We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
12
12
10
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12
12
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family resort piri piri great resort star resort just returned from a week long corda cafe travel cot house keeping washing machine self catering townhouse luxury accommodation spg facilities algarve sheraton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 42 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

Some parts of the hotel need renovation. The villas we stayed at were really old and there were too many insects and pests in the house.
The sunset deck is amazing and so is the beach with all the water sports within the resort itself.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Devak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We have visited the Algarve several times at a variety of locations and unfortunately this hotel is the worst we have experienced. So bad, that I am reviewing whilst still there.

We are staying in a two bed apartment. The apartment is shabby, grubby looking and extremely dated. The kitchen is so grubby and falling to pieces that we will not be using it at all. The fridge door is falling off and there are bits of cupboards missing.

The bathrooms are very dated, with cracked and broken tiles and grubby light fittings.

The living room looks as through it was last decorated in the 1980s and the chairs, sofa and armchairs are all badly stained and discoloured to the extent that we don't even want to sit on them.

The balcony is decorated with dead pot plants and is half taken up by old fashioned air conditioning units which are so noisy we can't even sit out there.

There are several swimming pools, but unfortunately these are also showing signs of wear and tear and there are insufficient sun loungers for all of the guests. The food in the resort is mediocre at best and shockingly overpriced.

There is no way that this is a five star resort. We are extremely disappointed and will not dram of returning.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank NaCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from our first family holiday to the Pine Cliffs resort where we stayed in one of the townhouses. The resort itself is absolutely brilliant - plenty of things to do, areas to sunbathe, pools and beach are top notch.
I did not think the townhouses were 5 star at all. Initially we complained about the first townhouse we were given as there was a terrible smell, and the place just seemed like it needed a good clean. We were moved to another house which was the same but minus the smell. In general I think the accommodation needs upgraded to come in line with the 5 star resort, they are very dated. When I mentioned this to the hotel, the lady told me that the townhouses were not part of the 'luxury collection'- I'm not sure how this works as it was advertised as a 5* holiday.
Having said that, it was fine for a family holiday, and very well equipped. We had a 9 month old baby with us and the townhouse is on 4 different levels - I'd recommend requesting stair gates for young children.
We hope to return to the resort but wouldn't choose to stay in the townhouses again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank Catriona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at Pine Cliffs - we stayed in a Townhouse having stayed in the Residence before. Both the Residence and Townhouse were great for a family of 4. The Townhouse has a kitchen, dining room and lounge on the ground floor - all a good size. On the first floor is the children's bedroom and ensuite and the top floor was the master bedroom and ensuite - both again a good size with good storage. Each room had independent air conditioning. There was an outside table for eating which we did not use as it was next to a road. The Townhouses are in between the hotel and the main entrance and set in a nice area with a stream running through the middle inhabited by scores of frogs which we enjoyed watching (and listening to at night).

We enjoyed the food at Pine Cliffs, we ate in most of the restaurants, Piri Piri is still our favourite, although we like O Grill too. The hotel restaurants, Corda Cafe offers good snack food and the Jardim Colonial is a good buffet breakfast and dinner. The Golf clubhouse also has nice snack food. Service was always friendly and prompt. There are good supermarkets within 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel and we ate a light lunch in our Townhouse most days.

We hired bikes for the week and enjoyed riding around the hotel grounds which are picturesque, the indoor pool and 5 outdoor pools are good too, although cool - great on a hot afternoon or for swimming but bracing if just playing before lunch. The beach is good fun too, it is a 10 minute walk from the hotel (or 20 minutes from the Residence) but has a great restaurant. The beach is steep so the waves break with a crash so not suitable for toddlers but the sand is nice and there are shells to collect. We played tennis and paddle tennis - both were great fun.

We did venture out, previously we have visited Zoomarine and this time we visited Aquashow which was great for our 7 and 9 year olds. We again visited Parc Aventura for a 'Go Ape' experience and loved it. We visited a couple of local beaches - Olhos de Agua is next door and has some interesting rock pools at low tide and slightly gentler waves. Dos Salgado had lovely sand and a great nature boardwalk with interesting bird life and turtles. We also wandered round Villamoura harbour and beach but were largely unimpressed.

One word of warning - if you are staying in a Townhouse in 2017 then check about the major construction work happening just south of the Piri Piri restaurant. Half of our days were marred by noisy construction work starting at 8am and finishing at 10pm. Four very large cranes and lots of diggers were so noisy that our children struggled to get off to sleep. We complained not least because nobody alerted us to the construction either at booking or check-in.

Pine Cliffs is a lovely holiday experience and I would recommend staying either in the Residence/Townhouse if you are family or in the hotel if you are a couple.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 967JohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pine Cliffs Village & Golf Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Dear John L,

Thank you so much for your continuous preference in the Pine Cliffs Luxury Collections Resort.

We are so pleased to receive such a wonderful review and for knowing that our resort facilities, the restaurants, the accommodation, the beach, the gardens and all the landscape made your stay so special. Creating memories is one of our goals, and we are glad that we were able to achieve it!

Regarding the construction work happening during your stay, please accept our sincere apologies. We took note of your comments and will share them with our Management.

Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to welcome you and your family again at our resort.

Kindest Regards,

The Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

We visited Pine Cliffs resort in October 2016 with my 3 year old son and 6 month old daughter.
This was our third holiday as a family of four and we have travelled many times with my 3 year old so I suppose you could say we are seasoned travellers, and mostly visit 5* resorts all over the world.

After reading the reviews of Pine Cliffs, we were full of high expectations. Kids club, full board, 2 bedroomed apartment. Perfect!

However, we were horrendously disappointed with Pine Cliffs and requested to go home on the second day of our holiday.
Our main problems were:

1. Could not negotiate the resort easily with a pushchair - this resort is not suitable for anyone with a buggy due to uneven pavements and stairs everywhere in the resort with very few ramps.

2. Nothing at all was provided in the apartment. For an apartment with a kitchen at an exclusive 5* resort, I would have expected at least a cleaning cloth, some fairy liquid and a couple of bottles of water. The supermarket was off site, and quite a walk for my husband, laden with bottles of water etc as we didn't have a car. We needed quite a lot of things travelling with a baby and young child.

3. The charge for the wifi was completely ridiculous! I would expect wifi to be free at an exclusive resort, or perhaps a nominal charge, but it was going to cost us over €200 for 10 days to get wifi on our phones and I pad.

4. The resort is huge, and the only way to get from one side to another is a very slow train that runs ever so often. In previous large resorts golf carts are provided for this.

5. Perhaps the worst bit of our short time with Pine Cliffs was that there was a huge conference on when we were there, taking over a lot of the restaurants. On the first night, we were directed from the reception to a buffet at the other side of the resort as the reception buffet was taken over by the conference. So we had to drag our two hungry children on a half an hour walk to get some buffet food.
We were unable to get lunch the next day as the conference was taking over the cafe that served lunch, so we were actually unable to use our full board whilst we were there.
We choose full board/all inclusive for the convenience of being able to feed our children when they are hungry, and weren't able to (and the nearest shop was quite a distance as I already said.)

6. The resort is totally unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems. Yes, the hotel does have a lift to the beach, but there was no mention of the 70 steps on the boardwalk after the lift making it totally inaccessible to anyone in a wheelchair or with a buggy.
On a more positive note, I carried my baby girl down to the beach one evening and we saw a really beautiful sunset on the beach. Unfortunately this was spoiled by the fact my 3 year old struggled to get back up the stairs to the lift back to the hotel as his legs were tired.
7. Childcare is available in resort, but the costs involved are extortionate. Over €100 per day for use of the crèche/kids club, on top of the cost of the expensive holiday is crazy.

I don't have many positive points about our stay at Pine Cliffs.
I felt really disappointed, misled that this was a family resort and ripped off over ridiculous charges.

Unfortunately Jet2 were not able to find us a flight home, but were able to move us to The Hilton in Vilamoura, a fairly average hotel and not somewhere we would have chosen but 100% better than The Pine Cliffs.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
7  Thank 818catherinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews