We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great entertainment, worth a visit!”

Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 10/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #27 of 994 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open March - October. Seasonal closure: November - February. Visit our Facebook page: facebook.com/JohnnyHooper'sSaxophoneBistro. Jazz and Blues themed restaurant. Johnny Hooper's live saxophone shows with fun music quiz, party atmosphere and dancing are on Tuesday and Friday nights from March - October. During the summer, chill-out Sunday afternoons take place on the garden terrace with cool local musicians providing the laid-back vibe. Gluten-free menu options. Great place for celebrations!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We made a Tuesday evening booking which had a saxophone show and pop quiz. The place was jam packed and entertained from start to finish. Had the chicken for main course which was average at best. Not a cheap night by any means but the entertainment alone is worth that little bit extra.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank BickMox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on a friday night after recommendations and heard johnny performs a live set on the sax fri and tues. It was absolutely brilliant from start to finish the atmosphere was great by the end everybody was singing and dancing and you could not get a better vibe. The food was also fab my family had the beef with a beautiful mushroom sauce and i had the prawn/scollops linguine in a thai sauce which was delicious. The cheesecake is also not to be missed! Johnny is so friendly and introduces himself to every group individually when you are walking in and gets everybody involved in the entertainment. Will definitely be back next year!! Thank yoi

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Daniellexx91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a Fantastic time at Johnny Hooper's Bistro Bar,the food was Excellent the entertainment was outstanding with dancing singing. Overall the evening was BRILLIANT

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MickArnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With an excellent cuisine, thanks to Sue, fantastic live music and great entertainment, thanks to Johnny, (including the much dreaded but famous music quiz (!), it was another one of those great evenings that should never come to an end. During the last 18 years or so, we have made sure to at least attend one of those evenings during our trips to the Algarve. We can recommend this experience to anyone wishing to chill and have a fun-filled evening, where you can just let your hair down and totally relax! Best therapy in the world.... Don't forget to book!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz-Elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is great for music lovers, it's dinner with real live music, something like the most relaxed and casual dinner dance you can imagine only "On Steroids"!! live relaxed sax (All the great Hits) then a mini pub quiz (It really does work!!) then comes the penultimate phase of exceptional hits on the Sax, all polished off with great DJ experience. If I haven't sold this place properly, then the truth is that you Simply must try this place on a Tuesday and or Friday Night. It's not a "Bruce Springsteen" or "Westlife" or "Neil Diamond" etc., experience, BUT.... You will remember it as fondly, GUARANTEED. Johnny does his thing every bit as well as any of them! (Even on top of your table!!) One of our most satisfying entire Night experiences. Truly... you owe it to yourself! We never met, heard of, or knew Johnny Hooper prior to our visit to Albufeira. Exceptional !!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank elainehynes14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing