that you get from George is second to none his advice and knowledge of the food that is being served is so helpful and correct

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food okay but service rushed and impersonal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here on our first night as we didn't have time to venture too far. Man outside is like Louis Spence and sells the place well to get customers in.
Food was okay but nothing special and had better meals later in the week at other places.
The service is quite rushed and very impersonal. Staff do not take the time to speak with you and we did not like that.
Food and drink was quite expensive also for the quality. Much better places to eat both on the strip and elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellersTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived quite late on our first night and were in a bit of a rush to eat somewhere so went into O Poeta as it was one of the few restaurants open on the strip at the time of year. It has a cottage sort of feel inside and is warm and friendly. Staff were attentive and cooked meals exactly as we had requested. It is mainly a meat & fish restaurant but does also have some vegetarian choices which can be hard to find in Spain and Portugal. The kitchen is open to view which I always feel has to be a good thing as we could see chefs working and also that everything was spotlessly clean. We enjoyed our food so much that despite only being on a short 3 night break we ate here twice and the meals were consistently good quality. We would more than likely eat here again if we return to the Algarve.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dusty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Poeta also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to O Poeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing