We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere and lovely food :)”

Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro
Ranked #13 of 827 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Visit our Facebook page: Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro. Jazz and Blues themed restaurant. Johnny Hooper's live saxophone shows with fun music quiz, party atmosphere and dancing are on Tuesday and Friday nights. Chill-out Sunday afternoons take place on the garden terrace with cool local musicians providing the laid-back vibe. Gluten-free menu options. Great place for celebrations! Open March - October. Seasonal closure: November - February
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and lovely food :)”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I both visited yesterday after reading the reviews on here. I can honestly say it was fantastic!

Johnny and the staff were all very welcoming and friendly, the place had a lovely atmosphere and the food was excellent the best we have eaten during our stay. (€80 for all our food and drinks, not the cheapest meal we have had but you get what you pay for. We ate and drank quite an amount and stayed all night for the entertainment so we felt it was reasonable for the quality. We had the pork and chicken dishes both were well cooked, full of flavour and the portion size was generous.)

The entertainment was great. Johnny on the sax was brilliant, he obviously loves what he does and that came across in his performance. There was a music quiz too which was fun although we were rubbish at it.

If we ever come back to the Algarve we will visit again! Well worth it if you are in the area!

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    172
    46
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“total rip off”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I booked this restaurant month before after reading reviews on tripadvisor its a total rip off food was awful drinks disscusting and very overpriced we left after mr hoopers first performance we paid 108 euros for food witch my husband found inedible we did complain but were told thats how they serve the meal would never ever go there again

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gill009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susieb64, Owner at Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We try extremely hard to give all of our customers a great experience with us and I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy yours. Your bill was €27 per head for 4 people: 2 starters, 4 main courses, a Litre jug of Sangria, 2 large beers, 2 bottles of beer, and 3 glasses of wine - which is not unreasonable for a meal and several drinks over the 2 hours that you were in whilst being entertained in a live music venue. The only single comment that we received from your table was that a part of the remaining pork belly had some fat on it. We did explain that, by the very nature of pork ‘belly’, it does have some degree of fat in it which tenderises the meat over the long cooking period and gives it an incredible flavour. Indeed, our Slow-Braised Pork Belly with Madeira Jus is one of our most well-reviewed dishes. Far from being inedible, most of the meal had been finished – which was a substantial portion! If we had been given the opportunity to do so, we would gladly have offered an alternative. There were no other complaints from anybody else – indeed, when Johnny asked one of the ladies on the table if everything was ok – she said yes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was a great find coming across this bistro. Johnny was excellent, friendly and made everyone so welcome. Meal was good, atmosphere was brilliant and Johnny on sax was great. We went 2 days, one in the evening which was great and then again on our last day for lunch out in the sun with a guitarist who was great. Defo a brilliant time had by all and a must if visiting this area xx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicolahh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!! REALLY RECOMMEND”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I came here on my last night and was amazed at how good it was. We didnt book a table and johnny kindly made room for us(advise to book). He sat and talked with us at the bar for ages making us feel very comfortable. The menu was lovely and not to over priced either. The food was delicious very tasty and flavor full. We paid 70euro for 2 large wine and 2 large beer a bottle of wine 2 starter and 2 mains ( so cheap!!) Great little find would love ti come back! plus johnny playing music was lovely even got a little shout out which made my night! Staff were very friendly too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashlyndh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magic!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Early OCtober 2013. Sunday afternoon, Tuesday & Friday evening at the Bistro. Friday morning in the Square, sitting at the Sweet Garden Cafe, listening to Johnny play. Wonderful entertainment on every occasion and so much fun and audience participation.
Johnny Hooper is a great saxophonist! So welcoming and friendly. The staff are lovely and hats off to Sue, Johnyy's wife, who seems to be everywhere doing everything, including recording Johnny playing for U-Tube.

I have most of the CDs now and they bring back very happy memories of a warm and fun time at the Bistro. Moya.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing