We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food from Many Regions”

The Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #124 of 872 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open all day, everyday, serving breakfasts, snacks, drinks, lunches, teas and dinners. Large sunny terraces. WiFi, book library, Sky news. Established in 1998
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Went into The Cottage at its new location in January 2013 and found the food as good as ever. The Sunday roast was truly a "belly buster" and great value for money. Great for families on a tight budget but the Cottage does not scrimp on the size of the portions. We'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank allen_pallen245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottage, Owner at The Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thanks for the review - your title sums up how we want people to perceive us. We are often labelled as British food, which I feel makes people think of a cheap and tacky Costa Brava cafe!! I always describe our fare and service as something you should be able to get at your local pub back home - one that gives a bit of thought to variety and price and is welcoming to kids. We have noticed that tourists are more adventurous than they were 15 years ago, as far as trying different dishes and as such we hope we have the right balance of traditional British favourites with plenty of other regional dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 576 of 691 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

we only discovered this place on our last day. Myself husband and 2 teenage daughters, 3 of us had the 2 couse winter warmer menu for 8.50 euros. 2 had starters of cheese garlic bread and cheesy nachos, 3 fish and chips which were delicious and I had apple curmble crumble and ice cream for dessert. One of my daughters is a fussy eater and she had a light meal of 3 british sausages and chips which was a big plate full for 6.50. Lovely lady served us and good atmosphere, would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 186525Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable surroundings and familiar food on menu. Huge choice of dishes available and we enjoyed our meals of chicken curry and gammon steak. Good value and friendly staff, recommend you visit if you get the chance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ShellyC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottage, Owner at The Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Glad you enjoyed us in the new location and sorry not to be open on the 25th December!! Hope to catch up next time you are over as was absent a lot over Christmas, doing our own things at home!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just back from a week in Albufeira and so our first time in the 'new' Cottage. We had 1 x breakfast , 2x lunch and 1x dinner. They were all excellent. The location also suits us better as the old place was further up the Strip and so wasn't as handy as it is now. Had to go elsewhere for Christmas lunch which was a pity. We like a mix of food so The Cottage ticks all the boxes for the British grub. The resort was quiet but anytime we were in this bar it was busy - speaks for itself I'd say.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tommymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottage, Owner at The Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thanks for the review - it's been a manic year since we opened in June and we seem to have achieved all that we hoped for. We've got a few minor changes to make over the Winter, mainly to make it easier for us to cope with the number of clients and hope to see everyone in 2013!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you are looking for a place to eat that has food you recognise and at a really reasonable price - this is the restaurant for you.
Food was good - we had breakfast and dinner here. English classics, think full English breki, fish and chips etc, but very nice.
Good price for it all, in fact, very cheap. Good sized portions, quick service, well cooked-food.
Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank princess87Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing