We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Opinion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I would just like to say I hav just returned from a holiday in Portugal & stayed at this hotel. It was spotlessly clean. Maid service excellent. Desk staff very friendly & patient as well as helpful. It is ideally situated tp the old town which in my opinion is better than the new town which is full of bustling bars & restaurants. The old town has a more laid bk atmosphere & quaint little streets u can amble along at ur own pace. There is activity here but on a more pleasurable degree. I would not think twice about going bk to stay here again.

Room Tip: There are self catering rooms on the top floor. You could ask if any are available. They are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and opinion on our hotel. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet your expectations. We will pass on your review to our maid and desk staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future

Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    552
    199
    54
    21
See reviews for
370
690
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Vile Gale Cerro alogoa is a fabulous hotel In albefuria. In is a ten minute walk from the mighty old town. There is a lovely pool at the back. It has a jungle pool inside and many other facilities (spa, jacuzzi, gym) HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for recommending the Vila Galé Cerro Alagoa. We are very pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again on a next visit to Albufeira

Thank you !

Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

On the advice of the tripadvisor community we booked the Vila Gale and we were not disappointed. We arrived early afternoon and were checked in efficiently. The staff on reception were very polite and friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean. It was at the front of the hotel facing the road but we did not hear any noise from the traffic. We did however hear the bin waggon at 7.45am each day!
We were given a letter upon checking in asking not to reserve beds around the pool, the next morning it was apparent that no-one took any notice and were placing towels on the beds early each day. Having said that, we managed to get a bed up to around 10am. We stayed on a B & B basis, the breakfast was very nice with lots of selection, including a good range of fruit and breads etc. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the escalators to the Old Town.
If we go to Portugal again we will definitely stay at the Vila Gale.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsCharlie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review as we are very pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa, and that we have been able to meet your expectations.
Thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels and we hope to welcome you again in a near future

kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was our first time in Portugal and this hotel ticked all the right boxes the management were very helpful in everyway even before we arrived with our room request. The rooms are really nice and clean and are quite spacious with ample storage for clothes. Beds were very comfortable as well. It was our Anniversary while we were here and we were treated very nicely by the hotel staff. We were Bed and Breakfast basis - which started our day off Great! The breakfast had many choices available and plenty of everything - even had HP Sauce!. Hotel is in a good location between both the Old Town and the New Town- There is a small train which runs very frequently to both parts and a cheap price - 2.50 Euro which is a couple of hundred yards from entrance of Hotel - to the right hand side. There are numerous cafes, restaurants, bars close to this hotel. For those who enjoy McDonalds and KFC - they are both opposite this Hotel but across a dual carriageway so as not to be in your face- if you know what I mean. Swimming pool area is lovely with comfortable loungers and you can request to have pool towel from reception - who will give you a ticket to obtain same from the Spa. So Yes we would highly recommend this hotel - we went as a couple but there were families there who all seemed to be enjoying themselves. Enjoy!!!!!.......

Room Tip: ladies wear flat shoes as quite hilly to beach and old town. pay extra for rooms with pool view bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank liverpoolcouple44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review ! We are most pleased to find we have been able to meet your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay and recommend our hotel.
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels.
Hoping we may welcome you again in a future stay
Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 for 1 week with my husband and 4 children. Booked 2 rooms with pool view on a B&B basis. This was for my husband's 50th birthday so I emailed hotel prior to going and received reply from Monica saying that we were being upgraded to a Senior Suite! It was fab - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and large living area with massive balcony (room for 2 sunbeds and table & chairs)!! Rooms very clean and maid service great. Same problem as previously mentioned with people reserving sunbeds!
Great location, 10 mins to Old Town with fab restaurants - Bank, Urban Pizza and definitely have to mention 3 Crowns - food here was amazing! Little train stopped outside hotel every 20 mins and we went on it to New Town one night and had dinner in Wild & co - great food and atmosphere. Also had a great day at Aqualand Water Park.
We had a great holiday and would definitely stay again in this hotel - great location, food and pool was great too!

Room Tip: Pay bit extra to have room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reviewer_42344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the great review ! So pleased to find that we have been able to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed your holiday and the room upgrade.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future and thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels

Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel. Nice pleasent staff but missing something. Pool area small and Sun loungers are not comfortable. Breakfast is really good. Lots of choice but it did take 30 mins for them to poach my eggs which were then rock hard. A lovely stay for me and my husband but wouldn't want to stay as a family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review and your feedback, which is important for us to continually improve our services.
We hope you may visit us again in the near future

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Me and an old school friend spent a week in the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, and I loved every minute of it! The staff were helpful, friendly and super efficient. We were all-inclusive and the dinner buffet was always varied. The range of guests staying in the hotel was interesting... a nice mix of families, couples and friends with no particular nationality dominating. The location was perfect- a 10 minute walk to the Old Town, Beach and The Strip. The only slight negative would be with the view from our room. On the opposite side of the hotel there was a gorgeous sea view, our room however looked out over a main road so not particularly pretty. Our balcony was a nice suntrap in the evening though which was lovely to sit out in before dinner. The noise from traffic and loud pedestrians at night may upset some people but wasn't an issue for me. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view for a nicer view and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review as it was most pleasing to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa and found that our all inclusive choice and variety have met your expectaions
We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future

Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#65 of 161 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#2 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Property: Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing