We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place - just one or two problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Stayed here 16th to 30th August 2007. Most of the reviews of this hotel are spot on in terms of the rooms and facilities. We had one main issue. The pool has no lifeguard and there are signs posted about no diving, inflatables, ball games etc. These are simply not enforced and it is an accident waiting to happen. So if you have small children or family members who are not very confident in the water, make sure you keep a good eye on them. The staff were very helpful and friendly until we wanted to complain about a family who had hogged the pool table for most of the evening (by stuffing plastic cups down the pockets!) - then no-one wanted to know and it took a lot of effort to get the duty manager involved. We stayed HB. The food was brilliant and the dining room managed to perfection. We'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KJ__and_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2007

We have just returned from 10 nights at the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa so I thought I’d attempt my first review. I’ll treat it in sections covering both the good and bad points as I go along.

Reception – Very attractive lobby and we were given a warm welcome by the very friendly and efficient male (reason for mentioning this will be clear later) receptionist. Our cases were all placed on a trolley and taken to our room by the concierge.

Bedroom – I was aware from other reviews that a number of the rooms have been refurbished, so we were a little disappointed that we didn’t get allocated one. However the bedroom itself was clean and fresh although the bathroom had signs of mould round the edges of the ceiling and bath. This was hardly surprising as the extractor fan was very poor. Although disappointed not to have a refurbished room it didn’t spoil our holiday in any way. The only Bad thing about the room is the pillows which were strange lumpy things!

Poolside / Sun Terrace – A large well maintained area with a very adequate number of sun loungers. There is a poolside bar which serves nice snacks throughout the day. The only Bad thing about this area is the Parasols, which are either very old or of a bad design as the legs of the “brolly” regularly slip out of their holders leaving long exposed spikes. These are dangerous at any time but could become lethal weapons in strong winds.

Bar – The Dog and Duck has received some criticism on other reviews, but we found it quite a novelty bar. I agree the entertainment wasn’t great but just typical of most holiday hotels in my opinion. We only tended to pop in for a night cap after returning from the Old Town.

Restaurant – The restaurant appears to have old and new sections. As you walk towards the pool you can look into the new section which is very attractive, but be warned, it has no air conditioning. The old section is larger, very ordinary, but much more comfortable.

Breakfast – A good selection of fruit juice, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cold meats, cheese, breads, cakes, tea and coffee. There is also a cooked breakfast buffet, which wasn’t quite to my taste. I won’t class this as a bad point as it’s a matter of taste, however some mornings the bacon was more burnt than crispy, and the only sausages available were the small hot-dog style. If you like a Butcher’s sausage and a slice of black pudding, you won’t get it here.

Internet Access – There are two PCs in Reception where scratch cards can be bought to reveal a User ID and Password. The minimum charge is €5 but you have use the 60 minutes in one session. A better option is any of the three Internet Cafes across the road where you can get 30 minutes for €1.50.

Staff – Bar / Restaurant staff were all very friendly and efficient. Reception staff were generally good, but on the last day we were unfortunate enough to encounter a female receptionist who was the most unhelpful, and certainly rudest receptionist I have ever encountered. The unsung heroes as always were the Chamber Maids who provided clean towels daily and replaced all toiletries as required. The room was always immaculate.

Location – As has been said by many, the location couldn’t be better. The Road Train only has three stops, the Strip, The Old Town, and right outside this hotel. There is also a Taxi rank about 150 yards away.

The Big Question – There has been much debate on other review as to whether or not this hotel deserves its 4 start rating. In my opinion no not yet although it is a very good 3+. I haven’t seen a refurbished room but I suspect that once this is complete, and if they can replace the sun canopies, then I would agree to a 4 star rating.

In Summary – I have tried to give a warts and all review, but please don’t focus too much on the bad points as they are well outnumbered by the good. I would highly recommend the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, and am pretty sure we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank unl199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

The last time we stayed here was six years ago so decided to return to this hotel again. The last time we stayed in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the busy main road so when booking for this year requested a pool view room on the off chance we would get one of those. On arrival we were told the room wasnt ready so tried again a couple of hours later to be told again it still wasnt ready. Tried again a bit after that and they said they would put us in a pool view room but had to wait another half an hour or so which we did and true to her word we got the pool view at no extra cost!!! I think it helped that we were patient!! The room was spotless - fresh towels were brought everyday as well as the beds being made every day etc. Air con is definately a bonus in that heat as well!! Breakfast was spot on with much to choose from. The pool is a good size though a bit cold when you first get in but soon get used to it. Plenty of beds by the pool though people start putting towels out around 9am so have to get there early to get a good spot. The hotel staff even on a couple of days started to collect the towels and fold them up and put them in a pile which didnt impress a few people but was quite funny to watch!!!!!
The hotel was in a ideal position - only 15 minutes walk to the Old Town and the same to the New Town though never ventured that way as preferred the Old Town. There is a bus outside the hotel which you can get but is very busy and the carriages arent that big so gets crammed easily.
Plenty of restaurants to choose from in the Old Town - one to recommend is one called 'A Ruina' on the Fishermans beach which serve fresh fish caught that day - a bit pricey but well worth it. Plenty of street entertainers that go round performing every night in the main square which adds to the atmosphere. Plenty of bars to sit at outside and people watch.
All in all we had an excellent holiday and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheekychops79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

As you know, one side of this hotel faces a busy main road, well two roads actually, a two-way road and a really busy dual carriageway. So I paid the extra to make sure we got a sea/pool view, £126.00 for the week. Which we got, no problem. By the way, ground level at the front i.e. reception, is one up at the rear, just thought I'd mention that. However, everything happens at the back of the hotel, in fact our room (058) was right above the "Entertainment" spot, which meant music up to midnight and people sitting drinking (how dare they) after that. My point is, is it worth spending £126.00 to move from one noisy side to the other, it's a thought!. We quite enjoyed the dog & duck pub, it was if nothing else, peacefull, especially after a night down at the square. One night however, we ordered toasties, and after 45 mins they still had'nt arrived, we did'nt order again. Just for more info, the train, which is excellent for getting around, only stops at three places, outside the hotel (very handy), the strip, and at the square. You can't get on or off in between places. No big deal, but it's handy to know. We tried a number of restaurants during our weeks stay, most were very good. On recommendation we tried Bravo, food was good, but everything was done at a rush, including clearing the table before we were finished, a very busy place. A word of warning about Big Shanghai Chinese restaurant (400M right of the hotel) the night we were in, a number of people we spoke to, including ourselves, found the meal very salty. I love chinese curry but I could'nt finish it that night. Overall, Albufeira, the Hotel, the people, the beaches, were all great and I'm sure you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

we stayed here from 20th August to 3rd of Sept. The hotel was ok but it is definately not worthy of it's 4 star status. when we arrived we had to wait for ages to check in as the reception only had two staff and it was extremley busy. the reception area is very nice and you can tell it has recently been refurbished however it is a different story when you get into the rooms. Although they were clean the rooms had seen better days we still had an with an old fashioned kitchen sink and hob hidden behind a cupboard next to the wardrobe !
we had an inland view facing a busy road that was really loud at night . we have to ask to have our rooms moved as the patio doors were howling at night with the wind ! They were very good about it and moved us the next day.
the pool is nice however it has nothing for the kids just some mad women who does aqua-aerobis once a week. the "english style pub" has as much atmoshere as a mortuary !
the location is good as it is inbetween the old and new town and a little bus-train stops right ouside of the hotel and it is very cheap as it takes you to the strip as well as the old town.
The entertainment in the hotel is rubbish so i would venture out at night. The new town ( strip) is a bit tacky and but it would appeal to the younger generation say 18 year olds. the old town was quite nice and a bit more up-market than the strip.
we went to zoo marine which is ok for the kids . my boy swam with the dolphins it was expensive £135 euros but well worth it. A tip is to book it before you go as we could not book it on the day and had to go back a week later.
Slide and splash water park is good for the kids and the hotel can arrange the a bus to take you there and back with entry tickets included.
We saw another Hotel up the roadcalled the Paradiso which looked superb we wandered in there for a nosey and wished we had booked that one.
Overall it was an OK holiday but I would not book this hotel or stay in this resort again.




This TripAdvisor Member:
What did you like best about the accommodation? The reception area
What did you like least about the accommodation? The bedrooms
Any tips/secrets for future travellers? Wear flat shoes as everwhere has slippy cobble stones

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tracey_HCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

...Where do i start!! This hotel was amazing!!
freindly staff, clean, pleasent, i couldnt say a bad word about it!!
The hotel is aprox 15 minute walk to the old town or you can catch the tourist train to the new town, we did this once but gave up after that as they try to cram in as many people and i found it hot and clammy and i didnt like it!!

The new town is nice but i much prefered the old town!, all the restaurants are gorgeous bit repetative, we loved the mexican on fishermans beach strip, bar 54 (i think) which you could sit on a terrace and overlook the beach, the food was fantastic too!

The hotel, had a mixture of people, lots of couples, families, teenagers, younger children a brilliant mix of people!!

Breakfast was amazing! anything you could wish for, bread, yogurts, full english, pastries, fruit, bread and cheese, cereal, everything, and even champaigne!

I Would highley reccomend this for anyone and i would definatley go back!

Stayed: August 2007
5  Thank ami489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Me and my girlfriend have just return from the cerro alagoa and had a fantastic time staying in this hotel, the hotel is very modern with a great pool and pool bar with very friendly staff that couldnt do enough for you, the rooms are very nice and were cleaned everyday, the breakfast was a buffet and there was no limits to how much you can have, which we liked!! the hotel is situated within about a 5 mins walk to the old town ( the square ) which is packed with countless nice restraunts and bars sutible for couples and familys, Bravo and Bank bar are musts for there lovely steaks, overall i would really recommend staying at this hotel and we would definitely go back

Stayed: July 2007
6  Thank cerro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,825 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#11 of 154 in Albufeira
1,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $81 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing