We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best thing for kids and adults!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dream Wave

Dream Wave
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.79*
and up
Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 12 Years of Guiding Excellence - Over 150,000 Happy Clients! Welcome to the Dream Wave world where you can find the best experiences for your dream holidays. Come and sail with us on a pirate boat, within an idyllic scenario, feel the adrenalin on a jet ski, have a different day with that special person, see the caves, find secret beaches and even watch wild dolphins at sea. Come and see a different Algarve, and the natural beauties, all these with the best professionals. Come and share with us the best of life!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Best thing for kids and adults!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We visited Algarve for the first time this past summer. Not only did we do more than one of the adventures (we couldn't agree on what to do) but all of us had an amazing time!! From the pirate ship and bbq on a private beach..which was by far the most amazing time to our jet boat (not for the faint hearted) but so fun...to the highlight of seeing the dolphins on Insonia. If you are on your way to Portugal...totally worth every moment!! Did I mention the staff is incredible!! Thank you Dream Wave for the amazing experience...I tell everyone about you...and we'll be back!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamWaveAlgarve, Owner at Dream Wave, responded to this review, August 16, 2016
Hello,

Thank-you for your review and your kind words.
Hope to see you again soon! :-)

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    315
    47
    16
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went to Portugal as part of a group (3 girls, 1 boy) and we decided to book the Dolphin & Cave tour and we were not disappointed. We paid 35 Euros for the experience and it was worth every penny.

I agree with other reviews that you should not go on the trip expecting to see dolphins as previously stated these are wild animals however the guide did his best to ensure we had an opportunity to see some and we were looking at some caves when he had radio contact to say they had spotted some dolphins about 3 miles off the coast, needless to say he made the right decision to leave the caves until after we had seen the dolphins.
We got to spend enough time with the dolphins and the guide made sure that everyone had spent enough time and had taken enough photos before heading back towards the caves. When visiting the caves the driver would take the boat as far in as it could possibly go and he pointed out all the interesting shapes and names of the caves.

The boat itself was really fun, I've seen some reviews where people have said they go to fast and it's scary, I disagree with all of this as it was completely safe, the driver did go fast at times but only because we were whooping and cheering as it was such fun, there are places to hold onto if you're finding it too fast however you're not going to fall out plus the trip itself is on a speedboat.

All in all, well worth the 35 euros, the trip itself lasts 2 hours and you get an incredible experience. You also get the opportunity to buy a gift set of two photos that they take of you in the boat for 10 euros at the end of the experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma-Shamone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamWaveAlgarve, Owner at Dream Wave, responded to this review, August 16, 2016
Hello,

Thank-you for your review and your kind words.
Hope to see you again soon! :-)

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We did the Insonia Dolphin & Cave tour which for us was brilliant.

Here is a bit of advice to make your trip more enjoyable and that is don't get your hopes up about seeing Dolphins. I say this for two reasons:

1)They are wild creatures and not always traceable and you will only be very disappointed if you got on the boat thinking you'll be seeing them only to not see them.

2) If you do get lucky and see the marvellous dolphins then it's more of an experience for you if you weren't expecting to see them

I did this and we were lucky that another boat from another company spotted some and radio'd our boat to let us know. From this we detoured from our cave and coastline tour which so far had been a brilliant experience and already worth the money to go and find the dolphins which we found and enjoyed watching for about 30 mins before leaving them and continuing our caves and coastline part of the tour. Our guide was very informative letting us know about all the beaches, areas and caves whilst answering all questions other people had.

I've read people have complained that the boat goes a bit too fast & I have to disagree with them, whilst the boat does hit some speed, especially towards the end of the trip I don't know what they expect when they are in a speedboat? If you are looking for a extremely smooth/slow cruise then you may want to look at another company to use.

Brilliant experience and would use them again and again. Even if we didn't see any dolphins it would have been well worth the money for the experience itself with the overall trip being just over 2 hours..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martinpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamWaveAlgarve, Owner at Dream Wave, responded to this review, August 16, 2016
Hello,

Thank-you for your review and your kind words.
Hope to see you again soon! :-)

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Would not hesitate to recommend the Insonia tour. Our guide was very friendly and funny, and we did get to see dozens of dolphins swimming and jumping around the boat which was a fantastic experience. They also took us along the beautiful coast and pointed out different beaches and towns along the way which was really interesting and a great way to see the stunning rocks and coves. €35 each for 2 hours seemed good value for the wonderful experience. The only thing I would say is at the beginning they expected my partner and I to sit at opposite sides of the boat to each other rather than seats next to each other due to single odd seats which would have been very disappointing, but at the last moment they were able to seat us together on another boat. Ladies don't forget sunglasses and a hair tie if you don't want the salty breeze to spoil your hair and eye make up!

Helpful?
Thank Amcc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamWaveAlgarve, Owner at Dream Wave, responded to this review, August 16, 2016
Hello,

Thank-you for your review and your kind words.
Hope to see you again soon! :-)

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raalte, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We started hard sailing on a rough sea. Very cool! When we almost thought we shouldn't see any dolphins, they came in great numbers show off their tricks. A great experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ganescha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamWaveAlgarve, Owner at Dream Wave, responded to this review, August 16, 2016
Hello,

Thank-you for your review and your kind words.
Hope to see you again soon! :-)

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dream Wave also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Dream Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing