We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, off the beaten track. Authentic. Lovely.”
Review of O Alentejano

O Alentejano
Ranked #316 of 827 Restaurants in Albufeira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Small, off the beaten track. Authentic. Lovely.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This restauatnt is one street back from the main "strip" in the Old Town. It deserves it's trip advisor status/reviews. There are 10-12 tables and by 7.30/8 people were waiting in a line. It's down a small ally.

The restaurant is typical old Portuguese, 3 waiters and 2 chefs. Nice staff, very helpful.

Fresh fish etc. very nice. We had the Portuguese steak, Portuguese Pork and 2 kids spag bols, all home made. Sangria was very good too. Reasonably priced too, €40 total. They have not upped the prices just because they get busy every night. If you want a romantics evening or posh food, try somewhere else. The Strip area has plenty of places to rip you off!! This is for those looking for an authentic evening, sitting with locals and tourists alike.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintmarkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    163
    66
    38
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“lost in translation”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

we visited this restaurant in the hope of trying authentic Portuguese food. We were lucky to get a table as the restaurant was very busy. Too busy for the 3 members of waiting staff. We ordered drinks and managed to finish a bottle of wine before the food was served. My daughter ordered Cuttlefish for her main dish, but what arrived, was a fillet of another totally different fish. When I queried it with the elderly waiter, he informed me that it was what we had ordered, 'Cutlass' fish. I pointed to the menu where under the mains fish section, there was Cuttlefish. The waiter pointed to the specials board, which we hadn't even been shown, and pointed out 'Cutlass fish'. To be fair, he did offer to change the order, but it would take at least 20 minutes to cook. As we had already waited for an hour for our meal, I declined the offer. I swapped my meal ( lamb chops) with my daughters 'Cutlass fish' which unfortunately was over cooked and dry. This restaurant had set out too many tables in the street for there staff to cope with. It's also a bad sign when you see microwaves being used in the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DANNY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Typical Portuguese Restaurant - just got back home today, I visited this place three times in a week really good grub at a most competitive price. The Piri Piri Chicken was brilliant. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisyjack94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure Portugal, fabulous food and staff”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were introduced to this restaurant by a Portuguese friend last year and now eat there regularly when in Albufeira. The food is excellent, the staff lovely and all together a fantastic place to eat. Price is very good and frequented by many locals, would recommend to anyone wanting true Portuguese cuisine

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Line10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So good we came back next day”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found this place thought TA. It's located on a pedestrian road, close to lots of small shops and the main square in Albufeira. We got a table outside and it was really pleasant and airy.
Rodrigo our waiter was super friendly and suggested the Bacalhau a lagareiro (€ 11). His description of the dish was so convincing that all 4 of us ordered it. I'm not a big fan of fish but this one was absolutely delicious. It's a generous piece of grilled cod with olive oil, garlic and roasted potatoes. We also had a bottle of Casal Garcia Vinho verde (€10) that went really well with the fish. After our meal the chef and the owner came outside and offered us a very good Port wine. The overall experience was so good that we decided to come back again the day after.
Next day I decided to try something new and Rodrigo told me the best selling and his personal favorite was the Bife a portuguesa (€12). Super tender beef cooked on the chef's secret sauce with potatoes and an egg on top. The others ordered the same Bacalhau from the day before. Once again we were very satisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustavo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Alentejano also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to O Alentejano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing